We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Napa B&Bs / inns

The Inn On First

1938 1st Street, Napa, CA 94559
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
The Inn On First
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn On First to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 24 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
A recent review
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    21
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
828
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1040)
  • Mar-May only
    (240)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (284)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (339)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (177)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Jim, Jamie, and Staff were wonderful hosts. They are service oriented and pay an exceptional attention to detail. The rooms are clean and beautiful with many of the needed amenities to make their customers feel at home. They offer a hassle free and informative tour of Napa area Wineries and are well received at many of the Wineries.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The owners and staff have created a very nice experience. One of the nicest B&B that we have stayed out. They are service oriented and very informative about the Napa Valley area. They make every effort to assist their customers so they can enjoy the total experience that the beautiful Napa Valley has to offer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laguna Hills, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at The Inn on First during Valentine's weekend and had an amazing time. We were welcomed with some sparkling wine and truffles and the hospitality continued to be amazing throughout our stay. The morning breakfasts were incredible with fresh fruit, freshly baked pastries and incredible main dishes- Jim is an incredible cook. The room was spacious, comfortable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review

John, We would like to thank you for sharing such lovely words about our Inn. Our passion for providing world-class hospitality is the driving force behind everything we do. Thank you for your feedback about the tour, as we feel it’s much easier (and safer) for our guests to indulge in Napa’s rich wine culture without the worry of driving.... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Simply put, The Inn on First is amazing. Once again, the folks at 1938 1st Street made us feel right at home. We spent the day at a few wineries and when we arrived at the Inn we were greeted by the wonderful staff, who then escorted us to our room. The room was absolutely PERFECT. Spacious, quiet, and relaxing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review

Joe, Thank you for returning to The Inn on First and for writing such a breathtaking review! No detail is overlooked when it comes to creating a perfect breakfast for each of our treasured guests, and we’re so glad you both had such a wonderful return stay with us. Your thoughtful words are sincerely treasured, and we hope to see... More 

San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the pleasure of staying with Jim & Jamie this past weekend, during a crazy (holiday weekend + Valentine's Day) Napa weekend. We stayed in the Angel's Share room (#4) in the main house. This room sits upstairs at the back of the house and overlooks a small walkway/garden and the garden suite house. We found parking quickly upon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review

basquegirlie, We are incredibly thankful to receive such a lovely detailed review! Our guests are very important to us, and it is truly our pleasure to provide a customized oasis for each of them that you simply can’t find in a hotel. Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to being your go-to destination in Napa! More 

San Juan Capistrano, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Unlike the previois review, our room was immaculate, had no smell and as always, included a gourmet breakfast prepared by the owner and professionally trained chef, Jim. Jamie drove us both days to two smaller wineries which we always enjoy preferring to stay away from the crowds of the larger more well known wineries. Jamie has a great sense of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review

Sherry, We’re truly delighted that you were so pleased with your return stay with us. An unequaled Napa experience is what we set out to provide, and your lovely words about everything from the private wine tours to Jim’s breakfasts are so generous of you. Many thanks for your recommendation. We genuinely appreciate your loyalty and we can’t wait for... More 

Scottsdale
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our experience at this Inn was ok. We were thrilled to be staying here, after seeing all the great reviews, but unfortunately, our stay wasn't like the reviews. Our room was the Angel Suite. The furnishings and hardware in the rooms were great but the details were disappointing. The toilet paper was thin and scratchy, as was the facial tissue.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review

Dear kittygoldberg: We are so sorry you were disappointed with your stay. When your group of six rooms made your reservation we scheduled the contractors to be off and not working on Friday morning, the first morning of your visit. When your group canceled all rooms five days before arrival we called the contractor and told him he could continue... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would highly recommend this B&B as a base for exploring the wine country. Jim and Jamie are attentive and highly informed. Most of my excursions were recommended by them and they were very helpful with setting up appointments. Really, it made all the difference. I would definitely stay there again for both the location and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review

Andrew F, Thank you for the high recommendation. We do all we can to ensure our guests have the best possible time, and it was our pleasure setting you up with some of our area’s finest Wineries. We hope to see you back again! More 

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I spent last weekend in Napa, we had a fabulous time. The Inn is in a great location, we walked downtown for dinner both nights. Our room was cute and welcoming and the fireplace was great to warm up in front of. The vegetarian breakfasts were fantastic. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review

Kara, Our sincerest thanks for your positive review! We appreciate your kind feedback on the room and vegetarian breakfasts. We look forward to seeing you and your boyfriend again! More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Inn on First and their staff were awesome from start to finish. From the moment we booked with them to our final departure they were hands on when needed and yet never in our space. They have our vote for Our Best B&B Stay yet! Our room was clean, well appointed and very comfortable. The home and grounds were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review

Rebecca, It is wonderful to read such a glowing review of your first stay with us. We treat our guests like the closest of friends, and we’re so glad you enjoyed yourself and the accommodations. We appreciate your notice of the green features at our B&B and your vote means so much to us. We hope you will stay with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Inn On First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On First

Address: 1938 1st Street, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn On First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 1st
The Inn On First Hotel Napa
The Inn On First Napa, Napa Valley, CA

284 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (246)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (48)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay