We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Serena Inn

GreenLeadersSilver level
990 Morro Avenue, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Serena Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
La Serena Inn
La Serena Inn
La Serena Inn
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    93
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
51
107
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (209)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Beaumont, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I really enjoyed my stay. The hotel was clean/well kept, the room was very spacious, as well as the hallway. Rarely did I hear another guest. The breakfast was perfect to start the day. Loved the fact that parking was included. Wifi was very good as well - easy to connect to and excellent signal strength. I did search on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the awesome review. We are happy to know of your excellent stay with us. And yes we always recommend calling us direct like you did for the best rate and exact room type you want. We look forward to seeing you soon. Happy travels, La Serena Inn More 

Lake Arrowhead
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This great hotel and staff helped make our 3-day vacation stay memorable and enjoyable. Excellent location--just a short walk to the harbor. Our room had a full view of the "rock", the majestic volcanic plug that makes Morrow Bay the "Gibraltar of the Pacific". Good breakfast in the 3rd floor dining room, e.g. waffles, eggs, cereal etc. We were new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for the lovely review. It would be our pleasure to once again provide you with another wonderful stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Be sure to call us direct for the best rate and exact room type you'd like for your next stay. Regards, La Serena Inn More 

Santa Maria, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided on a Thursday to get away for the weekend and my wife suggested Morro Bay. I looked on line and saw that the prices were pretty high all over town, but I had already promised my wife so... La Serena was booked. We got a 3rd floor southern corner suite and it was perfect. The reason for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review

We love to hear from our repeat guests. Thank you for the awesome review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, La Serena Inn More 

Venice
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent location, free parking, well-kept and recently upgraded furniture and electronics. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Decent wi-fi, excellent cable pkg, good free morning breakfast, and the package store nearby has a deli and short-order counter with a cook that makes great burgers. A winner, three blocks from the Embarcadero shopping/restaurant at the water's edge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Happy Travels, La Serena Inn More 

Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked this on a special price through Amazon Prime. Glad we got a reduced rate because in my opinion this older place needs some upgrades especially sound proofing. Couldn't figure if it was above, below or in the next room but heard people talking for about an hour after they got back to their room. Fortunately they packed it in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the noise and for your stay being less than what you had expected. We wish you pleasant future journeys. Regards, La Serena Inn More 

Sparks, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Easy walk to the waterfront. Sometimes a little less easy to return, uphill to the hotel. Very clean, comfortable rooms. Quiet location. Very friendly staff. Would definitely recommend it to friends. Can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay. Call us direct for the best rate and exact room type you'd like on your next visit. Regards, La Serena Inn More 

Orange County, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

The hotel people were very friendly and helpful. The room was wonderful. Super clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was very clean and modern. I really liked the bathtub as it was new and very clean. We were there for two nights, on a weekday. Very quiet and nice. The free breakfast could have been a little better by adding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy you chose us as the place to celebrate your anniversary. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We look forward to seeing you next year for your #16. Regards, La Serena Inn More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

My husband and I needed to “get away from it all” So we decided to go to Morro Bay for the weekend and stayed at the La Serena Inn. The Front Desk Service was excellent. The room was very clean and warm. Leticia, the young lady who ran the breakfast room was friendly and wow did she ever do a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be our pleasure to once again provide you with another wonderful stay. Call us direct for the best rate and exact room type you'd like. Regards, La Serena Inn More 

Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

I've stayed at this hotel numerous times and always enjoy coming back. This time, in the off-season, I was expecting to get a much better rate. Instead, it was more expensive. We had a balcony on the side of the hotel with a view of the bay, which we had requested. Wrong time of year to try to enjoy the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. We recommend calling us direct for the best rate and exact room type your looking for. Regards, La Serena Inn More 

Folsom, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

It is extremely rare that I would leave a scathing review about a business. Our overall stay at La Serena inn was okay. The room was good sized and had a balcony. The breakfast room was nice but the breakfast was mediocre. I never complain about a free breakfast because I am not expecting much, but they could really do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review

The La Serena Inn apologizes for not meeting your expectations. Our breakfast selection is something we continually work on improving. We are investigating the issues you had with the WIFI. We pride ourselves on superior guest service and we will be looking into the reason your calls were not answered. Nevertheless we wish you happy future trips. Regards, La Serena... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities