We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

High Sierra RV Park & Campground

40389 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakhurst
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
High Sierra RV Park & Campground
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015 via mobile

Frankly, I read some of the negative reviews and got quite discouraged and almost cancelled. I'm glad I didn't. Okay, so the park isn't as "glamorous" as depicted on the website, but it's very quaint and the staff is very friendly. The drive to Yosemite Park is < 30 minutes or so, but that's to the park entrance...another 45 to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott A
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

I read a few reviews that called this place the worst ever -- and it is not the worst I have been to -- but it is also not as nice as it would seem from their website. The sites are packed very tightly together and along the river there is very little shade (and it gets hot here in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PritzlB
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

The park is in town on a couple of levels and behind/beneath a mobile home park. The price is around 50 bucks for full hook up along the creek. Although the creek is beautiful, behind it lurks an industrial parking lot. We didn't even try the showers or laundry after working hard to get level and hook up to some... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Acooper913
Wilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Located on the outskirts of the Yosemite NP, High Sierra RV Park is in Oakhurst. Staff were pleasant & welcoming, & quick to give advice on inclement weather too. There are showers & toilets available on-site - they are locked as the campsite is not gated, so a $20 key deposit is required. A small selection of items for purchase... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Frodo848
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

As did many others we chose this park as it sounded really Good and with plenty of amenities on the web site. we were squeezed in to a tiny site which couldn't even fit our RV properly,, went to use the bathroom only to get the door shut in my face. there is only 1 toilet and 1 shower for... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank AnneMaree99

Travelers are raving about these Oakhurst hotels

Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 via mobile

Thank goodness only one night here. Campsites are not nestled in the pines. Sites are very close together. Luckily we had some shade. Located behind the mobile home park. Seasonal creek is dry. Put us in a site which barely accommodated our 33 foot motorhome. We couldn't use fire ring if we wanted to. End of motorhome is 2 feet... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank nancypants911
peggycroce, Guest Relations Manager at High Sierra RV Park & Campground, responded to this review

Based on your review, we are sorry that High Sierra did not meet your expectations. This is not typical, the majority of our guests find the park to be warm and friendly. We have seriously considered enlarging our sites. Due to the restriction of Madera County, this had to be placed on hold for now. More 

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

After twelve weeks of RV holidays in the USA and Canada, over the last four years, this is by far the worst campground that we have had the misfortune to stay at. We booked online when we were unable to secure a campsite in Yosemite. Their website and the reviews seemed to suggest that they were a fantastic alternative to... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank nigel g
peggycroce, Guest Relations Manager at High Sierra RV Park & Campground, responded to this review

Your opinion of High Sierra is not typical for the majority of guests who visit. We can assure you that all the pictures on the website were taken at the property. We also state on the website that the Fresno River is seasonal and most of our guests find it very inviting. Normally during early spring and summer the water... More 

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is a review for the Yurt rentals which were quite nice. Ours was clean and surprisingly spacious with a large wooden bunkbed and a couch that makes into two twin beds. There is in-room a/c and heating so the temperature was very comfortable, plus a TV (made the kids happy) and a small refrigerator. We were in the yurt... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sims722
peggycroce, Guest Relations Manager at High Sierra RV Park & Campground, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your favorable review. The Yurts are new to High Sierra and we hope that many others will take the opportunity to experience them as you did. More 

Auburn, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

HORRIBLE!!! Do not stay there. Their website does not match this park. Very deceiving !! Their "store" is inside the office which is hooked onto a storage area all of which is dumpy, dirty, ragged, Very poorly maintained. The "nice rec. room" that shows on their web site with log furniture is only for group parties. The Fresno river is... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Navandjjc
peggycroce, Guest Relations Manager at High Sierra RV Park & Campground, responded to this review

We apologize that your recent visit to High Sierra RV Park was less than your expectations. We can assure you that all the pictures on the website were taken at the property. You are correct, we are not a county club. We do not compare ourselves to a country club or charge the rates that a county club dose. We... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we were happy to see we had no issues maneuvering our 42' trailer into our space. However, we were not too impressed with the facility... Small, very tight RV spaces, very little water in the swimming hole, and not much available for campers. As a base for visiting Yosemite it turned out to be adequate with good... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rortiz1627
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Wawona Hotel
Wawona Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#4 of 8 in Oakhurst
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
9.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities