We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

High Sierra RV Park & Campground

40389 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
High Sierra RV Park & Campground
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
22
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (47)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The park is in town on a couple of levels and behind/beneath a mobile home park. The price is around 50 bucks for full hook up along the creek. Although the creek is beautiful, behind it lurks an industrial parking lot. We didn't even try the showers or laundry after working hard to get level and hook up to some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Farlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Located on the outskirts of the Yosemite NP, High Sierra RV Park is in Oakhurst. Staff were pleasant & welcoming, & quick to give advice on inclement weather too. There are showers & toilets available on-site - they are locked as the campsite is not gated, so a $20 key deposit is required. A small selection of items for purchase... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

As did many others we chose this park as it sounded really Good and with plenty of amenities on the web site. we were squeezed in to a tiny site which couldn't even fit our RV properly,, went to use the bathroom only to get the door shut in my face. there is only 1 toilet and 1 shower for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Oakhurst hotels

Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Thank goodness only one night here. Campsites are not nestled in the pines. Sites are very close together. Luckily we had some shade. Located behind the mobile home park. Seasonal creek is dry. Put us in a site which barely accommodated our 33 foot motorhome. We couldn't use fire ring if we wanted to. End of motorhome is 2 feet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
peggycroce, Guest Relations Manager at High Sierra RV Park & Campground, responded to this review

Based on your review, we are sorry that High Sierra did not meet your expectations. This is not typical, the majority of our guests find the park to be warm and friendly. We have seriously considered enlarging our sites. Due to the restriction of Madera County, this had to be placed on hold for now. More 

Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

After twelve weeks of RV holidays in the USA and Canada, over the last four years, this is by far the worst campground that we have had the misfortune to stay at. We booked online when we were unable to secure a campsite in Yosemite. Their website and the reviews seemed to suggest that they were a fantastic alternative to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
peggycroce, Guest Relations Manager at High Sierra RV Park & Campground, responded to this review

Your opinion of High Sierra is not typical for the majority of guests who visit. We can assure you that all the pictures on the website were taken at the property. We also state on the website that the Fresno River is seasonal and most of our guests find it very inviting. Normally during early spring and summer the water... More 

Sacramento, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is a review for the Yurt rentals which were quite nice. Ours was clean and surprisingly spacious with a large wooden bunkbed and a couch that makes into two twin beds. There is in-room a/c and heating so the temperature was very comfortable, plus a TV (made the kids happy) and a small refrigerator. We were in the yurt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peggycroce, Guest Relations Manager at High Sierra RV Park & Campground, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your favorable review. The Yurts are new to High Sierra and we hope that many others will take the opportunity to experience them as you did. More 

Auburn, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

HORRIBLE!!! Do not stay there. Their website does not match this park. Very deceiving !! Their "store" is inside the office which is hooked onto a storage area all of which is dumpy, dirty, ragged, Very poorly maintained. The "nice rec. room" that shows on their web site with log furniture is only for group parties. The Fresno river is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
peggycroce, Guest Relations Manager at High Sierra RV Park & Campground, responded to this review

We apologize that your recent visit to High Sierra RV Park was less than your expectations. We can assure you that all the pictures on the website were taken at the property. You are correct, we are not a county club. We do not compare ourselves to a country club or charge the rates that a county club dose. We... More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we were happy to see we had no issues maneuvering our 42' trailer into our space. However, we were not too impressed with the facility... Small, very tight RV spaces, very little water in the swimming hole, and not much available for campers. As a base for visiting Yosemite it turned out to be adequate with good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

When we pulled up, we were astonished how different the place looked from the pictures. Luckily, we had campsite 32 which was the best in the park and sat on the stream. Supposedly, the water level is low, but don't get fooled when they call it a river. It was a decent place to stay but we won't return. Too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
peggycroce, Guest Relations Manager at High Sierra RV Park & Campground, responded to this review

We are sorry that you felt the distance to drive to Yosemite was too long. When driving up Highway 41 through Oakhurst to enter through the South Entrance, most find the drive beautiful as they see the Mariposa Grove, the Wanona area, and Glacier Point on the way to Yosemite Valley. More 

Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

It was our first day driving RVS and on the wrong side of the road (well for us Aussies anyway) We had set off from LA at lunch time and werent going to make it all the way into Yosemite by dark. This was a great place to start our RV adventure - with hookups so we could work out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities