We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Murphys Historic Hotel

457 Main St., Murphys, CA 95247
The Murphys Historic Hotel
Share an Experience

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    20
    18
    17
See reviews for
15
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (90)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

Murphys is a trip in time. If you want a taste of what it was like back in the day this is the place. The older rooms in front have no bath room, but ours did have a sink. ( we were in the Lipton room the tea guy Check their web site for the historic rooms.)The bath is down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brian G, Owner at The Murphys Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there I'm glad to hear you had a nice time staying here. We do try our best to keep all of our customers happy. We now have a Historic room which has it's own toilet and shower. Thanks for the nice review and I hope you can make it back in the near future! More 

Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Historic and charming this is a great place to have lunch. Outside, if the weather permits, is a great place for people watching. The food is great and you can park in their lot (street parking is usually limited in Murphys.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian G, Owner at The Murphys Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review! We do have a very nice outdoor patio which is open daily if the weather permits. All of our food is made with love. Our burgers come from locally raised Orvis Grass Fed Cattle. Most of our vegetables are also locally grown. Everything is made in house. I hope you can make it up... More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

When I booked this hotel I was looking for authenticity, an old style miners hotel with a big long bar, original rooms; a place from where I could 'feel' the town. I wasn't looking for on-suite comfort, I wasn't looking for anything that a regular hotel chain would give me - I can get that anywhere. I got exactly what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Brian G, Owner at The Murphys Historic Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so happy to hear such a heart felt review. I have your review posted for the staff to see! Each of my staff try their hardest to make your experience feel "at-home"! The five stars is appreciated! It is very hard to make everyone happy but we truly try our best. The Historic part of The Hotel doesn't have... More 

Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

We stopped in at the hotel bar on the off chance it was open for business (as was the dining room). The bartender was lighting the wood burning stove and invited us in...cheerfully said if the door was open, he's open. We were the first customers. Had a leisurely Baileys & coffee, then breakfast. My wife had the hotel breakfast-eggs,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Brian G, Owner at The Murphys Historic Hotel, responded to this review

I'm happy that your breakfast hit the spot. We are open for breakfast lunch and dinner 365 days a year! Our regular breakfast hours are 8a-1130a on week days and 7a-3p on weekends! You can eat in the restaurant, old time saloon, or on the patio! We do try our best to prepare your eggs as ordered and I am... More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

We have stayed here on three occasions. Once, in the old hotel which was a last minute decision. It was a bit loud so we decided that from now on we would stay in the rooms outside the hotel. We booked this last weekend in October because we had wanted to experience the Christmas parade that is held on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Brian G, Owner at The Murphys Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Our little town's Open House and Christmas Parade is always on the first Friday in December. It is a beautiful time and has that small town feel! I'm sorry to hear about your second night's experience. You mentioned that you have stayed in both the modern and historic section of our Hotel. You are right about the noise on any... More 

Sonora, California
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
20 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

This is foremost what you get staying here. Add some historic charm, a lovely outdoor seating for lunch/dinner/brunch and you have a nice place to stay. Several things you should know: First, there are three sections too this property. The original building has rooms upstairs (some above the the bar -- avoid these rooms!) and there is no elevator so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Brian G, Owner at The Murphys Historic Hotel, responded to this review

You are right about the Location, can't get better than where we sit in town! I do however want to hopefully give a little more insight on your review. Your description of the Hotel is fair. The Historic rooms can be noisy during the weekend however if you are staying in town on a weekday I do recommend trying a... More 

Brea, California
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

Are the Ghosts real at Murphy’s Historic Hotel? YES YES YES!!! I have a family of five. My wife and our three kids (16, 13, and 10.) At first we were set to stay in the new rooms at Murphy’s Historic Hotel which are not attached to the main old historic hotel. When we checked in they told us about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Brian G, Owner at The Murphys Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience while staying! I have been the manager here for over 11 years and can say without a doubt that we have the occasional paranormal experience. From what I have gathered we have some "Jokester Ghosts" because all the experiences have been of positive energy. We just re-finished room 15 so I would... More 

Murphys, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Greetings all: I/we live about 2 miles of this Hotel, in Murphys with my wife of 9.10 yrs! My wife had over 27 adults/kids from US, Denmark, and in Germany at her party on Oct 25! We had a great banqet dinner hall, Mark Twain ballroom. Brian(a manager-owner/1 of 3 owners)had setup the Ballroom great...with all the staff as well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Brian G, Owner at The Murphys Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the Great Review! It was a total pleasure serving your family and friends! I loved how many of the guests came from overseas to help celebrate this special occasion. Truly Beautiful Family! See you soon for a cold Murphys Stout! More 

Folsom, California
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Me and two other friends reserved a two bed room here two months ago. When we arrive, they give us a room with one bed and said there are no rooms with two beds available, even though our reservation was for a room with two beds. I was forced to get another room in the historic building (share bathroom facilities,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
Brian G, Owner at The Murphys Historic Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. I'm not sure how your room with two beds turned into a room with one bed... As for the Historic part of the Hotel YES it can be noisy on the weekend and I'm 100% sure you were informed of that caveat prior to receiving your keys. I assure you... More 

Modesto, CA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

We stayed one nght in Murphy's as a part of a group of sport car enthusiasts. Wnen we went to check in on May 31st, we were told we were not registered. I produced a guarenteed reservation and they stared at it curiously and did some research. I had made this reservation nine months earlier. They finally discovered that when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Brian G, Owner at The Murphys Historic Hotel, responded to this review

This Gentleman is correct we did lose his reservation. As many of you know a guy named Gordon Ramsey visited our Hotel... One of his "Big" changes was bringing us into the 20th century with on-line bookings. Unfortunately the on-line booking system he chose was not compatible with our hotel reservation system... As we made the huge leap into the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question