We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Venice Beach Suites & Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
1305 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

411 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    197
    129
    45
    19
    21
See reviews for
71
173
44
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (411)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (148)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (110)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you are looking for action, people, street and beachlife, this might be the place for you. Could be noisy and wild at times. Some people find that comfortable. Quite expensive but lots of room for your dollars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt M, General Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review

Yes! I love reviews where people embrace our hotel for what it is! While our guests do find elements of this hotel experience relaxing - like the relative privacy and comfort of our roof-top deck - I wouldn't stay here expecting solitude and peace & quiet. Not to say that you can't get a good night's sleep - the nights... More 

Hatfield Heath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A great little hotel with a fantastic staff. A bit dated on the decoration front and the lift is 'original' (30's??) but always felt safe! Right on the promenade - somewhat of a trek to the actual sea across about 5 yds of pavement and then 2 yds of cycle path and then 200+yds of sand to the water -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt M, General Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Heather! Thank you for the kind words! You're spot on that our lift is original - 103 years old original! Her name is "Betsy" and we like to joke that they built the hotel around her... Since we restored our historic facade in March and finished our roof-top deck in July we have moved on to revamping our hallways... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We planned to go to Venice the night before we went. It was so last minute, we had nothing organized, and no expectations. For a couple in our twenties, just coming from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, we were so pleasantly surprised by all Venice had to offer. The streets, canals, culture and most of all, the food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt M, General Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review

We get all types of reservations here, from guests that literally plan a year (or more!) in advance to people that walk-in or call-in same day. No matter the level of planning, the shared trait of all of the guests that really enjoy this hotel experience is that they dive right into the eclectic culture and street-scene that is the... More 

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very disappointed with the quality of accommodation, no air-conditioning and overpriced for what you get. Rooms clean and cooking facilities handy. Also found staff to be very helpful but should've asked for late checkout instead of paying for extra night. Would've been more comfortable hanging around the airport

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt M, General Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Julie! We're sorry you were disappointed with your choice to stay two nights rather than just one. We have lots of guests that do just as you did to ensure that they can have a nap and/or a shower before a long flight. The reviewer right before you mentioned that they did just that and were very pleased with... More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We didn't stay overnight as we needed a place to stay on our 10 hour layover before our flight out to Sydney. Being close to the airport was a plus and it didn't take us long for our Uber driver to get us to the Venice Beach Suites. The hotel is old but we really loved the old time charm.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt M, General Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review

We're very glad you enjoyed your (brief) stay at our historic hotel in eclectic Venice Beach! We hope you stay longer next time! More 

Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is flawed by design. Without air conditioning the windows need to be open. With the windows open you are left to hear the sounds of the of the active alley way with vagrants roaming, whistling and crashing around at all hours of the night and in the morning the noises of construction. The sounds of people hollering at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt M, General Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write out the pros and cons of your stay with us, Patrick. As other reviewers have mentioned and I have explained, there are a few weeks each summer where it can get stuffy and hot and our historic hotel does not have air conditioning. It's been exciting to see all the guests heading out... More 

Upplands-Vasby, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a lovely time at this hotel just by the Beach. Just take your towel (which is free from the hotel) and go down to the water. Fantastic! The room were nice, clean and I like that they had a kitchen so you could make your own breakfast. Even cook dinner if you like. The bathroom were ok but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt M, General Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a detailed review; helpful information here... We're glad you took advantage of our beach towels and toys, the water has been wonderful this month! Don't forget to ask for your repeat guest discount if you come back for a follow-up visit! More 

Newport, RI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel itself is clean and a decent place to stay. You just have to know what you are getting and what the area is. Venice is a unique place where and this hotel is right smack dab in the middle of the action. You walk down an alley and then the boardwalk to get to the entrance. There are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt M, General Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review

You are right, this is a unique experience! I'm hopeful that your thoughts will help prospective guests determine if Venice in general and our hotel in specific is the right choice for a vacation spot. Thanks for staying with us! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I almost never give a perfect review, but I cannot tell a lie. Venice Beach Suites and Hotel was perfect. Andy the proprietor and Matt the manager could not have been more friendly and helpful. The room (partial ocean view on the third floor) was clean and comfortable, with all amenities expected in a suite: fridge, stove top, microwave, kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt M, General Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review

This hotel experience is only fully realized, understood and appreciated by adventurous travelers who are willing to immerse themselves in the culture of Venice Beach and embrace the quirks of this historic property. You are one of those adventurous, curious, open-minded travelers, Jinx, and thus, the perfect guest. Thank you and we are already looking forward to your next visit! More 

Bali, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thanks very much to Matt, Danielle, and Jasper for your hospitality. You guys helped us really feel like locals. My 2 kids and I stayed for 4 nights in room 405. From the moment we checked in with the extra bed set up to the late check out at the end, we felt like "guests". We loved the Venice boardwalk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt M, General Manager at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review

I was wonderful to have you and your children here, Justin. The three of you truly embraced the experience of staying here and made it your own. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

348 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (146)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (41)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
0:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (189)
Viewed
Beach (10)
Viewed
Ocean Front Studio Suite (45)
Viewed
Partial View Queen Studio (45)
Viewed
Queen Studio (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#40 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#29 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#21 of 339 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#161 of 339 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Venice
Venice Suites
Venice Suites
#4 of 57 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Venice

Neighborhood Profile
Venice
Venice has always danced to its own beat as the epicenter of bohemian culture in Los Angeles. Along the boardwalk there are street performers and local craftsmen selling their wares. Original paintings, souvenirs, and jewelry are on display. Crowds of visitors marvel at the sites while weightlifting enthusiasts pump iron in plain view, and skateboarders do their tricks around the skate park. All of it happens under the warm California sun with sprawling views of sand and sea. Heading east, the main drags of Abbot Kinney Boulevard and Main Street are lined with boutique shops, some major retail stores, art galleries and restaurants. Here the ambiance is more relaxed and upscale than the frenetic boardwalk area. Venice is a mostly walkable (and certainly bikeable) neighborhood, full of areas to explore.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay