We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites

45080 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

418 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    166
    95
    67
    59
    31
See reviews for
27
257
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (418)
  • Mar-May only
    (97)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (159)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (108)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is located across the street from the beautiful Mendocino coast line. It's an easy walk to everything Mendocino Village has to offer and many other attractions are a short drive away. The lobby is beautifully maintained in it's historical charm as are the bar and restaurant areas. The staff is very friendly but not entirely competent. They lost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered as you were trying to check into our Mendocino property. The check-in process was too long and it was not acceptable for our team members to be looking around for your reservation. Be assure that we will talk to all our team members so this does not happen again. Thank you... More 

Fairfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Called ahead to confirm my reservation and requested a room with a view of the ocean. Got a great room, upstairs, in the garden suites buildings, so had our own bathroom. At first look, the room was nice, with many windows, and ocean views, looked clean and neat, roomy with a pull-out couch and a fireplace with a duraflame log... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review you have on our Mendocino property. We are glad to hear that our team members took care of your requests as best as possible and that you did received the room you requested. As always we take all feedback into great consideration as we will take all our comments to higher management so they... More 

Hitchin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a Victorian Hotel which has been restored with period features, it looks lovely but the rooms are small and hot. There is a shared bathroom but the hotel points this out when you book, no lift which was tricky for my 72 year old Mother to get her cases up the stairs and only one room out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites. Yes, we overlook the ocean, and all our rooms are Victorian style. We are glad that you enjoyed our clean rooms and that our customer service shined for you on your stay. We look forward to your next stay at our Mendocino... More 

El Sobrante
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the main hotel. The rooms are so small you can hardly move, and with very poor air circulation they become extremely stuffy in no time.. It wasn't a problem sharing the bathroom with others. Our biggest complaint is that the bed was SOOOOO hard. We have eaten dinner (on an earlier visit) and now also breakfast in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a minute to provide us with your feedback. We are happy to hear that our team member shined for you during your stay. We will take a closer look at the items we offer at our property so that we can only serve the best quality wines and food at our Mendocino property. We look forward... More 

Palm Desert, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Made reservations 3 months in advance to have room next to our traveling friends. That didn't happen. They started from scratch when we arrived like we didm't have reservations. We got the worst room, the wall paper was pealing from the walls, window shades were torn, floors were questionably clean??? The toilet flush handle came unscrewed. Fortunately, I was able... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered with the room that was provided to you during your stat at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites. We will take all necessary precautions to rectify all the areas where improvement is needed. We hope you will be able to consider us on your next visit to the city of Mendocino. Sincerely,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Mendocino hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My score of three for a rating is actually an average. If you do not choose your room carefully, you can wind up without a bathroom in a room the size of shoe box. Or...you can enjoy a lovely cottage. We thought ahead and requested a room with a bathroom. The rate was reasonable. What could go wrong? The receptionist... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and please apologize us for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We hope you were able to enjoy a cool walk down the beautiful Mendocino Bay. We also hope that during your short stay, you were able to enjoy our nicely trimmed gardens and that you were taken back with how we have our... More 

Suisun City, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I love Mendocino and have walked by the Mendocino Inn Cottages many times always admiring the gardens and porches, so when a two night Groupon popped up I jumped at it! Best of all when I called the night before they said that my original booking was in a pet friendly room so nothing had to be changed and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review

Please apologies us for the inconvenience you encountered while staying at our Mendocino property. We will take all your concerns to higher management so that we can take care of these issues as soon as possible. As a hotel we strive to provide the best service possible, but it is with feedback such as the one you have just provided... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Way over-priced for a run down old dump, not a quaint hotel. They also seem to have problems honoring their room commitments as our paid-in-advance room was not available when we checked in. Run away from this hotel. If Mendocino is sold out you are better off staying somewhere else like Fort Bragg.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay at our Mendocino property. Please know that we are working diligently to fix all the issues you have mentioned with the property. We truly hope that you will be able to provide us with another visit once our renovation process is completed. Sincerely, Guest Relations Manager More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I loved my stay at the Mendocino Hotel! The check-in was easy, the room was clean and comfy, and the food was wonderful. You can't beat the view from the shared balcony! I was nervous at first about the shared bathrooms, but they were just fine. Very clean and there was never a line or wait. And there was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for very much for the great review you have on our Mendocino property. We are happy to hear that your stay at our property was a pleasant one and that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your upcoming stay at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites. Sincerely, Guest Relations Manager More 

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted to extend our vacation. While poor planning on our part we were thankful to get a Friday night reservation especially during the music festival and with a large dog. They are pet friendly in the cottages. However, when we arrived our reservation was incorrect as they had the wrong check-in date. It is not clear that the cottages... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a few minutes out of your busy schedule to provide us with your feedback. We are glad to hear that during your check-in date, we were able to provide you with a room during our busy weekend. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered with one of our team members. This aspect of your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

205 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (157)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (55)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
3:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (45)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
8.6 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
7.7 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
4.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay