We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marinwood Inn & Suites

275 Alameda del Prado, Novato, CA 94949 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Marinwood Inn & Suites
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Marinwood Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

I have been staying at this hotel one see year every year for the past 10 years along with 20 other people who regularly join me on a two day bike ride all the way around the San Francisco bay. We always stay this hotel because the general manager, Bobby, knows us really well, is very friendly and always goes... More 

Helpful?
Thank russandsheila
ManagerDM, Manager at Marinwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear russandsheila, When someone is as loyal a guest as you are, that really is the best kind of recommendation, as a first-hand experience is what gives the greatest value to an opinion. What a glorious and perfectly written review. You truly “get it” when it comes to what sets Marinwood Inn & Suites apart. We are so happy that... More 

SeaTac, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

My wife and I stayed here last week. After checking into our thoroughly pleasant room we called the night manager for more towels and pillows, after offering to go to the office and get them myself he insisted on bringing them to our room. After touring the numerous wineries in the area we return to our room and found that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank G D
ManagerDM, Manager at Marinwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear G D, What a wonderful way to spend the day here – enjoying all of the wineries nearby. We love it that you had a memorable experience in Marin and we’re thrilled we were able to contribute to that with a pleasant stay at our Inn. We hope you will consider coming back to visit us in another month... More 

Payson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

Best place to stay while visiting the San Francisco area. Close to all the places that you would want to go. Easy access on and off highway 101. Would defiantly stay here each time I visit the San Francisco and North bay area.

Helpful?
Thank guest-in2015
ManagerDM, Manager at Marinwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear guest-in2015, This is what we love to read! Thank you for the 5 star rating and for sharing your experience. We hope you have plans to visit SF again soon, so we can welcome you back. Thank you, Marinwood Inn & Suites More 

Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

I'm long overdue in writing a review for Marinwood Inn & Suites. I have been a pretty regular guest for the last 9 months so my considerations here are based on nearly 100 nights of staying at the Marinwood. I work at a startup in the area so, as you can imagine, we have to be a little bit thrifty... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
ManagerDM, Manager at Marinwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Rick H, You are a VIP, that's why you're treated like one! Thank you so much for your kind words and thoughtful review. It makes us happy when our guests appreciate what we have to offer. We pride ourselves on being an affordable, quality option, as well as having a friendly staff with wonderful customer service. We are glad... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

Hotel is old and worn. Room was clean but outdated. We paid extra for a full kitchen but it had Nothing in it. No fork, no cup, What use is a stove without a pot? Not many people travel with cookware. The complementary breakfast was very disappointing. Could even get a Yogurt or a piece of fresh fruit.

Helpful?
Thank rands23
ManagerDM, Manager at Marinwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear rands23, Please accept our apologies that your experience with us fell short of your expectations. We have undergone a renovation and are under new management now, so we are still working out a few kinks. Thank you very much for your feedback, it is essential to us. We are taking all of your comments into consideration as we strive... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

Have stayed there 5 other times, for $89.00 a very nice place under construction and new management that wanted you to be happy. 3 months later a totally different story. Staff unhappy, priced jumped to $129. 100 out side and the A/C in the room didn't work. Told the front desk and he let me know I was out of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Al A
ManagerDM, Manager at Marinwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear AI A, Thank you very much for bringing these issues to our attention. As you mentioned, our property has undergone an extensive renovation and is under new management. Unfortunately, along with that come a few growing pains. We are still learning, but that is no excuse. Please accept our sincere apologies for your experiences with our staff and the... More 

Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015

The initial impression was good. The grounds are clean. The room I had was one of the "updated" ones but still had chipped paint, thin walls, and a musty smell that the cleaning staff tried to cover with air freshener. Then I had the cleaning staff park in my assigned spot. Overall, not a great place to stay. But for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glen K
ManagerDM, Manager at Marinwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Glen K, Thank you for your comments, we appreciate you taking the time to share them. First of all, we are pleased you appreciated our cleanliness and affordability. We know these are two big concerns for guests, so we’re glad to be able to accommodate our clients in this way. But obviously we are saddened to read your other... More 

Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

We were given a room on the first floor without any kitchenette. The room was very small, dark and outdated. It was not really dirty but it was not the cleanest either. It has a refrigerator, microwave and a coffee machine. There is free breakfast but i did not try it. My husband ate something there, but he did not... More 

Helpful?
Thank love2travel277
ManagerDM, Manager at Marinwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear love2travel1277, Thank you for your comments, we appreciate you taking the time to share them. Please accept our sincere apologies that there were elements of your stay that were disappointing. Your feedback is valuable to us. Please know we take it all into consideration to make changes at our property. We hope you will consider staying with us again... More 

Davis, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015

Don't expect your confirmed reservation to be honored at this Inn. After spending a lovely day in Sonoma, my husband and I arrived at the Inn, with a confirmed reservation from Marinwood Inn & Suites. I made the reservation through their website weeks earlier. We were greeted by the rudest front desk person ever. After giving him my name he... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan F
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is just about good enough to stay at overnight. You wouldn't want to stay any longer. The room was outdated and a bit shabby generally. The breakfast wasn't good, there wasn't even coffee as someone was fixing the machine. Would do the job if you're barely staying long and would need somewhere with a good location.

Helpful?
Thank Katy O
ManagerDM, Manager at Marinwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Katy O, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We greatly apologize that your room did not meet your expectations and that you were disappointed in our breakfast offerings. We agree with you, coffee is essential, and we apologize that it wasn't available to you! We will be reviewing your feedback with our team. We pride ourselves... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novato
1.0 mi away
Inn Marin
Inn Marin
#3 of 6 in Novato
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
San Francisco-Days Inn Novato
3.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
3.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay