We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Montara B&Bs / inns

Ocean View Inn

2.0 of 5 Inn   |   8425 Cabrillo Highway, Montara, CA 94037 (Formerly Farallone Inn)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ocean View Inn to your Saves list
Ocean View Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
51%
Ranked #2 of 2 Montara B&B and Inns
A recent review
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    1
    5
    12
See reviews for
5
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Last weekend, I took my girlfriend (now fiance)to the Half Moon Bay area for her birthday. Little did she know I'd be proposing to her. I took her to Fitzgerald Marine Reserve, only but a few minutes away from Ocean View Inn. She said Yes! I had visited a week in advance to view this beautiful area. Despite some of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cupertino, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed at the Ocean View Inn to attend the Half Moon Bay Marathon in September - I had read a lot of reviews on TripAdvisor that initially made me a little wary about this hotel, and was pretty much expecting to have a bed to crash in; anything else would have been pretty much a bonus. I probably would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pacifica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last night and thought the place was adorable and a great value. We're glad we ignored some of the negative reviews and tried it out. We were lucky to stay on a night where the ocean view penthouse was free and they gave us an upgrade. We LOVED the room with its vaulted ceilings,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pacifica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last night and were kindly upgraded to the penthouse ocean view room. It was adorable and a great value. I saw some of the negative reviews and am glad we went with our instincts and came anyway. It's important to note that this place has great history and their in the process of renovating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
El Dorado Hills, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Overall in need of many repairs. Found used floss pick on the bedside table. Carpet was stained with grease. Arm chairs covered blankets to hide tears and stains. Windows that didn't close and curtain rods falling off the walls. Checked out a day early and no return call from the GM to refund the last night's stay. The clerk at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review

Hello Cheryl, I find your review misleading and untrue, but never the less your perception. Typically if a guest is not happy with the room/accommodations they immediately come down and notify the front desk. You stayed one night without any comments and then decided to leave, which is not the norm. You stand corrected that you were refunded for a... More

pacifica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I've stayed at the Ocean View Inn many times and I love it. The rooms are all huge and the penthouse is absolutely fabulous. The place is very old, very romantic and a little funky, but I love funky. It was built around the turn of the century and is an old Victorian roadhouse, and I heard from the locals... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The lady at the front desk was friendly. We stayed in the penthouse and it was nicely decorated. There is no phone in the room, so every time we needed something we had to walk up and down three flights of stairs. The Ocean View is extremely disappointing. The website does not mention that Highway 1 and se houses are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Austin, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I wish I had read the reviews before I booked this place, but had booked it last minute and was disappointed by my experience there. I would not give it such a low rating if I had known what I was getting but felt misled by the beautiful pictures on the website and most frustrating was the fact that they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologize your stay was not to your liking and trust me we would have done everything we could to accommodate you, but we were sold out during a busy time. We do invite you to come back and we will be happy to host another stay ~ a "do over" if you will so... More

Houston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The place is a bit run down although I read that the suite on the top floor is remodeled. Our room needed some updating. Carpet was tired, furniture has seen it's better days. Mold in the window corners. One bed was adequate and the other was like sleeping on a table with sheets. Breakfast was nothing special. The innkeepers were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologize that your stay was not comfortable or to your liking. As always, you could have informed the front desk and we would have released you from your reservation or offered another room. It's our position to make your stay pleasant and welcoming at all times. Transformations and renovations take time. Our goal is... More

Great Mills, Maryland, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We made the mistake of booking this old dump. The ocean is not much in view but the busy highway is.The place smells bad, the furniture is worn and dirty. The carpet is scorched in several places by an electric iron. The room with two queen beds has one bed that is so hard (think box spring) that it is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review

I find it interesting you will post a review and you did not stay here? Also, you neglect to mention that you and your family were nightmares (and did not even check in). You had our front desk clerk so nervous and shaken. And, then you proceed to enter rooms that are being cleaned even after being asked to please... More

Been to Ocean View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn

Address: 8425 Cabrillo Highway, Montara, CA 94037 (Formerly Farallone Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Montara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean View Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated 20 minutes south of San Francisco between Half Moon Bay and Pacifica on California's beautiful Pacific Coast. Originally built in 1906 as a roadhouse, our historic property still echoes its turn-of-the-century heritage with its Victorian-inspired decor. All of the Inn's nine rooms have private entrances with decks and whirlpool tubs. All rooms are non-smoking. The Inn can accommodate parties of up to 40 people in the garden area for weddings, family gatherings, and other special occasions. On site is a restaurant to provide a nearby dining option for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ocean View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.