We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 323 Los Angeles hotels

Historic Mayfair Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1256 West 7th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017 (Downtown)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Historic Mayfair Hotel to your Saves list
Historic Mayfair Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
32%
Ranked #193 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
AndriyM94 Wildwood, New Jersey
  • Overview
  • Reviews (189)
  • Photos (64)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (27)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    48
    75
    28
    25
See reviews for
31
53
20
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wildwood, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have stayed at the Mayfair Last August for 3 nights the hotel was good for the price. The rooms could have been cleaner. the price was very decent compared to most LA hotels. The breakfast was also okay could have been cheaper though. the curtains were dirty and the maids were annoying knocking on our door so early. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The most dirtiest place I have ever stayed in my life. The GM should be embarrassed offering such a dirty room to people . Being old does not mean having blood stain on the sheet and the bed skirt. Having shaved hair in the song . The bathroom floor was not mopped or vacuumed . A little Clorox would have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We only booked one night, thankfully. When we arrived the lobby looked nice. It was a little warm but thought that was probably just the common area, boy was I wrong,. The rooms were hot and no way to make them cooler. They were extremely small and the carpet was nasty. The bath was also small and hot water was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

I never want to read that we were a disappointment to one of our guests, Stephanie. I'm so sorry to hear you found the temperature uncomfortable, and wish you would have alerted our staff -- we definitely could have fixed this for you. Additionally, whenever you were awoken by your neighbors, we would have immediately tried to remedy this situation... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

PLEASE DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!!!! I Don't even know where to begin. The room was so disgusting that we did not sleep in it. We just left our bags in it and was in the lobby the whole stay. I took bunch of pics to show to everyone in the world. TripAdvisor ashamed to put such a bad hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

It's disheartening to know you found your room so unacceptable, Yoann. If you alerted our staff of the issue, and they didn't attempt to remedy it, I truly apologize. If not, I really do wish you would have spoken to someone about the problem. If you have any more concerns, I advise you to contact us directly. Thanks, Mike Shoffit,... More

Stewart Manor, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Please please please stay far away from this hotel. Staying here was a disturbing experience. I refused to sleep under the covers and I am currently at home washing all of my clothes at the highest allowable temperature. Their beds were about the size of cots and the room was in disgraceful condition. I don't usually post about accommodations but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear about your displeasure with your stay, John. I can assure you that all of our rooms are cleaned daily. We take great care to wash linens at high temperatures, and if you felt uncomfortable with yours, we would have been happy to provide different ones. With that being said, descriptions of the beds are on our... More

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The name itself reflects that it is an old hotel. It is only an economic choice to stay at this hotel due to walking distance to restaurants, bus stand, railway station and tour buses. Reasonably tidy rooms and breakfast available at the ground floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Great to see you found our location convenient and our hotel economical, Nagan. Keeping clean, comfortable rooms is our main priority, so I'm happy to hear you were able to enjoy that. Take care, Mike Shoffit, General Manager More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

*Terrible showers *Took towels but never replaced them *2 singles pushed together doesn't constitute a king *A/C smelt bad and we were unable to turn it off so we had to listen to it all night *Extra charges we weren't made aware of *The suite access cards were notoriously hard to get to work and took 2 minutes sometimes *Pillows... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

It's disappointing to hear you didn't enjoy our stay with us, Sam. By the problems you listed, I can definitely understand your frustrations. Cleanliness is key for a comfortable stay at any hotel, so I'm sorry you didn't find your room up to par. Had you alerted our front desk, I'm sure we could have moved you to a different... More

San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

just stopped in LA for 2 nights at the Mayfair Hotel. great location, best value for price and very friendly and attentive service staff. rooms are clean and well sound proofed and the lobby is very nice. parking is inexpensive and a seven eleven around the corner...so far hotel with best value for price we experienced in LA...will be back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

So happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us! We love being able to provide a clean, comfortable place for people to stay in LA. I can't wait to have you back next year -- we'll be looking forward to it. Best, Mike Shoffit, General Manager More

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located in a somewhat sketchy neighborhood but a convenient walk to downtown. Toilet wouldn't flush well. Shower head wouldn't stay up. Only the hot water worked. Curtains were stained. But bed and room were clean. So why even 2 stars? For the price it was ok. Parking at 14 with in/out is reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback, Linden. While I'm happy found our location convenient, I'm sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with some of the aspects of your stay. An old hotel is bound to have its quirks, but I'm happy you found your room to be clean and comfortable. We'll soon be going through renovations that... More

Cork
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really good price for a decent hotel in downtown LA. Rooms are clean and facilities good. Only 5-10mim walk to train station and Macy's. Really good concierge service so you can do all your tourist trips from the hotel. Would stay in Santa Monica though if I had my way again, nicer area than downtown

Was this review helpful? Yes
MayfairLA, Owner at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

It's great to know you found our hotel to be reasonably priced and clean -- both points are very important to us. Additionally, I'm happy you got to utilize our well-informed concierge service while staying with us. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy staying downtown more, but we do hope you'd stay with us again. Take care, Mike More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Historic Mayfair Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Historic Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Mayfair Hotel

Address: 1256 West 7th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90017
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Mayfair Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Historic Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Los Angeles
Mayfair Los Angeles
Mayfair Hotel La

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Los Angeles with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Historic Mayfair Hotel in the heart of downtown Los Angeles was the tallest building west of the Mississippi when it was built in 1926. We maintain the American charm of the Roaring Twenties with marble floors, brass fixtures, glass etchings, and fluted column pillars. Modern amenities have been added for your comfort while preserving the grandeur of Old World elegance. With 295 rooms available for guests with King, Queen, Twin full sized or single beds, the Historic Mayfair Hotel offers an affordable stay surrounded by the vibrancy of city life. Our convenient location allows guests to explore all of Los Angeles from the beautiful hillsides of Beverly Hills to the cultural hotspots of Hollywood. If you're looking for a home away from home enjoy our junior suites with a lounge area, refrigerator, and microwave, or our executive suite with a dining room and kitchenette. The Celebrity, our onsite dining, serves a full breakfast daily with a variety of hot and cold options for guests. The location of the first post Academy Awards party in 1929, the Historic Mayfair Hotel is the optimal choice for those looking to discover the architecture, culture and history of Los Angeles at reasonable rates. Our tenured and experienced staff is here to make you feel relaxed and comfortable at our hotel, and ensure that you have a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
295

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Historic Mayfair Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer