We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rodeway Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1001 Motel Drive, Merced, CA 95340 (Formerly Sandpiper Lodge)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    35
    28
    22
    8
    10
See reviews for
18
40
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (103)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fast WiFi, very helpful staff, clean pool. Room is a bit worn and dated but clean and comfortable. Would stay here again. Had cold cereal, orange juice, coffee, clementines and pastry's for breakfast which is all I need, and the person at the front desk even said that it was a rather small continental breakfast so no worries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly lady at front desk. Clean room. Ok restroom with shower. Good beds.Much noise from interstate.Noise from another room to 2,30 am. Very small (too small) breakfast. Could not find out of the old tv. Micro was not ok. Small changes would make a big difference.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have to say i was pretty surprised! Its a motel but clean, fast wifi, right off the freeway. For the price i couldn't beat it. We brought the kids to swim and it was very clean, 8ft, and good size. Manny checked us in and i just want to thank him for being exactly what a front desk should... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that room was clean with excellent wifi during your stay. In addition, thank you for sharing that our staff member Manny(myself) was professional, nice, and helpful to you. Moreover, we try our best to maintain our pool clean as... More 

Chico,CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Our room was clean and simple. Reception staff was friendly and efficient. I would have no complaints if it weren't for the motel's very close proximity to highway 99. Throughout the night I was wakened by big rigs and other loud vehicular annoyances, all seemed to be downshifting and using engine brakes to make the exit ramp.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that room was clean and simple, we are economic budget hotel. I am glad to hear that our staff was efficient and friendly. Yes, you are right about we are located right next to highway 99 and due to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015 via mobile

Very nice people at the front desk and very helpful. They take good care of the rooms and honest people as well. I recommend this place for people to stay and to also enjoy the peaceful and quiet nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Thank You ! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Great staff very helpful. Rooms are very well taken care of.Great location near the freeway and bar to have a late night drink. Very accomadating.Nice little breakfast. Nice size pool to relax in and with no worries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that room was clean and well taken care of. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Thank You ! More 

Folsom, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Similar to the negative review in February. The room was funky, so I asked for another room. They showed us another room and I said is this the only other room you have? She said yes, except for one exactly the same upstairs. We even offered to pay a few more dollars. That was all they had, she said. So,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectation during your stay with us. You booked a room with 1 king bed non smoking room and requested a non pet friendly room due to allergies. Therfore, we had only 2 rooms open in category of 1 king bed non smoking non pet friendly room and also downstairs... More 

Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

I have never complained about a cheap hotel, but this Rodeway Inn was pathetic. I have taken pictures of the black mold in the corners of the bathroom and the filth embedded around the shower. After I took a shower, the drain did not work and I found myself standing in ankle deep shower water. The towels had holes in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you had unpleasant stay with us. We will forward your opinion to housekeeping or appropriate person to make improvement. In addition, we were already in process of improving that area that you mentioned but we could not work in your room since you were staying in that room at that time. However, it should... More 

Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

I frequently do business in the area and also travel up and down 99 often. I have stayed here many many times and have been VERY satisfied each and everytime. The staff is exceptional, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. I enjoy the refriderator, microwave and coffee maker, they make any stay easier. This is not a fancy place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that room was clean and reasonable price. We appreciate your business and frequent guest like you. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Thank You ! More 

Oroville, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Traveling up 99 need to rest. Most all the motels in Merced are near the freeway, and of course the train tracks. We were very tired and took the room without looking at it first, after looking at it we were not happy. The very nice management at this hotel moved us to a different room that was much better,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that room was not expensive and at decent price. I am glad to hear that our staff was able to satisfy your need by changing you a room. Yes, you are right about we are located right next to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay