We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Cottage Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
1704 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Cottage Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    90
    51
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
35
36
28
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (165)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
E Palo Alto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent central bay area location. The whole place is beautiful. The room was spacious and airy. It was like a small apartment. The kids had an area to themselves sectioned off. And the shower was like being in heaven. It was immaculate. Close to stanford univ., hospital, and.mall. half hour from san fran., and half hour from san jose. 10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calistoga
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Red Cottage Inn has been a carefully guarded secret among generations of Stanford parents and frequent business travelers to Silicon Valley. It is a small, meticulously maintained motel on the border of Atherton and Menlo Park. The motel is located just off El Camino which is busy during the day but quiets down at night. Downtown Menlo Park with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonoma, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent a very uncomfortable night at the Red Cottage Inn and Suites. As a professional I sent a letter to the manager expressing my concerns and suggestions. Unfortunately, after two months, I have not received any acknowledgement of my communication nor a response. I am very disappointed since my issues are resolvable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

We apologize that you were disappointed that we fell short of your expectations. Unfortunately, we did not receive any letter regarding your concerns. We will be more than happy to address your concerns and suggestions and if you have time please send us an email at frontdesk@redcottageinn.com. More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a straightforward motel with good average accommodation, but in no way luxurious. The location is good, a little way back from the busy Camino Real. A fairly basic breakfast but with good cereal. The rate we were charged was not justified by the accommodation and breakfast

Was this review helpful? Yes
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you felt that our hotel is just average, not luxurious and overpriced. Over the years the market and overhead cost of doing business in Menlo Park has increased. With that being said, we still find that our rates are significantly lower than our competitors together with the complimentary services we offer like free parking,... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

I had given this hotel a high rating previously, but I am downgrading it since they have more than doubled their rates, putting it well out of my price range, even with a AAA discount. I don't know if they are under new ownership, or have just gotten greedy. I won't be staying here anymore.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We apologize that you felt that we have more than doubled our rates but over the years the market and overhead cost of doing business in Menlo Park has increased. We do offer discounted rates like AAA discount, Advanced Purchase rates and Extended Stay discounts to offer our guest better deals. We still find that... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Stayed one night in July. Rooms were tidy & well appointed if smallish in size. I was upgraded to a suite which was very spacious, but with rel. little privacy in living area as this faced straight into pool area do folks taking a dip stared straight into the living area. Service was good. Room was clean although I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

I stayed at the Red Cottage Inn and Suites for work and found it to be more than adequate! The room was spacious for one person and had a nice sized refrigerator and coffee maker. It was very comfortable and the free breakfast provided was all I needed. Protein such as boiled eggs and yogurt were available as well as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward in welcoming you back. More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015 via mobile

This older motel has been well maintained. Grounds are nicely landscaped with a sweet courtyard. Rooms are small but acceptable. Pet friendly. Nice staff. They don't charge for parking, which is a plus. Biggest drawback is a commuter train just blocks away, which rumbles by until 10 pm.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice feedback. We look forward in welcoming you back. More 

Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

I stayed here for 5 nights and was pleasantly surprised. The property was lovely, room was larger than expected, and the staff was very friendly and welcoming. I arrived quite early from the east coast and was able to check in very early, which was extremely convenient. The breakfast was much better than the usual continental. The wifi was good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are renovating the fourth quarter of this year and one of our focus would be upgrading to a bigger bathroom. We hope to see you soon and showcase the new look of the hotel. More 

Lander, Wyoming
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

We stayed here 4 nights May 2015. Very quiet peaceful inn. Nice swimming pool. Small exercise room that is perfectly adequate with treadmill, horizontal bicycle and step machine. Very nice staff. No complaints at all. For quietest rooms, ask for upstairs, facing pool near back. Microwave, fridge and coffee machine in room. Hot water and fruit 24/7 in lobby. Average... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward in welcoming you back. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
1.4 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
4.2 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#9 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#3 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Menlo Park Inn
Menlo Park Inn
#6 of 9 in Menlo Park
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#8 of 26 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay