We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Merced CA

1983 E Childs Ave, Merced, CA 95340
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Merced CA
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Motel 6 Merced CA
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    25
    29
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
18
21
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I think "average (three stars)" is you get what you expect, fair enough. For the price, I did not expect much. I booked a non-smoking room on the Motel 6 official website but got a smoking room, that is why I think it's below average. It even could not keep its promises.

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Merced CA, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the availability of a non-smoking room. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details... More 

Carson City, Nevada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

When I travel alone, I don't need many amenities. Ease of parking, clean room, a working heater/sir conditioner, comfortable bed, a small refrigerator, and that's about it. I get in fairly late at night and leave early in the morning so I don't need swimming pools, exercise rooms and all those other things. For that reason I always stay at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced CA, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with Motel 6 on Childs Ave, we appreciate your repeat business. We have recently completely remodeled half of our room and the other half of our rooms are partially remodeled. The biggest difference in the two is that the completely remodeled rooms have wood effect flooring while the partially remodeled rooms have carpet. We are more... More 

London, England
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

The budget option. It cost $55 for the night, but you dont even get carpet on the floor for that (see picture). Parking is close and no noise overnight as it is far enough from the highways and rail line are the nicest things you can say about it. Staff are fine. We got towels albeit slightly threadbare ones. Has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced CA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to offer clean comfortable rooms and Motel 6 has decided that hardwood floors are cleaner and easier to clean than carpet. We do have some rooms at this property that have carpet in them and if you prefer that, just request it at checkin and we are more... More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
57 hotel reviews
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

You are tired, and you want to sleep in a safe place where you will be received by very nice staff (Thank you for all your help Melissa!). That is what you will find at this property. Do not ask for more. It is very hard to find a plug for connect your computer, the towels are few and VERY... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced CA, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Motel 6 Merced. Motel 6 is a leader in the economy hotel segment and in order to keep costs down, we do not provide shampoo in the rooms but we do make it available for guests who need it. It is nice to hear that Melisa made you feel welcome and I will share this... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Black mold in parts of bathroom. No shampoo unless you pay a dollar. No towels in room. Clerk was super nice though and made the stay pleasant. Bed was hard as a rock and room was noisy. Not much but a place to barely sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced CA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feeback is important to us and I will personally address the issues that you have brought to my attention. I apologize that there were no towels in your room and there was an issue with cleanliness. We are currently focusing our efforts on the quality and cleanliness of our... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

I would like to specially thank an employee at this Location... "The Amazing Ashley" This beautiful woman's Customer Service skills were Superb, Extrordinary , Outstanding and Also Conducting in Professional Manner.. She took Quality Time in helping me Find a Affordable Room.. That suited excellent to my expectations.. She took time to walk me around the facility and made sure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced CA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Motel 6 in Merced Ca. I am happy to hear that Ashley made your stay pleasant. We are lucky to have her on our team. We hope that you will stay with us again if you are in the Merced area More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Came to California to see Yosemite and stopped at Motel 6 on my way I was extremely tired from being on the road for 12 hours and the girl at the front desk Lisa was very professional and polite took care of me and got me a room so I can sleep in. my room was very clean and had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced CA, responded to this review

I hope you enjoyed your visit to Yosemite, I hear it is beautiful this time of year. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay here and my staff was welcoming. Motel 6 strives to offer clean, comfortable rooms at the lowest price of any national chain and it sounds like we are hitting the mark. Thank... More 

Desert Hot Springs, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

It's a Motel 6. It's decent. Staff is friendly and helpful. The Wi-fi is free, but a bit flakey. Water pressure is acceptable. The water gets hot when you want it hot. The corridor smells odd - I can' tell if it's weird cleaning materials or weird food. Maybe both?! But I have a complaint about the heat. The overnight... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced CA, responded to this review

I apologize that your room was cooler than you would have liked it. I assure you that this was an isolated incident. I am glad that you brought this to my attention so that I can have it repaired immediately before any other guests have a similar experience. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time share your... More 

CLEAR LAKE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

We always travel with our dog, which makes motel 6 our go to motel. They don't charge for my dag where other motels charge $10 and up per night. The room was updated and nice. We had a very peaceful two nights, and look forward to a return trip soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced CA, responded to this review

'Motel 6 is the original pet friendly hotel chain, welcoming travelers and their pets since 1962'. Here at Motel 6 Merced, we do welcome well behaved pets and if you register your pet at check-in, they receive a treat. Thank you for staying with us and we will see you on your return trip. More 

Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

A lot of Motel 6’s (M6) are being remodeled. I generally like the modern look of these upgrades. However, I question the planning at this location when I have to use a plug across a room from where I was using my laptop. They designed a nice little corner desk with a built-in seat. However, you can see from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced CA, responded to this review

I apolgize that the design of our rooms did not meet your needs. When we are considering our next upgrade, I will keep your observations in mind. I am glad to hear that your overall experience at Motel 6 was good and I hope you stay with us everytime you find yourself in the Merced area. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay