We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Quinta Inn Monterey

#25 of 53 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
2401 Del Monte Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Monterey
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
La Quinta Inn Monterey
Review This Hotel

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    133
    57
    11
    15
See reviews for
133
114
19
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (328)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (130)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (91)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Tinley Park, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I booked our room about a month out. I was aware the hotel was being remodeled but we were only staying one night so I wasn't worried. We checked in at 1:30 and were informed there was no water at the hotel and that it would be on by 3. We dropped our bags off at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review

I am so sorry for the inconvenience that our renovations caused during your recent visit to our property. It is true that our initial estimate of when water would be available for guest use was insufficient and had to be extended, and I apologize for this delay. In consideration of your plans and your understandable frustration, we agreed that you... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel if you don't travel with dogs. Great bike path and park with a lake close by. Your are not able to walk to ocean from the hotel due to highway 101 but it's a very short drive to beach. Rooms are great. Very roomy.

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review

I'm so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! For your next visit, if you just take the bike path (the Monterey Peninsula Recreational Trail) to the north, you will find yourself at Monterey State Beach in just a few minutes! We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I always try to stay at a La Quinta because the rooms are always nice and they allow pets for free. this la quinta is in the middle of a renovation, so looked quite shabby on the exterior and in the lobby area,,but the rooms remained at the same quality as all other La Quinta's and the staff was cordial... More 

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our property! I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found our rooms and staff to your liking. While most La Quinta Inns do allow pets, our property unfortunately does not due to our proximity to multiple wildlife preserves. I apologize if our hallways look out of sorts... More 

Sonoma County, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Room smelled , hairs in the tub , stains on carpet , not clean , currently remodeling , breakfast not good . Every aspect of the "hotel " was worn and beat . In the same class as a motel 6 . Almost checked out early . Staff was friendly . Would not go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review

While I'm glad that you enjoyed our excellent staff, I'm sorry that you were disappointed by our property's appearance. I'm surprised to hear about your housekeeping issues, as we know our housekeepers to do excellent work, but I apologize if this was not your experience. It is true that we are currently undergoing a complete renovation, but upon its completion... More 

Monterey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

We had a pleasant stay even though there was some remodeling being done. Not sure we would have stayed had we known but staff was pleasant and helpful; enjoyed the complimentary breakfast; room were clean and enjoyable. Will stay again.

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are very excited about the completion of our renovations! You can expect the same great staff, even better rooms, and even an updated complimentary breakfast! Thanks for the great review, and we hope to see you again soon! More 

California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

This location is a pet-free building. But even if it wasn't, dogs cannot be allowed in an area with food. A guy staying at the hotel walked through the breakfast room (where we were eating) with two large dogs (not guide dogs), and on his way to the elevator. One dog came up and sniffed around my table. The desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review

I am so sorry that there were pets present in our building during your stay. While we do allow service animals due to ADA regulations, we are indeed not a pet-friendly property. It is true that some people are untruthful about the nature of their dogs, claiming they are service animals. We have also had a few incidents in the... More 

Concord
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

a bit aged but clean, breakfast just ok, good value as it's walking distance ( aprox. 2.5 mi.) to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and a bit more to Cannery Row, (aprox.2 mi) to Fishermans Wharf. we'd stay again.

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review

I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! I'm happy to inform you that we are currently undergoing renovations that will update our entire property, including our breakfast offerings. Thanks for taking the time to review our property, and I hope we have the opportunity to have you with us again soon! More 

Atascadero, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Not bad for the price in this pricey area. Older hotel, remodeling in the works. Current rooms okay, but need updating. Good central location for Monterey. Breakfast not so great, not many choices and no attendant available for assistance. Did the job for a quick overnight, not sure if I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review

I hope that we do have the opportunity to have you with us again, as we are in the midst of an exciting property update which will not only make our property the best that it can be, but will greatly improve our level of breakfast service, selection, and quality, as well! More 

United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Everything was fine except the noise from a nearby highway was exceptionally loud. We went out and bought ear plugs for our 2nd nights stay... Everything else was up to par for La Quinta. We will not stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review

I'm sorry that your recent stay was a disappointing one. We are currently undergoing a renovation which will include the replacement of our windows with ones that are better able to cancel the road noise you experienced. I hope that we have the opportunity to have you with us again in the future once our renovations are complete. More 

Modesto, California, USA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

Very old and outdated hotel, must be circa 1980's. Don't get a room that is on the freeway side as the noise from the freeway is excessive due to old windows that don't help block out noise. Room was clean which was a plus but just a very tired and outdated hotel. For $100 a night during the off season... More 

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
JasonSantaCruz, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn Monterey, responded to this review

While I'm unsure why your reward points would not be accepted by La Quinta's booking site, I'm sorry that this was an issue during your stay. I also apologize that you experienced road noise as during your stay. I am happy to inform you that we are currently undergoing renovations that will include the replacement of these windows with the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question