We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Stevenson Monterey

#20 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Stevenson Monterey
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

394 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    98
    151
    103
    25
    17
See reviews for
104
162
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (394)
  • Mar-May only
    (90)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (163)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (104)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a weekend with my wife and another couple. The room was very clean and nice which came with a refrigerator. The staff is very accommodating especially Julianna she made our trip fun and gave great recommendations. The hotel is a great location very close to downtown. plus free breakfast which is always a plus

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for the 5 star review. You liked our clean room with a refrigerator and our accommodating and fun staff. You loved our location and free continental breakfast too. We hope you and your friends will visit us again soon. More 

Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights, it was fantastically located just off the Main Street of Monterey, a short walk to the fishermans wharf and a reasonable walk to the cannary area, the rooms where clean and very modern, staff were all very friendly and the location couldn't have been better, a very good hotel made better by the price

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review and staying 2 nights. You really appreciated our location and the clean, modern rooms with friendly staff. We will see you again on your next visit to Monterey. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room was very clean. Juliana was very nice and understanding with a situation I had, very welcoming when I had to check in early. The staff was pleasant over all! The location was lovely! 10 minute walk from Fisherman Wharf! and it was overall a pleasant experience. - Van N.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for a very nice 5 star review. We appreciate your input and observations. You liked our staff and accommodations and location. Ww look forward to your return visit. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Family trip of 5 people (3 kids). We should have an additional bed which did not exist at all - solution provided at the check-in : sleep on the floor ! Very expensive. Poor breakfast. Dirty room and bathroom. Only interest : near from Monterey center and aquarium

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologize that you did not have our normal guest experience. Sometimes rollaway beds are unavailable due to our limited inventory. Please try our air conditioned rooms and our newly renovated rooms again. We do have a great location. More 

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spotless, great amenities, sat TV , comfy beds :). Nice modern bathroom/shower. fuel station next door comes in handy for out of town travel. Everything you need in this beautiful place. Near all attractions. Eg fishermans wharf. Extremely friendly staff. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely 5 star Review. We appreciate you found us spotless with great amenities and comfy beds. You liked our new bathroom showers and our location and friendly staff. Please come again. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel located at the beginig of the main street in Monterey, 10 min' walk from the fisherman wharf. The stuff was very friendly and nice, very comfortable room. Good bed, mini-bar and lcd t.v. the breakfast was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your 4 star review. You liked our very friendly staff and the nice, very comfortable room. You also liked the bed and breakfast. Please visit us again soon! More 

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Near a gas station. Too loud! So expensive for the service they offered and the prices are not clear. The old receptionist has also treated us so badly. I won't come back! They enchant you with cabaret skits and then at the end you have to pay more!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry we did not meet your expectations. We have a 24 hour front desk, free Wi-Fi, continental breakfast and parking. We renovated most rooms with all new bathrooms and carpeting. Thank you for visiting scenic Monterey. More 

meaganl78
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were staying there one night on our way through to San Fran. Staff were quick to respond to an additional request for a rollaway bed for our daughter. Room was small for three people (two adults anda child) but workable. Had airconditioning which I felt was needed int he area *but others may disagree). The carpark did not have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank for your review. You gave 4 stars to our cleanliness, location and service. We have newly renovated rooms. Try the rooms with two queen beds next time as they are considered quite spacious. See you on your next visit to scenic Monterey. More 

Laveno-Mombello, Italia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found the hotel ok, we had a room on the second floor facing the gas station but we did not experience any noise, the room was well kept and clean. We parked conveniently in the underground garage but there is no space for evryone, so if you arrive late the only choice is to leave the car on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review The Stevenson Monterey. You did not experience any noise and found the room clean and well kept. You also had convenient parking in the garage. Please feel welcome to visit scenic Monterey and us again soon. More 

Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

...but it was great! I can highly recommend the Stevenson! :) The rooms are clean and nice, the motel has a nice pool and breakfast (included) was also good. It does not take long to go to the harbor where we saw seals!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for a fine 4 Star Review. You stayed one night and found the rooms clean and nice with a pool you liked and a good breakfast. You liked being walking distance to the harbor where you saw and heard the seals. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
#27 of 54 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#24 of 54 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#30 of 54 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#36 of 54 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#5 of 54 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay