We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rodeway Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1001 Motel Drive, Merced, CA 95340 (Formerly Sandpiper Lodge)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    27
    21
    8
    10
See reviews for
17
39
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (100)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Chico,CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our room was clean and simple. Reception staff was friendly and efficient. I would have no complaints if it weren't for the motel's very close proximity to highway 99. Throughout the night I was wakened by big rigs and other loud vehicular annoyances, all seemed to be downshifting and using engine brakes to make the exit ramp.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice people at the front desk and very helpful. They take good care of the rooms and honest people as well. I recommend this place for people to stay and to also enjoy the peaceful and quiet nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Thank You ! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Great staff very helpful. Rooms are very well taken care of.Great location near the freeway and bar to have a late night drink. Very accomadating.Nice little breakfast. Nice size pool to relax in and with no worries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that room was clean and well taken care of. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Thank You ! More 

Folsom, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Similar to the negative review in February. The room was funky, so I asked for another room. They showed us another room and I said is this the only other room you have? She said yes, except for one exactly the same upstairs. We even offered to pay a few more dollars. That was all they had, she said. So,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectation during your stay with us. You booked a room with 1 king bed non smoking room and requested a non pet friendly room due to allergies. Therfore, we had only 2 rooms open in category of 1 king bed non smoking non pet friendly room and also downstairs... More 

Fresno, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

I have never complained about a cheap hotel, but this Rodeway Inn was pathetic. I have taken pictures of the black mold in the corners of the bathroom and the filth embedded around the shower. After I took a shower, the drain did not work and I found myself standing in ankle deep shower water. The towels had holes in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you had unpleasant stay with us. We will forward your opinion to housekeeping or appropriate person to make improvement. In addition, we were already in process of improving that area that you mentioned but we could not work in your room since you were staying in that room at that time. However, it should... More 

Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

I frequently do business in the area and also travel up and down 99 often. I have stayed here many many times and have been VERY satisfied each and everytime. The staff is exceptional, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. I enjoy the refriderator, microwave and coffee maker, they make any stay easier. This is not a fancy place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that room was clean and reasonable price. We appreciate your business and frequent guest like you. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Thank You ! More 

Oroville, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Traveling up 99 need to rest. Most all the motels in Merced are near the freeway, and of course the train tracks. We were very tired and took the room without looking at it first, after looking at it we were not happy. The very nice management at this hotel moved us to a different room that was much better,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that room was not expensive and at decent price. I am glad to hear that our staff was able to satisfy your need by changing you a room. Yes, you are right about we are located right next to... More 

San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

I was very late checking in (train delays). Called and told them. They said OK. Finally got there and checked in. Was not thrilled with upstairs room (I'm 68), but doable. I went to the room and turned on A/C. It was filthy and noisy. Went to office and told them that I would not be able to sleep with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that room was clean and decent price. Moreover, your opinion/comment has been forward to appropriate person in charge of supply and housekeeping department. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are... More 

Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Our family stayed here two nights while we did a quick 2-day tour of Yosemite. With three teenage sons, we were very fortunate to get a room with three queen beds. (This particular room is located over the front office.) The staff was very friendly. The room was clean and was what I had expected for the price. I cannot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that room was clean, reasonable price, and friendly staff. It is very rare to find a room with 3 queen beds nowadays and we made that room about 3-4 year ago so we can fit a whole family with... More 

Key West, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

WE LOVED the the one week stay at the hotel . The room was very clean.Love the housekeeper she did a very good job cleaning the room every day.The pool was very clean I enjoyed swimming in it almost every night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that room was clean and reasonable price. We will definetly provide your input to our house keeping person that she did good job keeping the room clean. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay