We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 29 Morro Bay hotels

Villager Motel

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1098 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Villager Motel to your Saves list
Villager Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
15%
Ranked #29 of 29 hotels in Morro Bay
  • Overview
  • Reviews (26)
  • Photos (4)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    9
    3
    10
See reviews for
8
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we checked in, we notified the front desk that we only wanted to say one day out of a two day reservation. We were told that was ok but that we needed to check with Expedia. Then we got to enjoy the night from Hell. People getting in arguments, doors slamming, hearing wheezing and coughing through the walls...all in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Wow, I thought the Dolphin Inn in Cayucos, CA was the worst lodging we've had the misfortune of staying at, but Villager Motel usurped that title! So we decided to go on a day trip to the Central Coast on Memorial Day weekend at a whim (again) and decided at the last minute that we want to stay overnight. Naturally,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
villagermotelmorroba, Webmaster at Villager Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your kind comments about this location and our kind staff. I’m terribly sorry that we did not meet your needs very well. Hundreds of guests are satisfied here every month, and I apologize that it wasn’t possible to satisfy you. We believe we provide clean, comfortable accommodations and take every action possible to make guests feel... More

Middleton, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

There was no mattress pad on the beds. This made the bed very uncomfortable. The walls are very thin. We listened to someone snore all night long. We also heard the next door people sitting out side in the hallway talking and smoking cigars. We called the front desk and they did address this problem immediately. They also did a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
villagermotelmorroba, Webmaster at Villager Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback. I’m sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that actions by other guests detracted from your stay. While we can’t do much about guests who are behaving legally, I understand how frustrating this can be. Many people are satisfied with the rooms we provide and our beds, but I apologize... More

Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at the Villager in Oct 2013, the staff were friendly enough, the room was big but dated, slight musty smell but you are not paying 5* prices so what do ypu expect. It is a 5 min walk to the seafront, the bed was fine minimal breakfast but we were only staying overnight and went onto Carmel where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Morro Bay, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The room was nice and large and very clean. Parking was right in front of the room and we had no problem parking our one ton ford truck. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. David & April Blessed in Texas

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Thank god we were only in morro bay for one night. This place is an absolute dump. After waking up from a nap, all of our backs hurt like hell because the mattresses are hard as rocks and the "bed frame" is just wooden planks on the bottom supporting it. The "continental breakfast" was cereal with a plastic wrapped cheese... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
villagermotelmorroba, Webmaster at Villager Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback. You can be sure that we’ve made significant improvements at this property since this stay, but I’m terribly sorry that we did not meet your needs. I hope this didn’t impact your trip to much. We get a lot of positive feedback, but I understand if we weren’t right for you. I again sincerely... More

Quebec
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This place is just another motel with only clean sheets. First time in Morro Bay, probably the next time, we'll drive to San Luis O. The rooms are from another century, like back in the 60s, and I'm not exagerating. The only thing is that they haven't been cleaned much since. If your expectations are low, then you should be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
villagermotelmorroba, Webmaster at Villager Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that you received below average service and were not satisfied with the quality of your accommodations and amenities. We have made significant changes since the time of your stay, but I sincerely apologize that we failed to meet your expectations in this case. I hope you will try us again and see... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here a couple times only because all the other hotels were booked. The only thing I like about these rooms is how big they are. Other than that..... DUMP! This place is in a serious need of upgrades. It's like your stuck in the 70's in these rooms. The linens were ugly and funky, the pillows were breaking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
villagermotelmorroba, Webmaster at Villager Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I’m sorry that we failed to meet your expectations during your stay with us. You can be sure that many aspects of this hotel have improved since your stay. I apologize sincerely that we were not at our best when you stayed with us and hope you will give us another chance. We focus on continuous improvement and... More

San Jose, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We checked in to a room that I'm sure some cat had pissed behind the door. One of the beds had some brown stains on the sheets. Mold in the shower and the fridge didn't work. No heat in the room. One more thing.. they will not clean your room or give clean towels unless you give them permission.. What... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
villagermotelmorroba, Webmaster at Villager Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. While we satisfy hundreds of guests every month, I’m terribly sorry that our comfortable and clean rooms didn’t satisfy you. Perhaps we weren’t at our best at the time of your stay. We have improved significantly recently. In any case, I sincerely apologize and hope you will try us again to see how we’re... More

Fontana, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were warned by previous reviews to NOT go here. They said the water was brown...so, we brought our own drinking water. That being said, we did not drink the water, BUT...it WAS NOT BROWN.....but...it really is a nicer place, nice location, nice looking, but....they do charge for ice (25 cents...why?) They do have a limited supply for the advertised... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
villagermotelmorroba, Webmaster at Villager Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your kind comments. I’m glad we met your needs and that you stayed here despite malicious comments by others. We provide clean, comfortable rooms at great rates. Our plumbing system has been improved since your stay, so that should not be a problem if you choose to return. I sincerely apologize that a single issue detracted... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Villager Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Villager Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villager Motel

Address: 1098 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Villager Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Villager Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villager Hotel Morro Bay

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Morro Bay with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
22

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Villager Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer