We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rodeway Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1001 Motel Drive, Merced, CA 95340 (Formerly Sandpiper Lodge)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    27
    20
    8
    10
See reviews for
15
38
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (97)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Folsom, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Similar to the negative review in February. The room was funky, so I asked for another room. They showed us another room and I said is this the only other room you have? She said yes, except for one exactly the same upstairs. We even offered to pay a few more dollars. That was all they had, she said. So,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectation during your stay with us. You booked a room with 1 king bed non smoking room and requested a non pet friendly room due to allergies. Therfore, we had only 2 rooms open in category of 1 king bed non smoking non pet friendly room and also downstairs... More 

Fresno, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have never complained about a cheap hotel, but this Rodeway Inn was pathetic. I have taken pictures of the black mold in the corners of the bathroom and the filth embedded around the shower. After I took a shower, the drain did not work and I found myself standing in ankle deep shower water. The towels had holes in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you had unpleasant stay with us. We will forward your opinion to housekeeping or appropriate person to make improvement. In addition, we were already in process of improving that area that you mentioned but we could not work in your room since you were staying in that room at that time. However, it should... More 

Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

I frequently do business in the area and also travel up and down 99 often. I have stayed here many many times and have been VERY satisfied each and everytime. The staff is exceptional, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. I enjoy the refriderator, microwave and coffee maker, they make any stay easier. This is not a fancy place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that room was clean and reasonable price. We appreciate your business and frequent guest like you. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Thank You ! More 

Oroville, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Traveling up 99 need to rest. Most all the motels in Merced are near the freeway, and of course the train tracks. We were very tired and took the room without looking at it first, after looking at it we were not happy. The very nice management at this hotel moved us to a different room that was much better,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that room was not expensive and at decent price. I am glad to hear that our staff was able to satisfy your need by changing you a room. Yes, you are right about we are located right next to... More 

San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

I was very late checking in (train delays). Called and told them. They said OK. Finally got there and checked in. Was not thrilled with upstairs room (I'm 68), but doable. I went to the room and turned on A/C. It was filthy and noisy. Went to office and told them that I would not be able to sleep with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that room was clean and decent price. Moreover, your opinion/comment has been forward to appropriate person in charge of supply and housekeeping department. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are... More 

Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Our family stayed here two nights while we did a quick 2-day tour of Yosemite. With three teenage sons, we were very fortunate to get a room with three queen beds. (This particular room is located over the front office.) The staff was very friendly. The room was clean and was what I had expected for the price. I cannot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that room was clean, reasonable price, and friendly staff. It is very rare to find a room with 3 queen beds nowadays and we made that room about 3-4 year ago so we can fit a whole family with... More 

Key West, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

WE LOVED the the one week stay at the hotel . The room was very clean.Love the housekeeper she did a very good job cleaning the room every day.The pool was very clean I enjoyed swimming in it almost every night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that room was clean and reasonable price. We will definetly provide your input to our house keeping person that she did good job keeping the room clean. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near... More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Great and excellent customer service provided by Manny. Very friendly and most helpful. Discovered that my reservation wasn't confirmed when I arrived. Manny was able to provide a room for my stay for just a little more than what I thought I had made. He even put me in touch with the Hanford Rodeway Inn where my reservation had not... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing your opinion about recent stay with us at Rodeway Inn - Merced. We are glad to hear that you were able to confirm your reservation upon check in at Rodeway Inn merced and Rodeway Inn henford, you were very... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Mani who works the front desk is wonderful. He will assist you with any of your hotel needs. Ask him for the local resturant guide.The family is pleasant and kinda give an at home feel. I ve been staying here for over a month and have had a pleasant stay.So if your in the merced area stop in and say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing your opinion about recent stay at rodeway inn - merced. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced for work. Thank You ! More 

Fremont, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

The tv was an empty shell. Literally. It seemed to have nothing inside??? Yet xfinity box and remote there. Noooo buttons on tv. Baffling. Room (121) needed serious airing out. It's a smoking room but even smokers like to breathe. A/c is ok but in weird spot where it has trbl blowing air to living areas. Cracked plaster, lamp which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

We are truly sorry that your visit with us was unsatisfactory. In addition, we have comcast tv channels for our rooms, it could be very difficult for some our guest as we have expeirence already that you have to turn xfinity receiver on first and also tv needs to be on from remote in order to make it work properly,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question