We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Marina hotels

Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   416 Reservation Rd, Marina, CA 93933 (Formerly Days Inn Marina)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
89%
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Marina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
  • Overview
  • Reviews (149)
  • Photos (28)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    46
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
33
42
14
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked through AAA, arrived at 9pm on July 4, and NO ROOMS!! They did not even secure a room for us somewhere else, even though there were comparable rooms available. They did not think they should have to pay the difference!! They tried to blame the whole thing on AAA, but AAA does not sell rooms hotels do not make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review

Snagwam It is our worst nightmare when we do no have a room for a customer. We are both caught by computers that have incorrectly settled the matter. We had no rooms to reserve and we had no record of that reservation. I do not even have any idea as to which computer in the chain of computers decided that... More

Spokane, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If there is any thing the owners can do for you to make your stay more enjoyable, they go out of their way to help you. They go above and beyond the call of duty. Our room was great, the tv was great and to be perfectly honest, the service you get here is better than a 300.00 room !!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review

LisaSkyy Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you for choosing us for your stay. When you tell us you had a great stay it makes all of our days. Thank you for continuing your stay in the face of obstacles as you have noted the Monterey Bay area is beautiful and very busy during... More

Apple Valley, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Based on other reviews here, we tried this one on a busy summer weekend when everything in the area was outrageously expensive. Wasn't even cheap here, but less than elsewhere. It definitely lived up to reviews - I gave it five circles, not because it's the most deluxe hotel, but because it exceeded my expectations. Staff were very welcoming and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review

BB1769 Thank you for both taking the time to write a review and for choosing us for your stay in the beautiful Monterey Bay area. We are a travelers choice motel, close to all of the Monterey sights but even in the summer more value priced. Sarah's team keep our large rooms fresh and clean. We just recently add HDTV... More

Marina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The road noise was quite loud and other room noise easily came into the room. I would recommend ear plugs and a white noise machine to try and get a full night sleep.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review

Matthew I am very sorry the road noise was a problem for you. There may have been options further back on our property that might have been a better fit four your needs. Thank you for staying with us and I am sorry that it was not a better experience for you. More

Lier, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Owner very friendly, nice rooms, good location. Breakfast room is a bit small, but not bothersome. Beach is just couple of miles away. Perfect place to stay when you're travelling through. Very close to Monterey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review

StevenBel Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you for choosing us for your stay. We offer large clean rooms that are kept clean and fresh by Sarah's team. Sarah puts out a great breakfast and of course has very good attendance. Our property is a traveler's choice as we are close to all of... More

San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel a lot and I couldn't believe this place. I've been to places that were more expensive that weren't as clean or as nice as this place. The staff was great and the breakfast was amazing!! There was so much food! Thank you. I would definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review

376Robert Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Sarah puts out a great breakfast and her team keep our large rooms clean and fresh. We are as you have noted a traveler's choice. Thank you again for choosing us for you stay in the Beautiful Monterey Bay area. More

Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place lives up to its reviews. The front staff was extra nice and helpful. Not the nicest hotel, but worth the money saved from staying at places in Monterey and close to the beach. Don't plan on spending the time in your room, or you'll be disappointed! Too many places nearby to go and the room isn't nice enough... More

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this review

David S Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As you have noted we are a travelers motel located close to all of the Monterey Bay sights but at Marina prices. Sarah's team keep our large rooms clean and fresh. We just recently upgraded all rooms to HDTV service. Thank you for staying with us at our... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay

Address: 416 Reservation Rd, Marina, CA 93933 (Formerly Days Inn Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
6:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
41

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer