We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Merced hotels

Rodeway Inn

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1001 Motel Drive, Merced, CA 95340 (Formerly Sandpiper Lodge)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
66%
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Merced
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Somrat P Denton
  • Reviews (74)
  • Photos (24)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    21
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
9
30
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel in April for two night while visiting Yosemite with the YARTS D4500CT. The hotel was run-down and in terrible condition. The room was smelly no matter how I tried to air it out. The restroom was beat up and heavily damaged. For example, the shower module could not close fully. Also, the sink and walls... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

We are truly sorry that your visit with us was unsatisfactory. Yes, we are located next to highway 99 and near railroad tracks as many more hotels in Merced. We are sorry to hear that your room was little smelly; however, we do have air freshener at the front desk if you need it or we could have change you... More

Denton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were worried according to some negative comments here. However, when we got there, we stayed in Double room with two double beds. We are stunned with a nice and very clean room. With the price that we got, we slept in a spacious and clean room. The only thing that pissed us off was the fact that there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that room was spacious and clean with reasonable price. We are truly sorry that bikers bike were little noisy at night time. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in... More

Republic, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While in San Francisco, we decided to go to Yosemite. Too far to drive there, explore, then drive back in one day. Rodeway Inn in Merced was reasonably priced and about an hour and a half from Yosemite's south entrance. Rodeway Inn's staff was courteous and helpful. Our room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Close to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that we were very helpful to you, room was clean and comfortable for you. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced or visiting Yosemite National park. Thank You... More

Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here after visiting Yosemite before driving to San Francisco as it is perfectly positioned between the two. Upon arrival the staff on the front desk were very helpful and provided us information on places to eat in the area. We were also given a room to the back with less road noise which was good as it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that our staff was very helpful to you by providing near by restaurents information. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced or visiting Yosemite National park. Have a... More

Yerington, Nevada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were there for a wedding and stayed two night, Manny, Uma. and Brian were all very nice. The room was clean. We were in the back so the room was reasonably quiet with the AC going. We would stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that we were very helpful to you by providing great customer service. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Thank You ! More

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed two nights in this Rodeway Inn recently although one night was expected. Manny (manager) informed us about some great Buffet in Merced and there we got convinced to stay another day. Back at the hotel Manny helped us to remove to another (even bigger) room so we didn't have to switch the next morning. He was very service... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. Thank you for sharing that we were very helpful to you by providing great customer service. I am glad to hear that WiFi worked well for you and value for your money was higher or more than expected. We appreciate your business. Good... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Rooms are super clean. People are super nice! You cant get that for the price they offers! Theres nothing bad to talk about really and makes bad for other motels. This is the only place i will stay if i visit Merced again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. We are happy to hear that our staff member are nice and room is clean. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Thank You ! More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Visit to Yosemite national park, and sufficient amenities in the room for travellers who is on budget or mid scale. Clean room and friendly staff. Convenient, comfortable and provided great service. Would definitely recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. We are happy to hear that our staff was helpful and friendly. We appreciate your business. We hope to see you soon in near future if you are in Merced. Thank You for recommending to other ! More

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed during last week of May 2014.our room had two green bed,little fridge,maicro wave,coffe maker,hair tayari,our room prise was little low.desk guys was very help full.room was clean and comfortable, we had a good night sleep.we didn't try their pool.but looked clean out said.I recommend this place if you are budget travel like me

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at Rodeway Inn - Merced. We are glad to hear that you got all your amenities at reasonable price with clean and comfortable rate. Thank you for sharing that our staff was very helpful to you by providing great customer service. We appreciate your business. We hope to... More

Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place is much worse than a normal Motel. Can't believe how could they call themselves a "INN"! It's just nearby the highway so it's pretty noisy that I could not fall asleep at all! Also the air conditioner is like super noisy which kept me awake all the night either! If you want to live in this place, you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manny S, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

We are truly sorry that your visit with us was unsatisfactory. Yes, we are located next to highway 99 and near railroad tracks as many more hotels in Merced. We do have some bigger square feet rooms but they are different category than queen. Yes, our free complimentary breakfast is small and we are sorry that it was unsatisfactory to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1001 Motel Drive, Merced, CA 95340 (Formerly Sandpiper Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Merced
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located near Highway 99, this hotel is just 3 miles from Merced County Fairgrounds. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
32

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer