We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Newport Beach accommodations

Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort

1131 Back Bay Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Hotel amenities
Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort to your Saves list
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014
Sebastocole Sebastopol
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    27
    14
    13
    20
See reviews for
58
14
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (102)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Sebastopol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We stayed at Newport Dunes with our RV in Sept. We had a problem with our rig and the management was so accommodating. We ended up getting there a day late. We had prepaid and they waived that night. They were so so nice overall. Traveller tip. They have a guy making breakfast burritos in front of the general store.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Northridge
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Weather is always perfect for camping with friends. Waterfront board walk for walking, pet friendly & bike trail too boot. Close to Balboa Island and not far from Newport pier. You can rent kayaks and paddle wheels. Wave boards.

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

We have a 6-year-old only child, which has far more energy than the 2 of us, so it takes a lot of diversity to keep her busy and happy while not killing us at the same time. This place had all the answers! 1. The place is pricey, but location is phenomenal so if you want more than just camping,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed here with my grandson in October. We both felt that the park was very expensive and overated for what we got. The sites were very tight and each one was fenced with chain link fencing. I would have expected concrete or blacktop sites but instead, all they had was dirt. There were no waterfront activities... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review for Newport Dunes Resort and Marina. Thank you for staying with us. Please contact me at 949-999-3103 if you would like to discuss your stay and try us again. I will personally handle your reservation. Thank you Rick Vara Director RV Operations More 

Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

I've stayed at the dunes for many years .I travel all the way from England to stay at this place but I must say at the moment I'm very disappointed with their booking a reservation over the phone service. I've called three in two days and every time I've been put on hold for 15 min waiting for a sales... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Hello, Sorry for the problems you had getting us on the phone. We will check the phone system to make sure it is working correctly. Since you had difficulty booking a site, please contact me to book your next reservation. My email is: rvara@newportdunes.com. We also have other options to book a reservation. Our website is available for online reservations... More 

Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We arrived in our RV and was originally welcomed by conflicting information. One set of employees allowed for us to park in the parking lot, but we were infiltrated by the men in black security who advised that we must park in another area reserved for overnight RV parking. In itself, not a big deal. Except, we went from paying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and review. Sorry you had misinformation about our overnight camping procedures. You can call me at 949 999 3103 or email ( rvara@newportdunes.com) If you would like to talk about your experience or making future reservations. I can extend a free upgrade to a better site. Rick Vara Director RV Operations Newport Dunes Resort and... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Had a really good time the site was a bit small and no fire pit (unless you paid $35 per night) however good location and nice amenities made up for the site size as there was so much to do nice path around the resort for walking jogging biking ect.. movie nights on the beach were very well done, have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and review. If have any questions or need help making reservations, please call my office at 949 999 3103. Rick Vara Director RV Operations Newport Dunes Resort and Marina More 

Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed on a bay front RV site the week of July 13th to the 19th . If you can booking mid week is best as the resort has a large influx of local campers on weekends and holidays. We had as much room as we needed with no one on either side until our departure date on Saturday. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We plan many new upgrades to Newport Dunes Resort in 2015. Thank you for staying with us! Rick Vara Director RV Operations Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort More 

Glendale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We got a beach front RV spot and I would say it was well worth paying the extra money to have a great bay view, beach access, and close to all the facilities. The place is very clean and well maintained (except for the gym, the equipment is broke and old – but you’re on vacation so just go run... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. . We are planning some renovations in the RV Park for 2015. The cottages are included. The movie experience is great! The dog run is going to have a makeover this winter. Please call me if you ever have any questions or need help booking a site/cottage. Rick Vara Director RV Operations Newport Dunes Resort... More 

La Puente, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Our family had a Blast staying in the cottages! There was 8 adults, 2 teenagers, a kid & 2 babies. And even with as many of us as there was, we had a blast and everyone had a place to sleep. The beach was steps away & we loved the view. The movie at night on the beach was awesome!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rickab12345, Manager at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. . We are planning some renovations in the RV Park for 2015. The cottages are included. The movie experience is great! Please call me if you ever have any questions or need help booking a site/cottage. Rick Vara Director RV Operations Newport Dunes Resort and Marina More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort

Address: 1131 Back Bay Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Dunes Waterfront Hotel Newport Beach
Camping Newport Beach
Newport Dunes Park

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay