We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colton Inn

707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel amenities
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colton Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Colton Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    135
    145
    68
    20
    15
See reviews for
104
158
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (383)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (124)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (105)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Livermore, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I booked a night here with our 2 kids. I chose the place because the reviews, location and cost. It was older and less costly then others so I did not to expect a lot, but I certainly did not expect what happened. Our room had 2 queens, was old/outdated and not super clean, but it would serve it's purpose.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 2 nights in a King room with fireplace over Memorial Day weekend. The room had a heater, but I saw no air conditioner which could be a problem in warmer weather. Staff was very helpful with information about local sites and eateries. Free internet and parking. Breakfast was pastries and fruit. Booked online.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelling up the coast we stopped in Monterey and got this place through Tourist Information. We had a great welcome from Helen, what a lovely knowledgeable lady, gave great tips for eating out etc. Lovely room with a fireplace(we used it too as it was COLD outside). Breakfast included which is a bonus and also free parking. No hesitation in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pierce L, General Manager at Colton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your recent stay. I am glad that you found us through the Visitor's center and that our Front Desk was so helpful. Please choose us again for your next visit to Monterey! More 

Classic City, GA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Colton Inn was very comfortable, clean and seemed to be well managed. We were traveling as a family of 5 and were thrilled to find that they had a room with 3 Queen beds. Continental breakfast was standard and more than adequate. Check out the sauna.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pierce L, General Manager at Colton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments and tips for other travelers! We are so grateful that you chose us for your stay in Monterey! More 

Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I was hesitant since it's rated as a 2 stars (never been in a 2 stars "motel"...) My husband had read the great reviews on TA and the price was right so we decided to try the Colton Inn. We were not disappointed at all. Very well located (about 10 min walk to fishermen's wharf and near some restaurants and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Pierce L, General Manager at Colton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent stay. We are proud that you chose us for your trip. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Stayed here on our trip down the PCH...ended up staying for 2 nights as we loved Monterey...We were directed here by the local tourist Information as we were struggling to find a place to stay...it was ideal for us...very resonably priced...lovely and clean and staff were extremely helpful and friendly...it is a 5/10 minute walk from there to beachfront which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pierce L, General Manager at Colton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your recent stay and lovely comments. We are glad we met your expectations and we do hope you will be visiting us on your next Monterey vacation! More 

San Francisco
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

This hotel needs a remodel. Things are worn out, the mattress wrecked my back.the closet door had been removed and not replaced. They offer a minimal continental breakfast with no place to eat it. The worst part was the noise level. They cannot help the leaf blower or the trucks, but some insulation and double pane windows would surely help.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

A nice hotel... room was clean and recently updated. It was a cool night and the room space heater was a welcome addition. Nice staff, very helpful, good location. I didn't take advantage of the free breakfast... choices were a bit limited. But overall, very nice and a good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pierce L, General Manager at Colton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your stay! We look forward to your next visit to Monterey. More 

Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

The person who took the reservation information from our booking missed that we had requested a rollaway xtra bed; that SNAFU cost about 5 mins and they fixed things up. Very nice staff. Even though the hotel was about fully booked, it was a quiet evening. The room was very nice, with an excellent bath. Out in back is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pierce L, General Manager at Colton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your recent stay! It's great you noticed our peaceful little creek area out back, it can be very calming and serene..... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Stayed here on one of the hottest nights ever. No rooms with AC were available. Our room was hotter than the outdoors since the blinds were open all day and the windows closed....it was literally like a sauna. The ceiling fan was not centred in the room, but in the corner...???...doesn't even make sense. The clerk at the front wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay