We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN El Rancho
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN El Rancho
Add Photo Write a Review

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    177
    142
    60
    15
    13
See reviews for
116
199
21
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (407)
  • Mar-May only
    (115)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (132)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (93)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
226 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This particular Best Western is like one of the off the road motels I remember as a child. You pull up, park in front of your room single story building. You can see Morro Rock from the front and behind the motel are homes on a hill. They have done a good job of keeping it landscaped and visually appealing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. We hope that you were able to enjoy our outdoor areas such as our glider swing and BBQs. Come and visit again soon! More 

Smithfield, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here one night while driving hwy 1. It's dated, but comfy. The clerk was very friendly. They have complimentary DVDs in the office. The breakfast was the standard fair, but they use dishes not paper plates and bowl. The lobby was nicely decorated for the upcoming 4th of July.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We always like to hear that we are able to pleasantly surprise people with our updates, extra amenities and of course our customer service. We hope that you come and visit again soon! More 

County Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When trying to book pismo beach was very busy because of car festival that was there over the weekend. traveled all day in the big sure didn't have many option .nothing mach to do in Morro bay .hotel was ok room nice decorated with beach theme .staff was welcoming had problem with hot water and got sorted straight away .breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you like our beach theme and we are sorry for any inconvenience the hot water issue might have caused. We hope that you come and visit again soon! More 

Orange, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Short and sweet - I booked a non-smoking room but was given a smoking room. I was told it was all that was left. My son has bad asthma. Our stay was horrible because of this. Otherwise, probably not a bad place.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience with us. We do have smoking rooms, however we do not put guests in smoking rooms if that is not the kind that they booked. We apologize for whatever the miscommunication was that had you booked in a smoking room. We wish you safe and happy future travels. More 

Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Made an online reservation & asked for an ADA room. They called to tell us that they did not have an ADA room, but had a room with some accommodations. When we arrived, the desk clerk insisted on showing us the room before taking it to be sure it woudl meet our needs. It did. It had a wheelchair accessible... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will come and visit again soon! More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A real surprise!! Extra towels in the room. Real Glasses and Cups for our use in the room. Plenty of soap and lotions, etc. Traveling on Motorcycles, we where given small towels for our use. They offered use of a "Washing Station" for our Motorcycles. Would rate it Five out Five Stars for anyone traveling on 2 Wheels! Real Cups... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are a rider friendly hotel and love to make sure that all of our guests receive above and beyond customer service, We hope to see you again soon! More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There was a lot to like about Best Western El Rancho. We visited San Luis Obispo and Morro Bay during Cal Poly's graduation weekend, so the whole town was packed. The hotel celebrated by giving each guest a bottle of bubbly (or martinelli's) and some chocolate. We got a smallish room for two people, which was probably my fault because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us to celebrate graduation. We love hearing that you appreciated our extra touches to help you commemorate. We hope that you will come back and see us again soon! More 

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here as an overnight halt, whilst we were driving down the pacific coast highway (state route 1). The hotel was easily spotted from the highway, upon check in the staff were very helpful in telling us the best places to eat in the local area, and a large selection of DVDs meant that we were well entertained. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the El Rancho. We hope that next time you will be able to explore all the fun activities to do in Morro Bay such as kayaking, fishing, surfing and enjoying the beach. We hope to see you again soon! More 

San Jose, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Quiet location, despite nearness to Hwy. All amenities in room worked great ... refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, TV, etc. Nice shower with plenty of water pressure. VERY comfortable bed and the ceiling fan was enough to keep us cool, as there is no AC. Rooms are a little small, but the overall experience was great.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will come and visit again soon! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Best Western location combines the very best qualities of a hotel and an inn. The property is well maintained and quaint. Surrounding the pool area are benches, swinging chairs, and bbqs. The staff was very friendly. In the room not only did I receive coffee, tea, shampoo, and soap, but also mouthwash and makeup remover, as well as a... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BestWestern E, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review

Sounds like you had a great time staying with us and that you were able to enjoy all the extra amenities of our hotel. We do hope that we will see you again very soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay