We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

#40 of 54 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
1150 Munras Avenue, Landmark Elevated Viewing Location Monterey Bay, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Cypress Gardens Inn)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
Add Photo Write a Review

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    44
    68
    34
    20
    12
See reviews for
40
70
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (178)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Elk Grove, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked the room through booking.com for our anniversary. Check in was very easy and the manager couple was very lovely and helpful. When we informed them about our anniversary, they upgrade our room without any extra charge and brought bouquet and candy for us. Very nice and professional touch. Very nice location, clean room with comfy king bed. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice big room with 2 Queen bed. Very clean and comfortable. Nice big pool, hot tub and balcony facing garden. Very friendly, professional and accommodating staff. We requested to early check-in and they allowed us. Wi-Fi worked well.They served good breakfast with waffles, eggs,cereal, fruit etc.They were reluctant to take cash and preferred debit or credit card, may be security... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Only stayed in this hotel for one night, on a budget, passing through Monterey. Location wise, good. And cheap. The rooms, however, are dated, and didn't feel overly clean. The door to the balcony was locked using a homemade device which didn't feel secure. The walls were paper thin and resulted in a very poor sleep overall, mainly because of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good quite,price is always good..breakfast waffles,fruit,Orange juice,coffee,cereals muffins..pretty decent..large slidding window to open to get fresh air three out the day or evening..front desk is alway kind :-)!We will stay again...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Santa Monica, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The owners of this property are very nice. I wish they would make their place nicer. It needs a major overhaul. The property and the room was shabby and depressing. Dismal lighting, awful, pilled blankets, dried paint splattered in bathroom, as if Jackson Pollock had taken a side job, the wall heater didn't heat the room sufficiently at all, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review

Dear Cathy, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an... More 

Pahrump
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this hotel for its amenities, location and price. Monterey, California has high room rates especially during the car races at Laguna Seca. We booked three nights, Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Saturday they did not provide washcloths. Their excuse was the laundry service did not bring any. This is very poor management. Why didn't they check in the delivery... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review

Dear Linda, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an... More 

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

As many travellers do these days before setting down suitcases we checked the beds for unfriendly friends -- luckly we only found unwashed mattress covers. Sheets could be replaced as they were very thin, carpets are nasty but for the amount of time we spent in the room it did the job. Glad the pool wasn't open because there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review

Dear Melanie, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an... More 

Abruzzo
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We had a lovely experience here! An inexpensive hotel with a lot to offer! B'fast wasn't up to much - but we hadn't paid much either ! Room was lovely (a little noise - but fine!) Staff were attentive! We eat just over the road in a Californian Pizza Kitchen! 5mins on foot! A most wonderful pizza! A lovely pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Stayed here for three days with my wife in April 2015 and I have to say that I really enjoyed the place. Had a room on the pool deck and took advantage of it as did many others. Hot tub was not hot enough. Liability. Staff was very good as ware the linens and breakfast buffet. No A/C so do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015 via mobile

I would give this place four stars simply for the outdoor pool and hot tub. My boyfriend and I enjoyed these two things after a long trip down the coast of California. The pool is 10ft deep on one end which is a definite plus! The rooms are outdated and there was hair on the ceiling of the bathroom and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review

Dear Ikrant, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay