We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel

3.0 of 5 4140 Via Marina, Marina del Rey, CA 90292
Hotel website
Special Offer
Manager's Special
#8 of 11 hotels in Marina del Rey
198 Reviews 3.5 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel
  • Overview
  • Reviews (198)
  • Photos (114)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (61)
  • Location
  • More
Save Saved
You added Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel to your Saves list
true
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    92
    39
    8
    14
See reviews for
59
76
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place hits the hard-to-find sweet spot between overpriced resort/business hotels and low-end motels. Unless you need obsequious pampering at every turn, the Foghorn Harbor Inn can fit the bill. Our room (7/29-31) was clean and comfortable, with apparently recent bathroom upgrades that rivaled those in more-expensive hotels we've visited. Our only fixture complaint was that the air conditioner was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A gem of a beach front motel in the playground of the Stars Marina del Rey. Convenient (walking distance to many fun things, sailing, paddle boardimg, kayaking, swimming, Venice Pier, world famous Muscle Beach and Venice Beach itself. Across the parking lot is a very large liquor store and deli. Room nice size with queen size bed and glass enclosed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted with your review about our hotel. It sounds like you took advantage of our great location and were able to enjoy many of the great sights and activities around the Marina del Rey area and of course, Venice Beach. We're happy you were able to partake in our ample continental breakfast, comfortable queen room with great views... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed in this hotel at the end of June 2014 and this is by far the most horrendous hotel experience ever (and we are frequent travelers, staying regularly in hotels in the US and abroad). - Absolutely appalling customer service: the walls are so thin we were woken up at 6am on the first night by banging doors, loud noise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review

We are a small, older hotel. We offer quite a few complementary amenities and have one of the best locations in the Marina. Sorry, for the noisy neighbors you had. Surprised to hear that you were not treated courteously by our staff. I hope you took the time to list the specific items you found problematic and mentioned the clerk... More

Travelers are raving about these Marina del Rey hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed 2 nights last week in a room just off the foyer facing the water. View was fine, room was quiet and the buffet breakfast more than adequate. The airconditioner was needed and uncomfortably loud. Had to turn it off to sleep. The bathroom exhaust fan was also uncomfortably loud. I suspect the surrounding more modern hotels have better... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your recent review on our hotel. Sorry about the noisy air conditioner and bathroom fan. We hope you informed the manager or desk clerk about them. We try to replace any problem equipment quickly. It sounds like you enjoyed our location and many amenities in spite of the inconvenient noise. Hope you come again and enjoy quieter surroundings. More

Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is the worst hotel I have ever been to! THE RECEPTIONIST Eileen was very rude to my girlfriend! She REFUSED to tell my girlfriend her name! I later found out her real name from another clerk. Worst of all Eileen said "WE ARE OUT OF TOWELS" when my girlfriend came up to the desk. how can a "hotel" be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry that your stay (although we have not been able to confirm when & in which room you were in) was such a bad experience. Typically our clerks,go out of their way to be helpful & friendly. The particular clerk you referred to claims she always goes downstairs to the storage room, if there aren't any spare towels available upstairs.... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Receptionist was not friendly and not helpful. Worst customer service. Busy chitchatting. Not very welcoming. Didnt want to help. Kind of rude actually. Place was not so clean. Hotel smelled funny. Would not want to stay here. I dont recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review

We were sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our hotel. You sound like you were generally unhappy with your stay. Did you complain to the Manager? We try hard to provide a welcoming environment. It helps us if we have specific information; i.e. name of offending clerk, where you found conditions you found undesirable, etc. We... More

Rockford, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We checked in and got a lower floor unit with a huge balcony/patio. Of course the beach is right there but so are all the people who walk by. There is no elevator so one must go up and down stairs with any luggage. The worst part was that the Internet would not connect. I had an assignment due that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We apologize that connecting to the Internet turned out to be a problem for you. I will talk to the manager to see if we can make the downstairs connections more reliable. Upstairs we have good reception. Did you ask for a discount? Glad that you were... More

Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

After a week of whitewater rafting in Idaho, the Foghorn Inn met our needs perfectly for 2 days prior to a long flight home. We adored it the moment we saw it and after a day of flying the liquor store next to the car-park was the icing on the cake. The staff could not have been more wonderful and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review of our Hotel. It makes us all very happy when we know our guests had a memorable stay. The desk staff and maids appreciate getting compliments on their services; we will share them with the staff. Our location is one of the very best in Marina del Rey. Please do come back... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Our trip was set for May 25th, 2014, so very recent. I used American Express travel site to book. This looked good since it was on the waters and I wanted to take my wife for a weekend date. This part of the weekend, Sunday, was at the Foghorn. It was old, dirty, smells old and dirty. I was told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience at our hotel. We take pride in all our staff for using great care in cleaning and making sure our guests are comfortable. We are an older establishment so we try even harder to please our guests. We usually get compliments for the cleanliness of the rooms and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel

Address: 4140 Via Marina, Marina del Rey, CA 90292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foghorn Harbor Hotel Marina Del Rey
Hotel Foghorn Harbor

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (102)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Marina del Rey with
any amenities

Amenities

Hotel Style
#1 Best Value Hotel in #4 On the Beach Hotel in
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small, friendly, but big on details. "Diamond in the rough". Great location & finest city & Marina views. Cheesecake Factory Restaurant next door (package available). Close to Venice Boardwalk. Extensive complimentary continental breakfast, 7:00 am to 10:00 am. Coffee in lobby 24/7 with snacks. Free shuttle from LAX, on-site parking,free WiFi in all rooms, DVD's & desk-top computer with printer in lobby. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
23

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer