We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 29 Morro Bay hotels

Masterpiece Hotel

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1206 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442 (Formerly El Morro Masterpiece Motel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Masterpiece Hotel to your Saves list
Masterpiece Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
81%
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Gloria P San Ramon, California
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    69
    17
    10
    5
See reviews for
33
78
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed in room 225. Nice view of Morro Rock from small balcony. Street out front busy/noisy but with slider closed at nite no problem. Our room was spacious with King bed, sitting area with sofa, dresser for using top or drawers, table with 2 chairs in front of slider for nice view of Morro Rock. Room has fridge, micro and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

You said it all for us. Thanks for such a nice review. We look forward to providing you with another wonderful stay. regards, Masterpiece Hotel More

Salinas, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a delightful, charming hotel. I can't wait to return. I just wish this group had a chain up and down California. Kind and helpful staff. Sweet amenities such as as the breakfast and wine and cheese in afternoon. The lovely indoor swimming pool and gym. Clean, clean clean. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We are so happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We do in fact have 2 other properties in the Aptos area. Give us a call and we'll be happy to pass that information along to you. Happy travels, Masterpiece Hotel More

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed beginning of January. Their sister hotel, La Serena, is our usual family vacation choice. However this year the family wanted to stay at San Marcos for their indoor spa. We go with 3 other families, typically 4 rooms in all. Since the rate was so great my husband upgraded our little family to the suite on the top... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback.....we've notified maintenance regarding the issues with your parents room and those will be addressed. Regards, Masterpiece Hotel More

Paso Robles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Our room was nice but a little outdated. No flat screen TV and the wifi never worked even after the front desk set it 3 times. Bed was very comfortable and thankfully we did not notice any car noise or room neighbors. The one thing I did not like is no elevator. I am a heavy packer and having to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the WIFI. The motel is actually in the process of upgrading our TV's and have been installing flat screen tvs in our rooms. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Masterpiece Motel More

Minocqua, Wisconsin
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

The staff hid behind the front desk... No elevator, must walk flight of stairs.... You could hear the people next door to us , ahem, on their honeymoon? Not what you want to hear... Up the hill from the harbor on Main Street which is busy. Could also hear the guests in the room above us - even with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
mamamorro, G. M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to read of your dissatisfaction with your stay. As we are a smaller boutique style motel located within walking distance of the beach, it is perfect for honeymooners and we also have many guests who come to celebrate their anniversaries. We apologize for not meeting your expectations but we wish you happy travels. Masterpiece Motel More

Clovis, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at the Masterpiece Hotel on January 6, 2014 and I was impressed with the updates. We were there several times over the summer and the hotel smelled dirty and it looked a little tired. The mattress was way past it's life expectancy and they were still using old bedspreads. I am happy to say that many improvements have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

The staff would like to thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy you noticed the upgrades and changes we are making. As any true masterpiece is we are a work in continual progress. We look forward to serving your lodging needs again. Happy travels, Masterpiece Motel More

Oceano, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We really loved the spacious room with the balcony. The weather was great so we kept the slider opened most of the time. The spa was very nice and roomy. It had a Roman theme. The wine and cheese reception was great. Red wine would be nice. The breakfast was very nicely laid out and pleanty of choices including make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay with us. We couldn't agree more, the spa is wonderful especially after a day of walking around our beautiful little town. Best regards, Masterpiece Motel More

Colby, Kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We booked the Masterpiece at a steal on priceline on our way up to Hearst Castle. The motel is a bit dated but has aged well and is greatly maintained! There is art throughout the motel as well as the cery nice Roman tub, small of course but reminiscent of Hearst castle. The room was very clean and cozy. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G. M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

The staff is happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a unique hotel in a unique little town. Come see us again and be sure to call us direct for the best rate and exact room type. Masterpiece Motel More

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

A quirky hotel with 'masterpieces' in every room - and details in each room of which are in every other room! The rooms were a good size, and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was limited, but what there was was good. Wine and cheese reception in the evening was pleasant - wine was of a decent quality. And Morro Bay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We couldn't agree more. Morro Bay is a gem of a place and we are so happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Call us direct for the best rate and exact room type your looking for. Regards, Masterpiece Motel More

Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The worst traits of a hotel. Stayed for two nights. No hospitality; lied about room amenities; poor cleanliness; deceived us on rates and room types...they vary a lot; highway noise..proximity to highway not disclosed. We would not go back there...no matter what. We would sleep in the car if necessary!

Was this review helpful? Yes 21
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We are unhappy to know that we did not meet your expectations regarding your stay with us. It is not our policy to be deceptive concerning our in room amenities, room rates or room types. We apologize for any inconvenience or confusion you experienced. Masterpiece Motel More

Been to Masterpiece Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masterpiece Hotel

Also Known As:
El Morro Masterpiece Hotel Morro Bay
El Morro Masterpiece Hotel
El Morro Masterpiece Bay
Address: 1206 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442 (Formerly El Morro Masterpiece Motel)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Masterpiece Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Masterpiece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masterpiece Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.