We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6

2.0 of 5 1983 E Childs Ave, Merced, CA 95340
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Motel 6
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    28
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
18
20
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (79)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came to California to see Yosemite and stopped at Motel 6 on my way I was extremely tired from being on the road for 12 hours and the girl at the front desk Lisa was very professional and polite took care of me and got me a room so I can sleep in. my room was very clean and had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review

I hope you enjoyed your visit to Yosemite, I hear it is beautiful this time of year. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay here and my staff was welcoming. Motel 6 strives to offer clean, comfortable rooms at the lowest price of any national chain and it sounds like we are hitting the mark. Thank... More 

Desert Hot Springs, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's a Motel 6. It's decent. Staff is friendly and helpful. The Wi-fi is free, but a bit flakey. Water pressure is acceptable. The water gets hot when you want it hot. The corridor smells odd - I can' tell if it's weird cleaning materials or weird food. Maybe both?! But I have a complaint about the heat. The overnight... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review

I apologize that your room was cooler than you would have liked it. I assure you that this was an isolated incident. I am glad that you brought this to my attention so that I can have it repaired immediately before any other guests have a similar experience. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time share your... More 

CLEAR LAKE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We always travel with our dog, which makes motel 6 our go to motel. They don't charge for my dag where other motels charge $10 and up per night. The room was updated and nice. We had a very peaceful two nights, and look forward to a return trip soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review

'Motel 6 is the original pet friendly hotel chain, welcoming travelers and their pets since 1962'. Here at Motel 6 Merced, we do welcome well behaved pets and if you register your pet at check-in, they receive a treat. Thank you for staying with us and we will see you on your return trip. More 

Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lot of Motel 6’s (M6) are being remodeled. I generally like the modern look of these upgrades. However, I question the planning at this location when I have to use a plug across a room from where I was using my laptop. They designed a nice little corner desk with a built-in seat. However, you can see from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review

I apolgize that the design of our rooms did not meet your needs. When we are considering our next upgrade, I will keep your observations in mind. I am glad to hear that your overall experience at Motel 6 was good and I hope you stay with us everytime you find yourself in the Merced area. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed her before and didn't like it But this time we decided to try again and it had been updated and was much better. if we hadn't decided to try again we wouldn't have known they did remodels. Our service was excellent and Taj was very professional . Would defiantly recommend ,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us another chance after a not so pleasant stay in the past. We have been recently remodled and will be posting pictures of our updated rooms soon. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope to see you again soon. More 

Craven Arms, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only stayed here one night in June and and judging by some of the more recent reviews, perhaps things have changed for the better. Maybe we were unlucky and stayed at the same time as some people who weren't good neighbours but it seemed that the entire motel was servicing some rather undesirable characters! Some of the guests looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about Motel 6 Merced. I apologize that your stay was not to your satisfaction. My friendly staff and I are always striving to make sure every guest feels welcome and comfortable and any issues that are brought to our attention are handled immediately. Since June we have renovated our rooms... More 

Brookfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

I came from S.F. and didn't want to spend the whole day on the road, so I stopped off in Merced at this location. It is right by the 140 if you are taking that to go into Yosemite. The place was nice and the rooms were clean. They had plenty of places close by to take care of your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lilly K, Front Office Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review

Dear Guest , We are glad that our location was an ideal location for you and hope you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the wonderful review and hope to have you back again during your travels. Management More 

Fremont, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Stayed here for a night while en-route to Yosemite. The room was very clean & spacious. No dearth of basic amenities. This place was just off the highway to Yosemite (140), so it was an easy entry and exit. Room was moderately priced. There is a McD adjacent to this hotel, so unavailability of breakfast was not a problem for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lilly K, Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate you staying with us and hope to have you back soon! Our team is working hard to make sure we provide a clean and safe lodging spot for you and your family. Thanks for your wonderful review. Management. More 

Launceston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We used this Motel as a base for visiting Yosemite National Park, it was just on the limit for us as it was 60 miles to the entrances. The motel is clean the rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained. There was a TV, Fridge and microwave in the room as well as the en-suite. The staff were very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review

Hello den1892, We at Motel 6 1983 E. Childs Ave. Merced, Ca 95341, appreciate your business and are glad you enjoy your stay with us. We are working hard to make your stay joyful and pleasant as possible as we are under new management. We are also making sure to tell our guest to please respect and keep the noise... More 

Carson City, Nevada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

I have been staying here half a dozen times a year for the past five years and have noticed many changes. The newly remodeled rooms are very clean, spacious, but very austere. No more reefer or microwaves. Additionally, there is no FOX news on the TV which is very disappointing. It would seem as though the usual, friendly staff that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6, responded to this review

J R W, Thank you for sharing your concerns. Please know the service issues you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your interaction to help us provide a better guest experience in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Motel 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6

Address: 1983 E Childs Ave, Merced, CA 95340
Location: United States > California > Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Merced
Super Eight Merced
Merced Super Eight
Merced Super 8

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay