We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 29 Morro Bay hotels

Masterpiece Hotel

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1206 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442 (Formerly El Morro Masterpiece Motel)
Hotel amenities
Masterpiece Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Masterpiece Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Sally J Manteca, California
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    86
    25
    11
    6
See reviews for
41
99
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (197)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (75)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Noisy rude guests had 4 rooms and hotel couldn't control the chaos. During the day kids ran everywhere and even at the spa they weren't with adults. At night No sleep at all. Rooms had to have damage with all the noise and wall was getting beaten up so much that we could see😳 items in our room shake like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

The management and staff are certainly unhappy to read of your experience. We pride ourselves on giving our guests a restful enjoyable stay. We apologize and wish you pleasant future journeys. Masterpiece Hotel More 

Manteca, California
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
96 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We got our room on a Groupon, checked in and went to check it out.. Terrible!!! Back of the hotel, small dreary room.. I went to the front desk and asked for an upgrade. They gave me an upgrade for a reasonable price. Our second room was great. The wine and cheese and crackers was nice in the evening and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy to know we helped to make your anniversary special. Always call us direct for the best rate and exact room type you'll want. Regards, Masterpiece Hotel More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a long drive down the coast highway we were met with a very warm welcome at the Masterpiece. We received an upgraded room upstairs looking toward the ocean, which was large and comfy and quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed the happy hour wine and cheese, and the included breakfast next morning was also welcome. Plenty of carparks, and the location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and were happy to read of your enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to providing you with another memorable stay on your next visit. Masterpiece Hotel More 

Saratoga, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and were very pleased with the experience. Without even asking we were upgraded free of charge to the Honeymoon Suite, which was really large. It's on the second floor at the end of the hall, overlooking a side street instead of the main parking lot and street, so was very quiet.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Always call us direct for the best rate and exact room type. Happy travels, Masterpiece Hotel More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

I booked a couple nights at this hotel on 11/24/14 and 11/25/14 because I got a good deal on Living Social. Pros: Our room was spacious and clean. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly; nice large hot tub and quaint fitness center. Wine and cheese is offered in the lobby each evening, which was a nice little treat. Good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G. M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback. We purchase towels in a Dauby Beige color, hence that's why they appeared dingy. Maintenance has been notified regarding the balconies on the back side of the building. Regards, Masterpiece Hotel More 

Palmetto, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

This could be a really cool place needs updating would like to see upgraded bathroom. I liked the unique layout of the rooms had nice workout room. Location is close to the waterfront. Staff was ok they did have wine cheese and crackers in evening. We had our own wine so didn't partake in the wine looked like whites and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We always recommend calling us direct to ensure you get the best rate and exact room type your looking for. We hope to hear from you in the future. Regards, Masterpiece Hotel More 

Fresno
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I stayed here on July 4th, after deciding I really didn't feel like driving back home to Fresno. Every single place I tried in the Morro Bay area was booked and I was about to give up when I spotted this charming place. The person that checked me in was very kind and actually went down $10 on the price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We are so happy to read of your pleasant stay with us. We have many repeat guests from your area. Please call us direct for the best rate and the exact room type you'd like. Happy travels, Masterpiece Hotel More 

Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Convenient location. Friendly staff who accomodated my request for a quiet room. Nice to have a hot tub and rec room available though I did not use them. Linens adequate. Bed was comfortable. The problem is that there is no AC in the room. we tried to leave the sliding door open at night for cooler air. This plan failed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. As in much of California it has been exceptionally hot this year. Our apologies for not having air conditioning. We wish you pleasant journeys. Masterpiece Hotel More 

Mission Viejo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

We only did an overnight. The room was nice, the wine and cheese took the edge off our hnger before dinner and breakfast was good. The only problem we had was that it was too warm; theceiling fan could not cool the room down enough to ake sleep comfortable and the road noise made it tough to sleep.... The traffic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback. We recommend always calling us direct for the best rate and exact room type you'd like. Regards, Masterpiece Hotel More 

Grand Coulee, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We stayed here one night for a friend's wedding. The rooms and building are beautiful. Staff was very friendly. Only issues were that the room was so hot we had a really hard time sleeping. Bed was very comfortable though. Also the vanity area wasn't real clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for your feedback. We have notified housekeeping regarding the vanity. We wish you pleasant journeys. Masterpiece Hotel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Masterpiece Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masterpiece Hotel

Address: 1206 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442 (Formerly El Morro Masterpiece Motel)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Masterpiece Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Groupon, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Masterpiece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Morro Masterpiece Hotel Morro Bay
El Morro Masterpiece Bay
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Morro Bay
#3 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
2:16
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay