We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 48 Oakland hotels

Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 East 12th Street, Oakland, CA 94606 (Formerly Economy Inn)
Hotel amenities
Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt to your Saves list
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    8
    8
    17
See reviews for
16
4
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The front desk started off by helping us as much as they can. They printed us maps, directions, and called us a cab or two. I took this trip to visit my family and I forgot my phone charger at home. I asked Ian at the front if he had any extra. He then proceeded to pull a plethora of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIOaklandCA L, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review

I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your stay at our hotel. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks or months and to have everyone feel comfortable at their "home away from home". We believe that building... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The front desk crew rocked! Loved the room after the crazy work hours, bed felt so good and chilling with the TV was perfect. Yvette helped me so much with maps and good ideas of stuff to do! She made me smile every day. Headin home to Florida but this was a great home base while I was here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIOaklandCA L, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review

I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your stay at our hotel. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks or months and to have everyone feel comfortable at their "home away from home". We believe that building... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The Good: * Carpet, bed linens, shower curtain and towels appeared new * Good amenities, including air conditioning, flat panel TV, microwave and refrigerator * Friendly desk clerk * Low price The Bad: * Noisy intersection - - heavy vehicles and motorcycles accelerating away from stoplight well past midnight * Plumbing problems - - shower water alternated between scalding hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIOaklandCA L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review

I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write about your stay at our hotel. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks and to have everyone feel comfortable at their "home away from home". We are working on upgrading are shower right now.... More

Orange county
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

This place wasn't that bad if your just looking for a place to sleep, they do offer a little breakfast in the morning and the guest weren't all that bad, I see it like this if you can pass by someone and they say hi to you, then it's not that bad, but if your looking for the royal treatment,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIOaklandCA L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review

I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write about your stay at our hotel. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks and to have everyone feel comfortable at their "home away from home". We are working on upgrading are shower right now.... More

Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

I stay at this motel often primarily because of the price vs. value issue. The next to last visit was terrible, with many things not working or properly maintained in the room I received. The last visit was a big improvement, with a refurbished bathroom, everything working properly, and improved housekeeping. Only one small complaint: they were out of orange... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIOaklandCA L, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review

I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write some good things about your stay at our hotel. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks or months and to have everyone feel comfortable at their "home away from home". We believe that building... More

Marina, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I stayed at this motel with a friend on a last minute weekend trip to Oakland. The only 2 good things about this motel is that parking was free/secure and the motel's location right next to Lake Merritt and in close proximity to downtown Oakland. The room in itself was not too bad - except the bathroom, it was in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIOaklandCA L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review

I received a copy of your complaint and wanted to take the time to personally respond. I was disheartened to hear about the negative experience that you had at this hotel. We normally put two sets of towels in every room. We did have a large convention group in town and they asked for extra set of towel all week.... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014 via mobile

Granted, this is not the Hilton but for the price you can't beat it. The location is convenient although if you stray too far you will wind up in a bad area. There are a number of good restaurants close by and Lake Merritt is just 2 blocks away.BART station is only 3 blocks. I will definitely stay there again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIOaklandCA L, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review

I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your stay at our hotel. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks and to have everyone feel comfortable at their "home away from home". We believe that building a professional,... More

Santa Clarita, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Stayed end of July... Worst experience ever. Gave away my aunts room after I told them she was on her way! night two- gave away my room. Took my stuff out of my room! They had checked me into the wrong name on my room so thought it was a one night stay. Bottom line- the staff need more training... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ABVIOaklandCA L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review

I received a copy of your complaint and wanted to take the time to personally respond. I would like to apologize for problems you had at the hotel. And I am sorry you felt like we gave your aunts room away. But we can’t hold rooms without a credit card to guarantee the room on a close to sold out... More

Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

I know they were under very recent construction and I didn't mind but they really need more outlets in the room. I stayed here very often, like every other weekend and had no problems with the staff or service. Then they changed the rules and no longer except cash or prepaid credit cards as payment. I didn't find this out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ABVIOaklandCA L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review

I received a copy of your complaint and wanted to take the time to personally respond. I am sorry you did not know that we no longer accept cash or pre-paid credit cards. And more important, I am sorry we are going to lose you has a great customer of ours. Unfortunately this decision is not up to me. I... More

Los Angeles
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This is the dirtiest most disgusting place we ever stayed in our entire life. Air condition did not work. Key did not work. Would not allow me to get a new key after I locked myself out of the room. No towel or toiletries for four hours after we checked in. Waste basket had vomit in it. All kinds of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ABVIOaklandCA L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review

I received a copy of your complaint and wanted to take the time to personally respond. I was disheartened to hear about the negative experience that you had at this hotel. The situation that you described while you were at the hotel is unacceptable. We are also in the process of replacing all of our bathroom shower tile. We have... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt

Address: 122 East 12th Street, Oakland, CA 94606 (Formerly Economy Inn)
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Inn Oakland Hotel Oakland
Economy Hotel Oakland

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay