We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean View Inn

Hotel website
8425 Cabrillo Highway, Montara, CA 94037 (Formerly Farallone Inn)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean View Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ocean View Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    11
    8
    5
    15
See reviews for
9
22
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

My husband, kids,and I stayed in the family suite which was very nicely appointed. The room was spacious and clean. There was a view out the front window and it was a short walk to the beach. The innkeeper (Debbie) was delightful and even left us something special in the refrigerator for our arrival. Debbie was very helpful for things... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auburn, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

I fell in love with this place the first time I stayed there. Now, it's my chosen place to overnight every week when my job takes me to the City. Why? Well, for one, I hate cookie cutter, white walled chain hotels. Give me a B&B anytime! Historical buildings are also very cool because they just have a whole different... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015 via mobile

I never write reviews, but I felt moved to warn others. Unfortunately, most of the othrr negative reviews are accurate even if you are into bed and breakfast and funkiness, the shabbiness, lack of charm, and hostility are outstanding. And the so-called continental breakfast next door was absurd- bagel, toast, or oatmeal, even the "day old " croissant for when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review

Ruth sorry to read your stay was not to your expectation. Had you notified me, we would have done everything to help you find another property and release you from your reservation with a full refund. The inn is historical and a landmark. Rooms are clean, comfortable with all the amenities of home. With repeat guests returning to stay for... More 

Travelers are raving about these Montara hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

This was the WORST place I ever stayed in this price point- or any price. Please see pics. The room was incredibly shabby and dirty. Pro- it was the only place in the area that was available at the last minute. THAT should have given me a clue. Cons- So many, I don't have all night to write. 2 minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review

Your posting has been reviewed and we hope this response will offer a rounded view. 1. Maintenance personnel was dispatched and repaired your running toilet issue within an hour after your arrival. 2. You were offered a cancellation with a FULL refund when you told me if was too loud for you to sleep at 3:00pm in the afternoon. I... More 

Te Awamutu, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Although this old house could do with some work, it was a lovely place to stay. The room was huge and very quaint, the bed comfy and the staff were really good. There are a few rules to adhere to but if your there for a quiet time it's no problems. Party house this is not. Watch the showers! Depending... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

We paid nearly $270 for our room and it was certainly overpriced for what we got. The inn is in a nice location with sea glimpses. Our room was very clean, but also shabby. There were iron burn marks on the carpet and the place needs a revamp. The TV is old and we had to reset the cable to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carmichael, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

I took my family of four on a three day (night) trip to this place,, we had a great time exploring the surrounding beaches, Debbie was firm about the house rules, but that was cool... it is her house..keep in mind that this is not a place to party like a rock star, however, privacy was respected. We cleaned up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Do you like charmingly unique? I sure do, and that is a great way to sum up the Ocean View Inn. It reminded me of the summers of my childhood, when we would visit Grandma and Grandpa in their HUGE house and just run up and down the stairs (which, considering I stayed in the Garden Penthouse, happened often). Even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
calif
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

the room was large and spacious but freezing. if you are ok with non conventional, eccentric atmosphere (I am), then it's a fun unusual place to stay in a very convenient location. Reasonable rates too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rocklin, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

I do not recommend this hotel at all. We booked this hotel through Booking.com. We cancelled the room with the policy guidelines because after repeatedly leaving a message at the hotel, they refused to call us back. In fact, we wanted to see if there was room availability for some friends. When our friends had the same issue, we decided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review

What is a cancellation policy? You feel it necessary to write a negative review because you did not adhere to a policy you agreed to both on Booking.com and Ocean View Inn? We are to blame for that? A room was held for you in good faith, you did not show up and you attempted to cancel the same day... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montara
4.1 mi away
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Pacifica Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Pacifica
3.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
8.9 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.4 mi away
HI-Point Montara Lighthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay