We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Napa hotels

River Terrace Inn

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% OFF
Save Saved
You added River Terrace Inn to your Saves list
River Terrace Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
84%
Ranked #12 of 25 hotels in Napa
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Elaine H London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (920)
  • Photos (215)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (186)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

920 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    423
    342
    99
    36
    20
See reviews for
91
494
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Staff was professional but the hotel lacked energy. For the price, I would expect welcoming common areas with high end finishes. The pool felt like a roadside Motel 6. I was embarrassed to have chosen this for our girls' weekend and ended up apologizing for my choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for being a guest of our hotel and for sharing your concerns with us. We apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations for your girls weekend. We hope you enjoyed time at the wineries and were able to join us for our complimentary wine hour as well. We appreciate your feedback and value your stay as... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 1 night on our recent visit to Napa. The staff were friendly and accommodating and greeted us with a map of all the local vineyards & wineries. The rooms were clean and the outside bar area was lovely. There was a gentleman singing on the Thursday we stayed and it was a nice vibe at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, Elaine for leaving us your kind review. We are pleased that you had a nice stay with us and we hope you enjoyed your time at the wineries. We thank you for being a guest of ours and hope you consider staying with us again upon any future travels to Napa. More

Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice hotel in a good location (walking distance to the city centre). However, there is a distinct lack of staff at the front desk, and they are extremely slow at checking in. On one occasion I just wanted to ask a quick question, and waited 20 minutes before i just gave up (she was only checking in two rooms in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear that we did not provide the exceptional type of service that we want all of our guests to receive. We are happy you enjoyed the hotel and your stay, but we wish that we could have left a better impression, and we thank you for your feedback. We hope you... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Save your money don't stay here. Room over looking car park by staff entrance door banging closed every 5 minutes or so from 6.45am. Dirty and old bed linen, dim and dingy lighting, extremely noisy aircon unit in room so had to turn off to sleep. Really no reason to stay at this hotel at all. Total disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for being a guest of ours. We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay. We appreciate you voicing your concerns and we would have been more than happy to help try to resolve them during your visit to Napa. Thank you for your feedback. More

Dana Point, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Paying extra for a Napa River view is wasted money at this hotel, unless you make sure you are on one of the higher floors, we only saw bushes. Housekeeping needs better management, they managed to show up the first day after 4:00, after we had been out all day and wanted to shower before leaving for dinner - and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for being a guest of our hotel and for sharing your experience with us. We are happy you enjoyed the amenities of our hotel and we hope you had a great time in Napa. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with regard to housekeeping and we will take your comments under advisement. We hope you will consider our... More

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

5 minute walk from Oxbow and RiverWalk areas. Close drive to all wineries (15 minutes to Oakville and 30 minutes to Calistoga). Nice Wine tasting on patio on Fridays. Bikes were not available from hotel during our trip. Rooms were very nice and had refrigerator for our items. Firm bed. Noisy Air-conditioner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to Napa. We are happy you had a chance to explore the area and enjoyed your stay while with us. We appreciate you taking time to leave a review and we hope you will be a guest of ours again. More

Redlands, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I liked everything about this hotel except that it did not have a hot tub. You usually get a pretty nice pool/hot tub in this price range. Normally I wouldn't even care about this so much but we had just come from Yosemite and were looking forward to a soak. Other than that, the location, service and noise level were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you had a nice visit but we do apologize that we fell short of expectations with the lack of a hot tub. We do hope you were able to join us for our wine hour to unwind. We thank you for being a guest of ours and... More

Canyon Country, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very Clean. Good Location. Staff is bomb. Very helpful and friendly. Haley and Halle really mad sure our 25th Anniversary stay was perfect. Good location for wine tasting in Napa Valley. Staff was very knowledgeable as to where to go. We will be coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review

Congratulations on your anniversary! We are happy our staff could help make your celebration special. We hope you will visit us again next time you are in Napa. Thank you for being a guest of ours and for your wonderful review. More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is a short walk from town although when you arrive it feels like it will be further. We were made feel very welcome from the moment we arrived by a very friendly porter from Manchester and Joanne on reception. Our room was very comfortable overlooking s small river,our balcony was quiet and peaceful & our room clean. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for being guests of our hotel and we are pleased our staff could help make your stay a good one. We do apologize for the inconvenience at breakfast and we are sorry it affected your visit . We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are happy that overall you had a nice time while... More

San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed the the River Terrace Inn this past weekend and It was great. The rooms are lovely, the staff is very accomdating and the bar has a nice happy hour with live music, wine tasting and cheese. The front desk staff was very helpful, especialy Luis, who offered exceptional customer service. There was a mix up on our behalf... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your review and we are happy you chose to stay with us for your trip to Napa. It's nice to hear where our staff excelled and we thank you for taking time to share your comments. We are glad you had a nice stay in Napa and we hope to have you visit us again. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage River Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to River Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn

Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your River Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

215 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (199)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (60)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa #9 Romantic Hotel in Napa #11 Business Hotel in Napa #11 Family Hotel in Napa
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A peaceful Napa river side escape. Less than an hour’s drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn offers an elegant Napa Valley retreat. Our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. -No-Charge Cruiser Bike Rental-Pool-Fitness Center-In-Room Spa-Cuvee Napa Restaurant ... more   less 
Number of rooms
106

See which rooms travelers prefer