We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Super 8 Monterey

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2120 N. Fremont St., Monterey, CA 93940
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Super 8 Monterey
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Sean D Abadiania, Go Brazil
Add Photo Write a Review

515 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    178
    218
    88
    19
    12
See reviews for
119
238
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (515)
  • Mar-May only
    (141)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (163)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (142)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Brisbane
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelling up Hwy 1, we had left Morro Bay and arrived in Monterey. Our GPS could not find Super 8 Motel due to street name N.Fremont St. we were in luck as a local couple came by and gave us directions.Reception was very helpful and in no time we were in our room which was clean and quiet. Denny's was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochester, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay. Simple and clean facility. The couple who manage it are hospitable, friendly and so helpful and flexible. Breakfast was basic, and they accommodated any requests. Easy to get to sights like Point Lobos, Cannery Row, etc. Good recommendations for dinners.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
pdrocean
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for one night when traveling the Pacific Coast Highway. I was looking for a cheap hotel for overnight in a convenient location and this fit the bill. It’s not a hotel for long term stay but for an overnight or two it ok. No frills or extra but only a few mile from the Aquarium. If you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. We located about 3 1/2 miles away from the Monterey Bay Aquarium, so just a short drive away. Thank you again and look forward to seeing you again. More 

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here as a stop over whilst driving from San Fran to LA. It was a perfect place to stop and many food places close by, we tryed the Monterey cookhouse just opposite which I would certainly recommend. As for staying for a long period of time it is very basic. Overall, it was clean the staff were friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you had a perfect overnight stay and enjoyed one of several restaurants that are within walking distance. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The people at the front desk were friendly. This hotel was located in a good part of town convenient to everything. The bed was more comfortable than I expected. I must say the wi-fi connection was horrible. We just used the room to shower and sleep so it was fine for what we needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you found the bed comfortable and your stay was overall okay. We apologize for the issues you experienced with the wireless internet. We have contacted the company that provides the wireless internet to investigate why you were experiencing issues. We have a toll free number for the... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is probably the most run-down motel I stayed in during this trip. Next time I will spend the extra dollars and sleep somewhere a bit nicer. The bathroom needs replacing as it is stained in more ways than one can imagine. The carpet is so thin and lumpy from age I could feel the floorboards underneath. I literally spent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We apologize that our property fell short of your expectations. Your feedback is extremely important for us when we are evaluating future improvements. We have addressed your concerns with our staff. Thank you again and please feel welcomed at our property anytime. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently had two nights stay and found room was clean and fresh, reasonable size but not large. Wifi was very poor at best and nowhere near the required standard. Breakfast area provided only two small tables and five chairs to service all motel guests and basic breakfast only provided.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad you found our rooms clean and fresh. We apologize you experienced an issue with the wireless internet and we have contacted the Super 8 approved vendor to investigate why there was an issue. We also appreciate your feedback on how we can improve our breakfast. Thank you again... More 

Fresno, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Memorial weekend, last minute stay. Not only were they willing to work with us but after explaining our plans and budget gave us an even better deal! Parking was tight. But fairly lit and I felt safe. There was a music festival going on in the area behind the room and management was diligent in making sure there was no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear our staff was able to accommodate you during your stay. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay