We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Merced hotels

Budget Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1215 R Street, Merced, CA 95340 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Merced)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Budget Inn to your Saves list
Budget Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
42%
Ranked #11 of 13 hotels in Merced
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013
leftiebob Las Vegas, Nevada
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    15
    7
    11
See reviews for
8
15
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dinuba, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

First of all there is a bait and switch on the price of the room. If you want ANY amenities at all, like a quiet room or even a hair dryer or a coffee pot, you have to pay $10 more and they move you to the other side of the building and there is a "perk" of a larger... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SUNIL R, Guest Relations Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

thank you for your review for your stay at our location. we are looking into the issues you mentioned and take action to correct the problems. We wish all the best in your future travel and hopefully give us a opportunity to serve you again. More

Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Found a coupon in one of those free Motel discount magazines for this place for $39. The bed was fine, the room was fine, it was clean. The staff was kind and it was a good deal. Get a room away from the freeway side and there is no noise. I exercise by walking. Main Street was a few blocks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
SUNIL R, General Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you so much for reviewing our property! Pleasing our customers is my #1 priority and I am happy to read that we met your expectations. We look forward to future visits from you and good luck in your travels. More

Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place was on the rough side. In terms of location, it seems to be on a rougher side of town, there were characters out and about all over the place. The hotel is located right off the freeway, so it's convenient for a quick overnight stay on the road. There is a Denny's and a McDonalds nearby so you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SUNIL R, Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Clean room, affordable, even with a pet, free good-working wifi, and a little something to start your day off in the morning. I am happy to hear you were pleased with that part of your stay, which is what most people are looking for. Not quite so pleased that we got judged/given a bad review by your perception of the... More

BAKERSFIELD
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A great experience. We got such a low rate through a 3rd party site and expected the quality to match, but we were pleasantly surprised. There was no riff-raff loitering (this has been a problem at other places we've stayed), it's location is super-close to shopping, gas, and fwy. The rooms are simple w/basic accommodations, but they are clean!! Sheets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SUNIL R, Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you so much for such a wonderful review; we appreciate it very much! I am very proud of my property and my staff and am always happy to hear when a guest is pleased with their stay here. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Thanks again! More

Wettingen, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The place is very close to the freeway and to the railway. Ask for a room with windows to other sites, then it is ok. Room was with TV and WiFi. Disappointing breakfast (coffee and sweeties). We've been there at 08.30 a.m. - it was closed!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SUNIL R, General Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am happy to hear that your stay was mostly a pleasant one. I apologize that the free breakfast was not what you were looking for; it works for many but we know it isn't for everybody, which is why we worked it out with the 24-hour Denny's... More

Merced, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My family and I are new to the City of Merced and we came to Merced because of the cheaper prices on homes. We came to Merced without a place lined up so we chose to stay at a hotel. On 2/20/2013 we chose to stay at the Vagabond Inn. Our experience at this hotel has been fabulous. We have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SUNIL R, General Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you so much for the positive review. Pleasing our guests is our #1 priority here at Vagabond Inn Merced and nothing makes me happier to hear that we have accomplished that goal with one of our guests. We strive to make all our guests feel comfortable and safe. A good review tells our entire staff/team that we're doing our jobs.... More

Redwood City, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Repeat after me: I WILL NOT STAY AT THE VAGABOND INN. Ever. Don't do it. To do so risks your life and well-being. I recently booked a block of rooms with our bike racing team at the Vagabond Inn. We typically stay elsewhere but that motel was full and this was the only other one that was dog-friendly in Merced.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SUNIL R, General Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry to see such a poor review, however and you have my deepest apologies for any bad experiences you encountered during your stay here. For the record, that is NOT a common problem on our property. We have many loyal long-time customers who are happy with our accommodations and... More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at vagabond inn with nice room and free wifi and the gal. AR yang gave me shampoo and also told me about the 10% discount. At the 24 hr Denny's located. Across the parking lot There is also a laundry room for guest to use. Overall. A nice. Place to stay with clean rooms and excellent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SUNIL R, General Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you so much for your nice review. It always makes me very happy to please my customers and I am very proud of my excellent front desk staff. We look forward to your next stay with us! More

South Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Standard room design for a hotel in this class. Room was remodeled, clean, with a good bed. Breakfast was minimal. The area was not the best. Low prices bring in a lower class of customers. Merced is a working city, and the guests reflected this. If you are looking for a decent night's sleep at a very reasonable price, then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Thank for your suggestions. We appreciate your business and we are looking to see you again. We offer clean rooms with free WIFI and onsite guest laundry facilities . thanks again More

Been to Budget Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn

Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Merced
Merced Vagabond Hotel
Address: 1215 R Street, Merced, CA 95340 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Merced)
Location: United States > California > Merced
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 hotels in Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in Merced right off the freeway for easy access with FREE WI-FI and onsite laundry facilities for guest use with 24 hr staff AT FRONT DESK.WE ARE LOCATED CLOSE TO DINING PLACES -MCDONALDS AND DENNYS OPEN 24 HRS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Budget Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.