We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn at Morro Bay

60 State Park Road, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Hotel amenities
Inn at Morro Bay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
kbirds Gardnerville, Nevada
Add Photo Write a Review

410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    94
    152
    93
    46
    25
See reviews for
88
240
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (410)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (152)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (108)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
Gardnerville, Nevada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is our second time staying here. We stayed 3 nights on the last leg of our week vacation. We had a king bed room with a shared patio overlooking the bay. Our room was beautiful with a great view. The room was clean with plenty of towels.Beds were comfy if a little firm. The pool area is nice with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oakland, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel felt like a breath of fresh air. The setting is beautiful, the rooms spacious and comfortable and the staff really helpful. After a miserable stay the night before in a different location, this place was delightful. The room opened onto a lovely balcony which not only afforded us a great view, but brought fresh air into the room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bloubergstrand Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here on our way from San Francisco to LA. The room was very spacious with balcony where we enjoyed a beautiful sunset. It is close to a hiking trail. Kitchen was not yet in operation, but they offered breakfast and have the best views from the veranda.

Was this review helpful? Yes
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We chose the Inn at Morro Bay over another property and now regret it. Our room is described on the website as "Petite Queen" which is code for tiny room with tiny bed and few amenities. We're not even sure the bed is a queen. No air conditioning in room leaves you dependent upon an ocean breeze coming through the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FredReed, General Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this review

Tracy S Thanks you for your review. Our property was built in the 1950's and has a number of different room sizes and types. This poses some benefits and some challenges. I am very sorry that the "Petite Queen" was not good for your needs. We named it that to convey the fact that it was quite small. We have... More 

Travelers are raving about these Morro Bay hotels

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The location couldn't be better, but the service needs help as well as the rooms. Our original room was nothing like we remembered, small, the sink was in the room, and absolutely no counter space. We upgraded and the room was slightly larger but still no counter space. Whoever came up with the idea for pedestal sinks ought to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FredReed, General Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this review

KirkG G Thanks you for your review. It is wonderfully helpful for us to know how people feel. Our property was built in the 1950's and has a wide variety of room types. We do have rooms on property that not as big as we would like. We try to do our best with our properties limitations and we don't... More 

Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here while driving around the Central Coast; found our booking through Hotel Tonight - it seemed to be a good deal! The front office desk was very nice (I think his name was Eddy?) - he exuberantly helped us plan a hike for the next day, telling us how to reach his personal favorite of the area. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FredReed, General Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this review

Annie P Thanks you very mush for your review. Bummer only to get 4 out of 5, but the best part is you enjoyed your stay. Our real job is hospitality not stars. Please come back if you travel again and enjoy our restaurant and bar. Thanks Again Fred Reed General Manager More 

Fresno, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at The Inn at Morro Bay several times. We had found the beautiful views nice bar and restaurant and overall experience charming and relaxing. This visit in June 2015 was for the first time, disappointing. One issue was because of remodeling, the bar and restaurant were closed! During the "peak season" this is almost incomprehensible. We also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FredReed, General Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this review

CulinaryEye I am truly sorry that we did not live up to the historic and reasonable expectations that you had. Opening the restaurant is not in our control. We are very aware of the importance of our restaurant and bar especially during the summer. We are hiring staff now. I also want to apologize for the delay in rooms being... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is actually quite charming and on the sea in Morro Bay, which is a small, provincial town made famous by its giant granite rock! The Reception area had apparently just been redecorated and had only opened the day before. It was lovely with great views and tastefully done, but meant that there was no food available (although there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FredReed, General Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this review

QueenMintola Thank You for your wonderful review. We are constantly blessed to be able to work in our wonderful location. We have our restaurant just open and would Love to see you return soon. Thanks Again Fred Reed General Manager More 

Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room faced the bay and overlooked the water. It was peaceful and quiet even with the sea birds nesting nearby. The Inn is going through some renovation so accommodations are only getting better. I would consider staying here again and felt the price was fair.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FredReed, General Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this review

Coast101 Thank You for your review. The Birds are quite amazing and they have babies right now. Thanks for being forgiving. Please come again and enjoy our new restaurant and bar. Fred Reed General Manager More 

Thousand oaks ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised at the Inn at Morro Bay I had selected a partial bay room and we ended up with a full Bay view that was absolutely gorgeous They have recently remodeled and the restaurant is not open yet but they did serve a nice breakfast buffet style that was included. There are no refrigerators or microwaves or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FredReed, General Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this review

nursecarlah Thank you so much for your review. I love reading that people are having a great experience at our wonderful property. We are fazing out our complimentary breakfast now that our restaurant is open. Please come back soon and enjoy some diner. Feel free to contact me if you do. Fred Reed General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

176 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (166)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
View from room (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay