We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 29 Morro Bay hotels

BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   250 Pacific Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
72%
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersGold level
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
dhknhall Lincoln, California
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    62
    34
    19
    8
See reviews for
41
102
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

NO AIR CONDITIONING!! The afternoon Sun heated the room thru the sliding glass doors to extremely hot temps ... very uncomfortable! Stained carpet. Room in poor repair. Bathroom door swollen and split at bottom due to design of shower and curtain not preventing floor being flooded with every shower and one was required to force the the door to close,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G. M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review

We apologize for not meeting your expectations. We are in the process of installing new carpet and new railings. We are also remodeling our front lobby and breakfast area. Maintenance was notified regarding the bathroom door in your room. We are sorry you felt unsafe in our little town, it's a very popular destination spot and actually has a very... More

Lincoln, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed two nights at this motel. Best Western states this is a "Plus" motel. However, except for a couple of amenties, I'm not sure why. The room was clean and comfortable. However, the furnishings are very dated and old. There was no bath tub, only a shower. I'm going to mention something for those people who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review

Our staff appreciates your feedback regarding your stay. We are in the process of installing new carpet throughout as well as new railings. We will also be remodeling our front lobby as well as our breakfast area. We wish you pleasant journeys. Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn More

La Palma, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very clean, quaint and comfy feel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Elevator to higher floors. Rooms block noise well. Rooms were large. Wall separated bed and bathroom/sink area. Able to walk to Embaradaro.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn More

Redondo Beach, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place is relatively small and intimate. It is an older, but upgraded property, part of a three property local chain. The staff are friendly with good local knowledge. The rooms all have small balconies with sliding glass doors for ventilation, needed if hot since there is no air conditioning. The rooms are reasonably sized with flat screen TV with... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review

We love to hear from our repeat guests, thank you for sharing your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Happy travels, Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn More

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You cannot fault the staff - the cheese and wine is a really nice touch, as is the complimentary breakfast. But you cannot get away from the fact that the accommodation is below par with no outdoor pool - should not qualify as a "plus" in my view.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mamamorro, G. M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. While we do not have an outdoor pool we do have a 10x16 hydrotherapy spa available to guests. We wish you happy travels. Regards, Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stay at this Motel because it is close to the ocean in Morro Bay. The continental breakfast was very minimal and not appetizing. Carpets are old and worn but otherwise the room was fine. Parking is limited and sometimes difficult to get in and out.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments and take them to heart. We are in the process of installing new carpet and new railings. Our deluxe continental breakfast offers 11 different items plus coffee, tea, milk and two juices. Hearing from a repeat guest is important to us. We hope you'll return and check out the changes we are making. Happy travels, Best... More

Corona del Mar, CA
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Terrible. Old and sad looking, the dirt here is ground in making everything look depressing. The breakfast is a joke. Worst of all, there is NO AIR CONDITIONING. Hit the central coast in a warm spell and you will be miserable, as we were. The only caveat to this is the hotel staff was excellent.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review

We apologize for not meeting your expectations. We are in the process of installing new railings and new carpet. Our deluxe complimentary breakfast is Best Western Plus approved. We wish you pleasant journeys. Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn More

Minneapolis, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room faced the Bay and even though we were a couple of blocks away, we had a nice view of the Bay and could even hear the seals from their dock. It was a nice short walk to the Bay side shops & restaurants. We also took in an evening Bay cruise past the seals to Morro Rock (evening... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G. M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your pleasant stay with us. We are pleased to know we met your expectations. Call us direct the next time you visit for the best rate and exact room type you'd like. Regards, Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn More

San Diego, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was just a bad place when your expectations are set for a Plus Best Western this property was definitely a Best Western Minus. Just too many thing to downgrade this place. I have stayed at motels at $78 that were just as good as this. I don't mind old motels with old styles - for the price. But this... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review

We apologize for not meeting your expectations. We are in the process of installing new carpet and not only updating our décor but also will be doing some remodeling as well. We wish you happy future travels. Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn More

Turlock, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed in room 318, no view of bay. Wasn't planning on being in room much so it didn't matter. Things I liked about this Inn was clerks were very friendly, some parking is covered, bed was comfortable, the fact that the sink and countertop was outside the shower/toliet area. Room was clean and kept up. Plenty of room on sink... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review. You've said it all for us. Be sure to call us direct for the best rate and exact room type. We look forward to seeing you again. Happy Travels, Best Western Plus San Marcos Inn More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn

Address: 250 Pacific Street, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS San Marcos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus San Marcos Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Morro Bay with
any amenities