We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Monte Rio hotels

Northwood Lodge & Resort

19455 Highway 116, Monte Rio, CA 95462
Hotel amenities
  • Reviews (21)
  • Photos (8)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Northwood Lodge & Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Monte Rio
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monte Rio
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sac
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a round of golf at what other reviewers have accurately described as the exceptional golf course next door on a warm afternoon I was looking forward to a dip in the large pool which is also accurately described as being in a nice setting. I noticed what I thought was a lot of dirt on the bottom of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I loved this place. Northwood Golf Course is one of our favorite places to play golf among the giant red wood trees. We had a nice room with a private deck attached. Good place to sit and relax after golf with a glass of wine. Our deck had a great view of the beautiful redwood trees.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NorthwoodLodge, Manager at Northwood Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay at our resort, and we hope to see you again in the near future. More

Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a double queen bedroom over Labor Day week end. Positive: -Room was clean (except carpet), beds were comfortable, bedding was of good quality - swimming pool is nice, especially at the end of the day after hiking or a day of canoe on the river - nice breakfast place located near the hotel - Northwood golf course in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NorthwoodLodge, General Manager at Northwood Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate that you took the time to write an in-depth review. Labor Day weekend is one our busiest weekends of the year. For our guests' convenience, we usually wait until our 11AM check-out time or until most of out guests have checked-out to begin removing trash, since our pool area is adjacent to our... More

Benicia, Ca
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
77 hotel reviews
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Northwood Lodge is located in a nice setting, It's not nestled in the redwoods but it is surrounded by redwood forests. The flower gardens in the front & on the side of the hotel as well as in the pool area are very pretty. The pool area is nice. We didn't used the pool so I don't know how... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NorthwoodLodge, General Manager at Northwood Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your thorough review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our lodge and appreciate feedback about your experience. This year, we made considerable upgrades to all of our rooms, and we are glad you were able to take notice of and enjoy them. For future reference, we do not expect guests to pay for ice. We... More

Kamloops, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for the three nights leading up to the Vineman triathlon on a recommendation of a local triathlete. He was from San Fran and we are from BC Canada. What a mistake. Three nights of crappy sleep due to noisy neighbors and paper thin walls. The room we were in could be considered 70's retro but clean. Would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NorthwoodLodge, General Manager at Northwood Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologize that your stay at our lodge was not pleasant due to the noise issue. We understand that you should not have to bare such inconvenience, and we do our best to control noise problems for the convenience of our guests. Unfortunately, our staff was not made aware that you were experiencing a noise... More

Chicago Suburbs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I found this to be a clean and reasonably comfortable room in a pleasant setting surrounded by forest. While acceptable, the facilities here are very basic and the rooms are small. The building is an aging motel that probably saw its hey-day somewhere closer to the 1960s than the 2010s. You'll got a decent night's sleep in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NorthwoodLodge, Manager at Northwood Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests about their stay at our lodge. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us. We agree that our guests should get the most for their money, and therefore are actively working on upgrading our facilities and rooms, while providing greater amenities for our guests. More

Palo Alto, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

After reading consistent negative reviews from multiple sites we cancelled our reservation more than 2 weeks in advance and were hit with a complimentary $25 fee. They were kind enough to remind us that this was neatly buried in the small print of the online reservation site. Must be the only way they are making a buck. STAY AWAY!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NorthwoodLodge, Front Office Manager at Northwood Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

We are saddened that this guest is dissatisfied with our reservation process; however, our cancellation policy is stated at the time of booking, both through our online reservation engine and over the telephone. The majority of our guests enjoy their stay at our lodge. We believing in satisfying our customers. In order to satisfy this guest, we went ahead and... More

Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I worried about Northwood lodge as some reviews were bad – and I don’t know why. It was much more than expected. All 3 rooms had working A/C, fridge/microwave, comfortable bed, spare pillows, coffeemaker. If you like good quality coffee, bring your own as you would do in any motel. The rooms have 2 doors, the front door with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Boras, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My son and I was recommended this "cottage", it was late evening and everything we had tried so far on our journey south along the coast was already booked. We paid 200 dollars for a shack which smelled of mildew and was moist inside,only one , very hard bed and 2 bunkbeds, although 2 queens were promised, we hardly slept... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NorthwoodLodge, General Manager at Northwood Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

We are saddened that this reviewer and guest did not have an enjoyable stay at our resort. However, there are a few points that I would like to address. Housekeeping thoroughly cleans all of our cottages on a regular basis to ensure that mold and mildew does not grow. Our guests' health and well-being is important to us, especially during... More

Pleasant Hill, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Mid week paid $150 a night. Maid enters without knocking. 20 year old tv's with no extras. Room clean and linen smell good. Pool only heated by solar, 65 degrees can't use. Will not stay if I had a choice. My girl and I are in the hotel business.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
NorthwoodLodge, General Manager at Northwood Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

We regret that this guest did not have a pleasant stay at our resort. We appreciate this guest's feedback and will use it to better our rooms in the future. There are, however, a few points that I would like to comment on. July is peak season in the Russian River Resort area, so our rates are higher than they... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Northwood Lodge & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Northwood Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwood Lodge & Resort

Address: 19455 Highway 116, Monte Rio, CA 95462
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Monte Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Northwood Lodge and Resort is nestled among the towering Redwoods along the picturesque Russian River Valley Wine Country. All rooms and suites include air-conditioning, satellite TV; some include kitchenettes, spa tubs, and patio. Rooms are located across from the Olympic-size solar-heated swimming pool, surrounded by colorful flowerbeds and roses, and manicured lush lawn. The Northwood Lodge and Resort is nestled among the towering Redwoods along the picturesque Russian River Valley Wine Country. All rooms and suites include air-conditioning, satellite TV; some include kitchenettes, spa tubs, and patio. Rooms are located across from the Olympic-size solar-heated swimming pool, surrounded by colorful flowerbeds and roses, and manicured lush lawn. Cottages located under the towering Redwoods include a master bedroom, living room, full kitchen, wet bar, fireplace, and deck. Scenic outdoor barbecue and picnic facilities located under a canopy on Redwoods. Adjacent to the prettiest nine-hole golf course in the area, restaurant, and coffee shop. Enjoy your stay in a unique and relaxing atmosphere by visiting the famous Russian River and beautiful Sonoma Coast, the tallest Redwoods in the world at Armstrong Redwood Park, and many fine Russian River Valley wineries. Minutes away from Guerneville, a variety of activities like canoeing, hiking and biking, and fine dining to make your stay more enjoyable. Our staff is always on hand to help make your stay a memorable one! Your great vacation getaway awaits you. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
26

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Northwood Lodge & Resort to your Saves list