We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Merced hotels

Motel 6

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1983 E Childs Ave, Merced, CA 95340
Hotel amenities
Motel 6
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Motel 6 to your Saves list
66%
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Merced
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
den1892 Launceston, United Kingdom
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    24
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
17
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (70)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Launceston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We used this Motel as a base for visiting Yosemite National Park, it was just on the limit for us as it was 60 miles to the entrances. The motel is clean the rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained. There was a TV, Fridge and microwave in the room as well as the en-suite. The staff were very friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carson City, Nevada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been staying here half a dozen times a year for the past five years and have noticed many changes. The newly remodeled rooms are very clean, spacious, but very austere. No more reefer or microwaves. Additionally, there is no FOX news on the TV which is very disappointing. It would seem as though the usual, friendly staff that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6, responded to this review

J R W, Thank you for sharing your concerns. Please know the service issues you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your interaction to help us provide a better guest experience in the future. More

Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst on the road, the room was very basic but clean, vinyl floor, good shower. Noisy aircon but at least they had it, italian across the road done the job. Wouldn't stay for more than one night but it was a good stop off for after yosemite and before Gilroy and coast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at Motel 6 in Merced Ca. We pride ourselves on offering clean comfortable rooms and I am glad that we met those expectations for you. I apologize for the air conditioner being louder than normal. Please be assured that this issue has been addressed. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More

MADERA
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

well I have to say this was and is a wonderful hide away for any of you who needs to be close to home but not at home... I found myself missing this motel on the weekends that I go to Monterey.. the staff are very egar to make your one nite pit stop feel like its home away from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review

We strive to make your stay with us, whether its only one night or several, feel like home away from home. Our caring staff does everything they can to accomodate guests and make them feel welcome. Ronelle is a great example of what guest service should be and sets a great example for all of our other employees. Thank you... More

Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have not been to a Motel 6 in many years but the reviews for this property were good and so I took a chance. I was very pleasantly surprised when I opened the door to my HUGE room with a sofa, coffee table, microwave and large fridge. The room was bright and airy - looking out at the lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review

I am glad to hear that you had a pleasent stay with us here at Motel 6 Merced. We always welcome travellers with pets and I am happy that your pets enjoyed our pet area. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we hope to see you and your pets again in the near future. More

Merced, California
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Andrea made my terrible EXPERIENCE all worth while. My stay at the 6 was all bad with the exception of the night manager Ronnel and her awesome employee ANDREA who with their excellent customer service and true concern made the lousy accomadations worthwhile. Those two ladies really know what customer service is and went above and beyond their duties to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Motel 6 in Merced Ca. I am happy to hear that Ronelle and Andrea made your stay pleasant. We are lucky to have them both on our team. We hope that you will stay with us again if you are in the Merced area. More

Merced, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

I work out of town alot and stay in primarily Motel 6. The week before, I stayed in Turlock Motel 6. That was terrible! Not clean, noisy, terrible t.v., my non-smoking room smelled like smoke & A.C.was not cold.So I decided to go about 25 min south & stay at the one in Merced. Wow, what a difference! Clean, accomidating,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Greg K, Director of Operations at Motel 6, responded to this review

I'm glad to hear your stay with us was so pleasant. Ronelle is a trusted associate and we are happy to have her on the team. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for the review. More

1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I just would like Andrea for the wonderful service. We had a minor issue with our room thinking the light was not working . she admedatilty change our room. The entering our 2nd room I realized the beds were full size which we had a queens. So I then ask Andrea if there were any other rooms ( which they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Greg K, Director of Operations at Motel 6, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Customer service is what we are here for and Andrea is a fine example of that. All of our staff is focused on making your stay and enjoyable one. We hope to see you again soon. More

1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were bigger than I thought and cleaner than I expected. The service was awesome thank you ANDREA for making our experience a great one. She was very helpful and made our stay there even better!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Greg K, Director of Operations at Motel 6, responded to this review

Thank you. Andrea does a great job and we are pleased to have her on our team. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Merced. More

Yucca Valley, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The room was adequate. new beds, TV and carpet. The bathroom and room could use a paint job. Holes in the wall and outline from the old furniture. The sensor kept turning on the light in the sink area when the air conditioner shut off. The air conditioner worked well on a hot day. The motel is older and in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Greg K, Director of Operations at Motel 6, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you noticed our upgrades. We are continuing to make some more. We will be painting soon! Our staff takes pride in making your stay enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again. More

Do you own or manage Motel 6?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Motel 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6

Address: 1983 E Childs Ave, Merced, CA 95340
Location: United States > California > Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Merced
Super Eight Merced
Merced Super Eight
Merced Super 8

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay