We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Merced hotels

Motel 6

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1983 E Childs Ave, Merced, CA 95340
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Motel 6 to your Saves list
Motel 6
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
67%
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in Merced
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Roxhound Phoenix, Arizona
  • Overview
  • Reviews (64)
  • Photos (37)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
15
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have not been to a Motel 6 in many years but the reviews for this property were good and so I took a chance. I was very pleasantly surprised when I opened the door to my HUGE room with a sofa, coffee table, microwave and large fridge. The room was bright and airy - looking out at the lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Merced, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Andrea made my terrible EXPERIENCE all worth while. My stay at the 6 was all bad with the exception of the night manager Ronnel and her awesome employee ANDREA who with their excellent customer service and true concern made the lousy accomadations worthwhile. Those two ladies really know what customer service is and went above and beyond their duties to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Motel 6 in Merced Ca. I am happy to hear that Ronelle and Andrea made your stay pleasant. We are lucky to have them both on our team. We hope that you will stay with us again if you are in the Merced area. More

Merced, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

I work out of town alot and stay in primarily Motel 6. The week before, I stayed in Turlock Motel 6. That was terrible! Not clean, noisy, terrible t.v., my non-smoking room smelled like smoke & A.C.was not cold.So I decided to go about 25 min south & stay at the one in Merced. Wow, what a difference! Clean, accomidating,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Greg K, Director of Operations at Motel 6, responded to this review

I'm glad to hear your stay with us was so pleasant. Ronelle is a trusted associate and we are happy to have her on the team. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for the review. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I just would like Andrea for the wonderful service. We had a minor issue with our room thinking the light was not working . she admedatilty change our room. The entering our 2nd room I realized the beds were full size which we had a queens. So I then ask Andrea if there were any other rooms ( which they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Greg K, Director of Operations at Motel 6, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Customer service is what we are here for and Andrea is a fine example of that. All of our staff is focused on making your stay and enjoyable one. We hope to see you again soon. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were bigger than I thought and cleaner than I expected. The service was awesome thank you ANDREA for making our experience a great one. She was very helpful and made our stay there even better!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Greg K, Director of Operations at Motel 6, responded to this review

Thank you. Andrea does a great job and we are pleased to have her on our team. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Merced. More

Yucca Valley, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The room was adequate. new beds, TV and carpet. The bathroom and room could use a paint job. Holes in the wall and outline from the old furniture. The sensor kept turning on the light in the sink area when the air conditioner shut off. The air conditioner worked well on a hot day. The motel is older and in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg K, Director of Operations at Motel 6, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you noticed our upgrades. We are continuing to make some more. We will be painting soon! Our staff takes pride in making your stay enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again. More

UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have previously posted a review for this Motel, but Tripadvisor later removed it. They did not give any valid reason for doing this. This raises the question of how reliable are the reviews on Tripadvisor if they remove genuine reviews which may be extremely helpful to other travelers. My review said that the night my wife and I spent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charleston, WV
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This hotel is a former Super 8 and the rooms are spacious and clean. The staff is helpful and accommodating. We were there for 4 days on a long trip west and were comfortable. I did not notice the sound from other rooms as other posters have mentioned.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
William M, Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review

Thanks so much for review!. We're glad to know that your stay with us was a good one!. As a staff, we take these reviews very seriously. Good or bad, they inform us of things we do well and things we could improve on in the future. Whether it be hospitality, housekeeping, or groundskeeping. Our goal is to see that... More

Ostrava, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights when visiting Sequoia + Yosemite (it's not really short ride there). The room was spacious, quite clean. Weak points of this motel - walls+doors+windows so thin you can hear your neighbors, chatting ladies in the hall, smoking on stairs, and whats worse - every damn chopper passing by. positive aspect - Subway next door... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
William M, Front Desk Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review

I want to thank you for staying with us. Also, for giving us the opportunity to have shared a great stay with us. Hope to see you in the future. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The service at the front desk was helpful and friendly, the room was spacious and clean and the price was very fair. We travel with our dogs frequently on the 99 and it was great to find a good rest stop in this area. Our room (204) had a good firm king bed, a fridge and a microwave. There's a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
William M, Front Destk Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We value our reviews, because they help us identify things we're doing well, and things we could do better. Whether it be our guest service our housekeeping or maintenance dept. Our goal is to make sure that all our guests feel comfortable and safe during their stay. We will always go out of our way... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Motel 6, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Motel 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6

Address: 1983 E Childs Ave, Merced, CA 95340
Location: United States > California > Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Merced
Super Eight Merced
Merced Super Eight
Merced Super 8

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located 8.0 from UC Merced and 80 miles from Yosemite National Park. Our rooms offer air conditioned accommodations and a seasonal pool with loungers. Free morning coffee is available in the lobby. Featuring cable TV with extended channels. WiFi in every room. Select rooms feature refrigerators and microwaves. Ironing Boards, Irons, and Coffee Pots available upon request. Wake calls available.We are located within walking distance to several fast food places. As well situated across from a really nice sit down Italian restaurant and an authenic Mexican restaurant. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
80

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer