We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

#13 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940
Special Offer
AAA Offer - Up to 5% Off
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Add Photo Write a Review

810 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    272
    343
    128
    49
    18
See reviews for
266
270
41
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (810)
  • Mar-May only
    (193)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (263)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (209)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (145)
All months
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Two of my girlfriends and I stayed over memorial day weekend 2015. The room was clean, and the housekeepers did a great job accommodating us. My only complaints are the fact that they use Kurig coffee makers in the room and the hallways were a little noisy. They had Starbucks coffee in the lobby (ok), but I'd rather drink folgers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tulare, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Last minute side trip. Just dropped daughter off at the San Francisco airport and was driving back to the central valley when husband asked if I wanted to stay a night in Monterey. Have stayed at this location before and was excited to go back. Our anniversary was 3 days earlier and we didnt have the opportunity to do anything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for celebrating your 23rd anniversary with us...especially as a spontaneous trip and celebration. I will praise Rahmod and Elizabeth for their exceptional service and appreciate you mentioning them by name, both are excellent staff members here! We appreciate the time you took to post this 5 star review and look forward to your return again soon! More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is not a standard HGI. Not sure what it was before. The rooms are not as nice. Charging for parking is unnecessary, since the hotel is not in an urban, congested area. The staff is the normal, friendly, well trained Hilton staff. The surprise at this location was the restaurant. Dinner was very good and reasonably priced. The Bloody... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review

Thanks for your compliments about our restaurant food for dinner and for breakfast, I will let our Culinary Team know you enjoyed the food and the Bloody Mary's! Thanks for also praising our front desk team and I will share your comments with them as well. This hotel has been converted to a Hilton Garden Inn from a full service... More 

Monterey, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

$14 for parking per night is outrageous plus paying $17.90 and $22.90 occupancy tax and county tourist assessment of $2.98 is not right. And breakfast is another $12.00. I did like it that we were upgraded to a suite. Problem was it was noisy next to a major highway. Windows should be double pane for soundproofing.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your 5 star review even though you were not pleased with the parking fees and taxes. So good to hear that you were upgraded to a suite, and I will pass along to the owners that in the next renovation they should upgrade one level of soundproofing for our windows. Thanks for posting a review on... More 

Clare, Illinois
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice friendly staff. Rooms were OK. Lobby is nice and there is a restaurant nearby. Have to pay for parking but that is understandable as there is limited parking. Not sure what a boor of a bar is but this was a quaint well stocked bar

Was this review helpful? Yes
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your "Nice hotel away from downtown" 4 star review! Good to hear that our bar was quaint and not boorish! And that liked our nice friendly staff. If your travels bring you back to Monterey from Illinois we invite you to stay with us again! More 

Montery, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is old and run down. Not worth the $ they charge. The bed was as hard as a rock. There was a musty smell throughout the entire building. And dont forget the $22.00 a night to park there. Would not ever stay here again......so disappointed in Hilton for this place.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor, but I'm not sure that your comments are about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey. We do have a parking charge, but it is $14, not $22. I also walk the corridors of the hotel every day I work and there is not a musty smell throughout the entire building. If... More 

Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Reasons for review: The bar is a little affair in the back of the lobby and a complete boor. They charge you 14.00 A DAY for parking. You can hear everyone in the hallways to include the doors that slam shut every time you let go because there is no device to slow them closing. The room...is *meh*. For a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for describing your experience at Hilton Garden Inn. We are sad that staying with us did not provide you with a better guest experience and meet your expectations. When you travel for business or pleasure you want your hotel of choice to make you feel like you are at home, and you are comfortable. Although you were not... More 

Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband took Ill and was hospitalised for five days. We were on a coach tour so after staying elsewhere in a shabby little motel (hastily booked and all That was available at the time)) my husband need to be somewhere comfortable, good old trip advisor came to the rescue. After the positive reviews the kind social worker assigned to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review

Thanks for your 5 star review and story about how well the hotel staff accommodated your husband who had taken ill while on vacation. It is good to hear that our efforts paid off since your stress level must have been sky high having an ill husband and being in a foreign country! We pray your husband has fully recovered... More 

Sacramento, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The convention facilities were good for a group of 100 or so. The convention rate was good for the Monterey area. The food for room service was good and good for the value. The facilities were ok for persons on wheelchairs. Plenty of bathrooms for attendees.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Hilton Garden Inn during your convention and for your 4 star review! Great feedback that the facility was OK for a person in a wheelchair. I'll let the chef know the room service food and value were good. Thanks for taking the time to post this review! More 

Poway, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent service, free coffee in the Lobby, cookies in the evening, nicely appointed room(classically Hilton) and super comfy bed. Excellent Pool for laps, great fitness center. Restaurant service and food was so good we went for breakfast as well as dinner. The front desk staff is very knowledgeable about the area, provides maps, and you can print out Aquarium tickets... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your 5 star review and praise of our hotel...as well as your loyalty to Hilton Hotels! We appreciate all the kind comments, especially about both the restaurant food/service as well as the service you received at the front desk. We have a lot of guest stay with us that visit the Monterey Bay Aquarium and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

450 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (104)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
2:14
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (300)
Viewed
Amenities (61)
Viewed
Double Queen Room with Pool View (30)
Viewed
Junior Suite (44)
Viewed
King Room with Pool View (45)
Viewed
Pool (43)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay