We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 328 Los Angeles hotels

Historic Mayfair Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1256 West 7th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017
Hotel amenities
Historic Mayfair Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Mayfair Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #199 of 328 Hotels in Los Angeles
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
dibble56 Portadown, United Kingdom
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    57
    86
    37
    33
See reviews for
36
70
22
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (227)
  • Mar-May only
    (57)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
northumberland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars NEW

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights last week , and it was very tatty . Rooms were shabby . Stains on the carpets . Net curtains looked if they had Neva been washed in twenty years . Cudnt get anything to eat . It looked to be in a rough area of Los angles . Did not go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portadown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for 4 nights on a short break and can only with what a lot of people have said. The bathroom was very small carpets worn and frayed . The hotel is set in a dodgy area and the only saving grace is its closeness to the Metro for transport to other areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had one night to kill back in LA before my flight back to Australia and wanted to see a different area… I wish I hadn't. The hotel itself is ok; old and rundown but still clean and secure. Staff were friendly. There is not much in the area at all though, and I felt a bit unsafe walking around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you're on a budget and like history, this is for you. Very cute inside. Its very old, they've constantly renovating this hotel. But they don't do it in order. I was in room 703 and carpet was worn, fan and one of the lights in bathroom didn't work .Oh yeah its a ADA room (handicap room).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

This hotel is such a huge disappointment! I checked in about 20 minutes ago and just got off the phone with Orbitz to cancel my stay. Orbitz had it advertised as a 4.2 star - such a lie!! 2 star at BEST. The shower is absolutely disgusting. There are all sorts of stains on the curtains - some appear to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Very few nice words to say about this place. From the moment we got to the hotel I had instant regrets about booking this place. When we got there the guy at the front desk was very rude to me and my partner. And had very limited English skills. He tried to tell us as 11pm at night that we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel through Agoda as the price was reasonable and the location was good (near Staples center)! Decided to read the reviews on this hotel only after a few weeks I booked it. Imagine my horror and shock when I read the reviews on here and other sites. I got really scared and wanted to book another hotel. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so happy that you decided to give us a "go!" It's great to hear how much you loved our lobby and how wonderful Teena was at welcoming you and getting you settled. However, I do want to thank you for the feedback about the breakfast hours. Additionally, I appreciate you leaving that information about the car service -- I... More 

St. George, Utah
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

This lovely old hotel is located downtown within easy walking distance of the financial, fashion, theater and jewelry districts of LA. Though a bit rundown it's not a bad place to stay. Now I cannot lie, I did have some issues so buckle up as I have a tale to tell. Upon arrival I really liked the interior of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for giving us such a detailed account of your stay. As you mentioned, we are starting renovations, and feedback like yours is going to help us make sure we're improving everything our guests have brought to our attention. Though it sounds like Teena and the other members of our staff already apologize for the noisy neighbor, I... More 

Halifax, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Not only is the Hotel elegant and in a nice peaceful part of L.A but the staff was very pleasant and welcoming. The rooms were awesome as well, we payed for a double bedroom and got a room with a living room attached to it with a desk and extra bathroom as well as a couch! The room service did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

This is fantastic to read. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your room, as well as the rest of the hotel. We'd love to have you back again next yet. Best, Mike Shoffit, General Manager More 

Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

I know people probably read reviews like this and think that its full of over reacting idiots BUTi swear to you this hotel is the worst. Never have i felt so unsafe in all my life. The nightmare started in the taxi on the way. The driver couldn't fathom why we would ever choose to say here, (we explained that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

First and foremost, I am very sorry to hear that you felt unsafe at our hotel. We always want our guests to feel comfortable and relaxed while they're staying with, so to hear you had the opposite experience is disappointing. I want you to know we do have security, and of course take the security of our guests extremely seriously.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Historic Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Mayfair Hotel

Address: 1256 West 7th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Mayfair Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, BookIt.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Historic Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Los Angeles
Mayfair Los Angeles
Mayfair Hotel La

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay