We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Northwood Lodge & Resort

19455 Highway 116, Monte Rio, CA 95462
Northwood Lodge & Resort
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Close to Bodega Bay, beautiful location along Russian River, older motel but in great remodeled shape, nice pool, some nice palms which were rare for the area and which I like to see when I leave Idaho. Very nice close restaurant dining area and post office. Close to Guerneville and a Safeway store.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

thanks north wood your the best good price good parking and the housekeeper Billy keeps your room so nice and clean you want to stay 1 more night we will be back we give north wood lodge 5 stars the best you can get.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

You are rather limited on choices of where to stay when in the Russian River area. Most require a two-night stay which is understandable considering their livelihood is dependent on tourism. However, what isn't understandable or acceptable is a dirty room. The room was not attended to the entire time of our two-night stay. If you can any other place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed here early August for a few nights. This is a motel not a resort. It is somewhat unloved and in need of a refurbishment. The pool needs cleaning (and tiling). The bed linens are tired and need replacing. The walls need painting. The drawers had not been cleaned in a long time. Our fridge was too noisy and reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sac
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

After a round of golf at what other reviewers have accurately described as the exceptional golf course next door on a warm afternoon I was looking forward to a dip in the large pool which is also accurately described as being in a nice setting. I noticed what I thought was a lot of dirt on the bottom of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I loved this place. Northwood Golf Course is one of our favorite places to play golf among the giant red wood trees. We had a nice room with a private deck attached. Good place to sit and relax after golf with a glass of wine. Our deck had a great view of the beautiful redwood trees.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
NorthwoodLodge, Manager at Northwood Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay at our resort, and we hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a double queen bedroom over Labor Day week end. Positive: -Room was clean (except carpet), beds were comfortable, bedding was of good quality - swimming pool is nice, especially at the end of the day after hiking or a day of canoe on the river - nice breakfast place located near the hotel - Northwood golf course in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
NorthwoodLodge, General Manager at Northwood Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate that you took the time to write an in-depth review. Labor Day weekend is one our busiest weekends of the year. For our guests' convenience, we usually wait until our 11AM check-out time or until most of out guests have checked-out to begin removing trash, since our pool area is adjacent to our... More 

Benicia, Ca
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
75 hotel reviews
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Northwood Lodge is located in a nice setting, It's not nestled in the redwoods but it is surrounded by redwood forests. The flower gardens in the front & on the side of the hotel as well as in the pool area are very pretty. The pool area is nice. We didn't used the pool so I don't know how... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
NorthwoodLodge, General Manager at Northwood Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your thorough review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our lodge and appreciate feedback about your experience. This year, we made considerable upgrades to all of our rooms, and we are glad you were able to take notice of and enjoy them. For future reference, we do not expect guests to pay for ice. We... More 

Kamloops, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for the three nights leading up to the Vineman triathlon on a recommendation of a local triathlete. He was from San Fran and we are from BC Canada. What a mistake. Three nights of crappy sleep due to noisy neighbors and paper thin walls. The room we were in could be considered 70's retro but clean. Would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NorthwoodLodge, General Manager at Northwood Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologize that your stay at our lodge was not pleasant due to the noise issue. We understand that you should not have to bare such inconvenience, and we do our best to control noise problems for the convenience of our guests. Unfortunately, our staff was not made aware that you were experiencing a noise... More 

Chicago Suburbs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I found this to be a clean and reasonably comfortable room in a pleasant setting surrounded by forest. While acceptable, the facilities here are very basic and the rooms are small. The building is an aging motel that probably saw its hey-day somewhere closer to the 1960s than the 2010s. You'll got a decent night's sleep in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NorthwoodLodge, Manager at Northwood Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests about their stay at our lodge. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us. We agree that our guests should get the most for their money, and therefore are actively working on upgrading our facilities and rooms, while providing greater amenities for our guests. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities