We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jolly Roger Hotel

2904 Washington Blvd., Marina del Rey, CA 90292
Hotel amenities
Jolly Roger Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015
Silvano D
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    57
    47
    9
    16
See reviews for
34
51
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (154)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Malibu, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Expedia'a description said that Jolly Roger was Pet friendly..But it's NOT..A Service Dog can go anywhere. They refused to take my reservation and keep referring us to a hotel in an undesirable neighborhood. .It is ILLEGAL to turn away a Service Dog so by doing so...they broke the law! Do not support law breakers...

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, General Manager at Jolly Roger Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry for your inconvenience but we do not accept pets. Expedia had listed us as doing so and we didn't realize until we had several guest showing up with their pets. That policy has since been removed from the sight. We are aware of the law regarding service dogs but the dog must have a tag indicating that... More 

Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

I should say UnJolly place :) We are definitely not going to stay there the next time and wouldn't recommend to others. Not too far from the beach, the room we stayed in was too much noise from the road and some people's conversation from the driveway. Not a very nice room that was assigned to us, smelly, looks like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

We check in late 11:30 pm Dan the person on the counter said it's their policy to charge the customer ahead of time for our 2 night stayed ok but odd. When I ask him more about our stay he said " I get off work at midnight I'm tired your tired so just go to your room and deal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David D, General Manager at Jolly Roger Hotel, responded to this review

In response to your review I would like to correct a few things. The problem started when you insisted that your room was paid for by your sister. Dan explained that we would need an authorization filled out by your sister in order to charge her card. I think that iits where the problem began. I do apologize if Dan... More 

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

This hotel is pretty good located but the room where I stayed had a smell no good and breakfast (included) was a little bit poor. The bed was comfortable and wi-fi connection (available in room and included) was good. The staff and the prices were okay. Good for short staying.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Things around Venice beach are pretty expensive but Jolly Roger is a good price and a great little walk to the beach. Clean rooms and cute little hot tub on a deck. Also comes with free breakfast which is quick and easy. Great hotel to stay at if you don't want to pay for parking at the beach. Highly recommended!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Drienov
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

Good hotel at very good lovation for traveling to main atractions around los angeles ( Santa monica, Hollywood boulvard, beverly hills ..... ) and it is also very close to Intl airport. Price for family is very affordable. Staff ( especially Dan ) was great. Price included also own cover parking with direct entrance to lift ( very good for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bordeaux, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014 via mobile

Good points : wifi, bed, space (enough and not too much), the price, the location, the quiet zone..., parking, good and nice employees! Bad point : bathroom very small but you can survive for 3 days :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David D, General Manager at Jolly Roger Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and am glad to inform you that I agree with your comments regarding our towel size. I have authorized the purchase of a larger and thicker towel which we have already began using. We will be phasing the smaller towels out of our inventory. We hope to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

This is good value for the location, 20 min walk to Venice pier down Washington Blvd. The room was basic but large with a refrigerator and microwave, wifi worked fine in the room. Could have had larger towels in the room if I was thinking about improvements. Breakfast included in the price which was reasonable, parking was in a secure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anaheim, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Needed a place to stay for the night as I was in town to watch a friend's band play down by the pier. This was a great location as only 1 mile walk to the pier area. Older hotel but very clean. Basic room, included small refrigerator, freezer, microwave and price included very basic continental breakfast in the morning. Staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Great location to access Venice Beach area. Rooms are basic but clean. Comfortable bed. Great outdoor hot tub. Nice outdoor patio for breakfast. Covered parking. Walking distance to beach and Boardwalk. We would definitely stay again when visiting this area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question