We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Merced hotels

Rodeway Inn

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1001 Motel Drive, Merced, CA 95340 (Formerly Sandpiper Lodge)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
63%
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Merced
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Charles R San Diego, California
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    25
    18
    6
    8
See reviews for
13
35
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The tv was an empty shell. Literally. It seemed to have nothing inside??? Yet xfinity box and remote there. Noooo buttons on tv. Baffling. Room (121) needed serious airing out. It's a smoking room but even smokers like to breathe. A/c is ok but in weird spot where it has trbl blowing air to living areas. Cracked plaster, lamp which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

We are truly sorry that your visit with us was unsatisfactory. In addition, we have comcast tv channels for our rooms, it could be very difficult for some our guest as we have expeirence already that you have to turn xfinity receiver on first and also tv needs to be on from remote in order to make it work properly,... More

Yuba City, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

looks nice outside but old and crappy inside no 3 prong plug inns bathroom windows don't lock stayed there a week and wow maybe one other car in parking lot all week obviously everyone else knew not to stay there !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

We are truly sorry that your visit with us was unsatisfactory. I apologize for the unsatisfactory stay you had with us. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Thank You ! More

San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If it was not for all of the positive reviews this place got I would have never came here. I'm greatful I listened. I stayed in July and came back again in August. Awesome stays! Manny is the Manager. He is very courteous and knows what great customer service is. The staff is excellent. Room 128 and 112 were very... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that room was spacious and clean with reasonable price. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced to visit your son at UC Merced. Thank You ! More

Normanton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

It was very clean and had comfortable beds. We booked a room with 2 beds at decent price. The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was very limited but something is better than nothing for the price we paid. Pool was clean and well maintained. Older hotel but very well kept and maintain, but few things require upgrade like old air... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that we were very helpful to you by providing great customer service. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you... More

Mineola, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel was OLD, but very well appointed. The manager couldn't have been more accommodating. Great showerhead. We were there for 3 days and it was very enjoyable. We would stay there again, for sure. The pool was really nice, too, with an 8' depth. Room was very spacious.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that we were very helpful to you by providing great customer service. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you... More

Odense
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights while visiting Merced and Yosemite. The drive to Yosemite was almost a 2 hour drive, but different driving routes made the distance acceptable. The room at Rodeway Inn was clean, but the AC was very noisy. The microwave plate was missing and the towels had black areas although they were changed. The road was noisy... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that we were very helpful to you by providing great customer service. Sorry for the inconvience that you had during your stay. It will be something that we can bring it to our house keeping person. If you would... More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed 3 nights for business and to visit Yosemite. Room could do with an update - old CRT tv, buildup on shower screen, floor boards squeak, freezer doesn't work and microwave plate doesn't fit properly so it doesn't turn when microwaving. But it was reasonably clean - although the "clean" towels had black stains on them - these were changed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that we were very helpful to you by providing great customer service. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Thank You ! More

Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in April for two night while visiting Yosemite with the YARTS D4500CT. The hotel was run-down and in terrible condition. The room was smelly no matter how I tried to air it out. The restroom was beat up and heavily damaged. For example, the shower module could not close fully. Also, the sink and walls... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

We are truly sorry that your visit with us was unsatisfactory. Yes, we are located next to highway 99 and near railroad tracks as many more hotels in Merced. We are sorry to hear that your room was little smelly; however, we do have air freshener at the front desk if you need it or we could have change you... More

Denton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We were worried according to some negative comments here. However, when we got there, we stayed in Double room with two double beds. We are stunned with a nice and very clean room. With the price that we got, we slept in a spacious and clean room. The only thing that pissed us off was the fact that there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that room was spacious and clean with reasonable price. We are truly sorry that bikers bike were little noisy at night time. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in... More

Republic, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

While in San Francisco, we decided to go to Yosemite. Too far to drive there, explore, then drive back in one day. Rodeway Inn in Merced was reasonably priced and about an hour and a half from Yosemite's south entrance. Rodeway Inn's staff was courteous and helpful. Our room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Close to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that we were very helpful to you, room was clean and comfortable for you. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced or visiting Yosemite National park. Thank You... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1001 Motel Drive, Merced, CA 95340 (Formerly Sandpiper Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Merced with
any amenities