We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 324 Los Angeles hotels

Historic Mayfair Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1256 West 7th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Downtown)
Hotel amenities
Historic Mayfair Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Mayfair Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #195 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
MikeH001 St. George, Utah
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    53
    83
    32
    31
See reviews for
34
65
20
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (213)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
St. George, Utah
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This lovely old hotel is located downtown within easy walking distance of the financial, fashion, theater and jewelry districts of LA. Though a bit rundown it's not a bad place to stay. Now I cannot lie, I did have some issues so buckle up as I have a tale to tell. Upon arrival I really liked the interior of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for giving us such a detailed account of your stay. As you mentioned, we are starting renovations, and feedback like yours is going to help us make sure we're improving everything our guests have brought to our attention. Though it sounds like Teena and the other members of our staff already apologize for the noisy neighbor, I... More 

Halifax, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not only is the Hotel elegant and in a nice peaceful part of L.A but the staff was very pleasant and welcoming. The rooms were awesome as well, we payed for a double bedroom and got a room with a living room attached to it with a desk and extra bathroom as well as a couch! The room service did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

This is fantastic to read. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your room, as well as the rest of the hotel. We'd love to have you back again next yet. Best, Mike Shoffit, General Manager More 

Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I know people probably read reviews like this and think that its full of over reacting idiots BUTi swear to you this hotel is the worst. Never have i felt so unsafe in all my life. The nightmare started in the taxi on the way. The driver couldn't fathom why we would ever choose to say here, (we explained that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

First and foremost, I am very sorry to hear that you felt unsafe at our hotel. We always want our guests to feel comfortable and relaxed while they're staying with, so to hear you had the opposite experience is disappointing. I want you to know we do have security, and of course take the security of our guests extremely seriously.... More 

Wellington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We got a good deal on this hotel, and took a risk after seeing some of the reviews weren't that good. However it was OK. The only thing was the carpet was dirty. I don't mind old fittings, and the bed was fine. Bathroom OK, with good towels, shampoos etc. It was close to town, and had free Wifi. If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback! We're going through renovations right now, and new carpet is definitely on the list of things being done. We're really excited about our new look, and hope you'll stay with us again once it's all completed. Best, Mike Shoffit, General Manager More 

San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Worst experience of my life!! I was not expecting a palace, since I know that you get what you get what you pay for, but this place seriously gets the garbage pail award! Booked 3 nights, planning to find something else in the morning and demanding my money back. Places like this should not be in business!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lompoc, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We picked this hotel to stay the night after a concert at the staples center which is only a 5 minute cab drive away. It's an old place that has been/is being renovated. Rooms are small but clean ,the lobby is actually quite nice. Unlike some other reviewers I had no issue whatsoever with the service level. If you're ok... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

What a perfect spot to stay for the concert! We may be a no frills kind of place, but we're glad you enjoyed our cozy, clean charm. Hope you had fun at your show. Until next time, Mike Shoffit, General Manager More 

London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We stayed here for a single night in May, the location is convenient, within walking distance of downtown LA. However, the reception service was slow or non-existent, we were either left waiting or were asked to come back later for assistance. The room was extremely small, with an even smaller bathroom...I could only just manage to open/close the door whilst... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

It's a disappointment you didn't enjoy your stay here more. While I'm happy the location worked at well for you, it's upsetting to hear that service wasn't prompt and you struggled with your room. However, I'm pleased you were able to try out our breakfast. Take care, Mike Shoffit, General Manager More 

Chattanooga
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

I usually do not write reviews if I can not give at least 4 stars, but for the Mayfair, I am making an exception. It was less than several other hotels in downtown LA but still not cheap, and we would have been much better off with a chain hotel like Holiday Inn or Travelodge. The room was nasty and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

I'm really sorry to hear you weren't happier with your stay here. We take cleanliness very seriously, so to hear you describe your room as "nasty" is really surprising. If there was something wrong with it, I hope you alerted the front desk, as we would have attempted to move you to another suite. As for the parking issues, I... More 

San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

My wife and I were in Los Angeles for a concert at the Staples Center and we need a place to stay over night that didn't cost a fortune. So, we found the Historic Mayfair, the pictures online look decent enough, but once we got there and saw it in person, it wasn't worth the 3 stars that it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Truly disappointed to hear you didn't have a better time during your stay with us, Joseph. We're definitely aware of a lot of the issues we have and are working to fix them. We're currently going through a huge renovation project that will address a lot of the issues you and others have brought up. Thanks, Mike Shoffit, General Manager More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

I live 40 miles from downtown LA. I had to attend training in convention center and decided to avoid traffic and get a good night sleep by staying here.....only 2 miles away. Guess what? Noise of other guests at 2 am till 4 am in unreal. Banging on the wall, screaming down the hall way....I couldn't sleep at all. At... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

I am truly so sorry to hear about this, Farhad. When you stay at a hotel you want it to be a restful, peaceful experience -- getting woken up in the middle of the night is the opposite of that. Because our hotel is so large, we unfortunately were probably unable to hear the noise -- otherwise we would have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Historic Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Mayfair Hotel

Address: 1256 West 7th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Mayfair Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Historic Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Los Angeles
Mayfair Los Angeles
Mayfair Hotel La

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay