We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Quinta Inn Monterey

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2401 Del Monte Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Monterey
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
La Quinta Inn Monterey
Add Photo

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    113
    135
    60
    11
    15
See reviews for
133
116
20
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (334)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (130)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (91)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Pinehurst
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here because close to family..nice..only problem they are still remodeling..we had a newer room..very nice..noise didn't bother us..front office gal very helpful..answered a few location questions we had..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My room was very roomy. King size bed, and lots of room. The hotel was undergoing renovations, so many rooms on my floor were not open; I clearly had a freshly renovated room. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are wanting a nice hotel without breaking the bank! The clerk at the front counter when I checked in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, and found our newly remodeled room to your liking! Thanks for the great review, and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in the area! More 

Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The updated room at La Quinta Monterey is pleasant enough but by no means upscale. It is still feels like a budget hotel/motel with very limited service. It is a good place to stay if you only looking for comfortable bed in a roomy clean room. Look elsewhere if you want a fancier hotel for your vacation. The location is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our property! I'm glad that you enjoyed your room. While we will always be a focused service hotel, as our property is further renovated we will be adding exciting new features such as a new breakfast area, a media room, and a fitness center! It's true that we are about two miles away... More 

Fairfield, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Nice hotel. Staff very friendly. Upgrades going on to the property but it was not too disturbing. You might not want to plan to sleep in too late though. The room was clean, comfortable, and renovated. There is a bike/walk path that goes all the way to the wharf and down to cannery row. We walked to dinner in the... More 

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! You're correct that we are upgrading our property as part of a complete renovation, and I'm happy that you were not inconvenienced by the remodel process. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of the Monterey Coastal Recreation Trail -- it's really quite amazing and goes all the way down past Cannery Row! Thanks... More 

honolulu, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Usually try to stay at LaQuinta when traveling and most are pretty good. This one was right next to the highway with all the noise and the thermostat was not working properly so room was pretty cold all night. It was too late at night and needed to get some rest for the next day so did not call the... More 

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review

I'm so sorry that your stay at our property was not what you were expecting. We are currently undergoing a complete renovation that will feature fully updated amenities and room features. I hope that we have the opportunity to have you with us again once our renovations are complete! More 

Tinley Park, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

My husband and I booked our room about a month out. I was aware the hotel was being remodeled but we were only staying one night so I wasn't worried. We checked in at 1:30 and were informed there was no water at the hotel and that it would be on by 3. We dropped our bags off at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review

I am so sorry for the inconvenience that our renovations caused during your recent visit to our property. It is true that our initial estimate of when water would be available for guest use was insufficient and had to be extended, and I apologize for this delay. In consideration of your plans and your understandable frustration, we agreed that you... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Great hotel if you don't travel with dogs. Great bike path and park with a lake close by. Your are not able to walk to ocean from the hotel due to highway 101 but it's a very short drive to beach. Rooms are great. Very roomy.

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review

I'm so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! For your next visit, if you just take the bike path (the Monterey Peninsula Recreational Trail) to the north, you will find yourself at Monterey State Beach in just a few minutes! We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I always try to stay at a La Quinta because the rooms are always nice and they allow pets for free. this la quinta is in the middle of a renovation, so looked quite shabby on the exterior and in the lobby area,,but the rooms remained at the same quality as all other La Quinta's and the staff was cordial... More 

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our property! I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found our rooms and staff to your liking. While most La Quinta Inns do allow pets, our property unfortunately does not due to our proximity to multiple wildlife preserves. I apologize if our hallways look out of sorts... More 

Sonoma County, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Room smelled , hairs in the tub , stains on carpet , not clean , currently remodeling , breakfast not good . Every aspect of the "hotel " was worn and beat . In the same class as a motel 6 . Almost checked out early . Staff was friendly . Would not go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review

While I'm glad that you enjoyed our excellent staff, I'm sorry that you were disappointed by our property's appearance. I'm surprised to hear about your housekeeping issues, as we know our housekeepers to do excellent work, but I apologize if this was not your experience. It is true that we are currently undergoing a complete renovation, but upon its completion... More 

Monterey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

We had a pleasant stay even though there was some remodeling being done. Not sure we would have stayed had we known but staff was pleasant and helpful; enjoyed the complimentary breakfast; room were clean and enjoyable. Will stay again.

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are very excited about the completion of our renovations! You can expect the same great staff, even better rooms, and even an updated complimentary breakfast! Thanks for the great review, and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay