We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 Oakland hotels

Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 East 12th Street, Oakland, CA 94606 (Formerly Economy Inn)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
25%
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in Oakland
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    7
    6
    16
See reviews for
16
4
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (39)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Granted, this is not the Hilton but for the price you can't beat it. The location is convenient although if you stray too far you will wind up in a bad area. There are a number of good restaurants close by and Lake Merritt is just 2 blocks away.BART station is only 3 blocks. I will definitely stay there again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIOaklandCA L, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review

I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your stay at our hotel. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks and to have everyone feel comfortable at their "home away from home". We believe that building a professional,... More

Valencia, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed end of July... Worst experience ever. Gave away my aunts room after I told them she was on her way! night two- gave away my room. Took my stuff out of my room! They had checked me into the wrong name on my room so thought it was a one night stay. Bottom line- the staff need more training... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ABVIOaklandCA L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review

I received a copy of your complaint and wanted to take the time to personally respond. I would like to apologize for problems you had at the hotel. And I am sorry you felt like we gave your aunts room away. But we can’t hold rooms without a credit card to guarantee the room on a close to sold out... More

Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I know they were under very recent construction and I didn't mind but they really need more outlets in the room. I stayed here very often, like every other weekend and had no problems with the staff or service. Then they changed the rules and no longer except cash or prepaid credit cards as payment. I didn't find this out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ABVIOaklandCA L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review

I received a copy of your complaint and wanted to take the time to personally respond. I am sorry you did not know that we no longer accept cash or pre-paid credit cards. And more important, I am sorry we are going to lose you has a great customer of ours. Unfortunately this decision is not up to me. I... More

Los Angeles
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the dirtiest most disgusting place we ever stayed in our entire life. Air condition did not work. Key did not work. Would not allow me to get a new key after I locked myself out of the room. No towel or toiletries for four hours after we checked in. Waste basket had vomit in it. All kinds of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ABVIOaklandCA L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review

I received a copy of your complaint and wanted to take the time to personally respond. I was disheartened to hear about the negative experience that you had at this hotel. The situation that you described while you were at the hotel is unacceptable. We are also in the process of replacing all of our bathroom shower tile. We have... More

Muskego, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Four trips to Desk till I gave up on 2 working keys; then found tub&shower didń work. Desk: repair man just left.' Another room? Yes, but Won't let me check it out first. Next day by 4p no repair. Desk sent ME running around property to 'catch' repair man. He speaks no english; parts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ABVIOaklandCA L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review

I would like to find out more about your problem here at this hotel. A hotel are size do not have a maintenance person working during off hours. My staff did offer giving you another room. But in this case, you told my staff that you did not want another room. I am sorry that you had this problem and... More

Hainburg an der Donau, Austria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we really wanted to give this place a chance and did not expect any luxury but it was still a total disappointment.. never again. even at half the price... pros: the staff was very friendy and proffessional. the location is OK, close to BART, easily walkable, relatively safe. therefore the 2 stars. the room itself would deserve zero cons: everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ABVIOaklandCA L, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review

I was disheartened to hear about the negative experience that you had at this hotel. We strive to make every guests experience as comfortable as possible and it is clear that we failed at our mission. The situation that you described while you were at the hotel is unacceptable. Every room is nonsmoking room but if you got a room... More

Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

No human should be subjected to this sub-standard , unhealthy and unsafe environment. I am astonished that the city health department permits this type of filth and that the drug and prostitution exists so openly. The total lack of management may be explained as condoning the room sales as hourly rates. The room had no hair drier, no iron or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ABVIOaklandCA L, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review and wanted to take the time to personally respond. I was disheartened to hear about the negative experience that you had at this hotel. We strive to make every guests experience as comfortable as possible. Last night, the hotel was sold out and I did not get any guest complaints. Please feel free... More

San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Omg! Where should I start? Not only could the front office not understand that there were two families with the same last names for the life of them, but the room looked like it was ready to be filmed for the next upcoming horror movie! To add insult to injury the toilet was plugged and wouldn't flush! My son's room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ABVIOaklandCA L, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review

I received a copy of your complaint and wanted to take the time to personally respond. I did check the maintenance log and could not find any record of the toilet being reported clogged or being fixed. The room is vacant now and working properly. I am sorry if you had trouble with it while you stayed with us. I... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

My $725 reservation for one week costed me over $1000 do to their own technicalities. Drug infested addicts and dealers. I only received room service once. Bathroom so moldy had to keep door shut to keep from baby being exposed. Broken air conditioning. And had a family of strangers walk straight in my room with their own key and invaded... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ABVIOaklandCA L, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review

I received a copy of your complaint and wanted to take the time to personally respond. I was disheartened to hear about the negative experience that you had at this hotel. We strive to make every guests experience as comfortable as possible. I do remember talking to you yesterday before you left. The only reason why your rate change is... More

South Pasadena, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

SCARY !!! Beware, dangerous area. Drug addicts, police raids, etc. I would hope that Trip Advisor would not have it as a hotel they even recommend on their website! Hotel staff give your room away even after you've prepaid and confirmed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ABVIOaklandCA L, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt, responded to this review

I received a copy of your complaint and wanted to take the time to personally respond. This hotel does not have an issue with our guest using drugs. I do remember talking to you on the phone. I am really sorry that we did not have a room for you. And the 3rd party website you book your stay with... More

Do you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt

Address: 122 East 12th Street, Oakland, CA 94606 (Formerly Economy Inn)
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Inn Oakland Hotel Oakland
Economy Hotel Oakland

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Americas Best Value Inn - Oakland / Lake Merritt

Enlarge Map