We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
818 North Hill Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
2 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    93
    97
    69
    35
    22
See reviews for
81
71
27
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (316)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (77)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (79)
All months
Idyllwild, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This BW is located in the heart of Chinatown and is an older building that has been updated. The room was nice, and our two nights were pretty quiet (very important in my book!). The breakfast offered was good - pancakes, waffles, eggs, cereal, pastries, etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The staff at the front counter and in the garage were friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and while a bit stuffy nothing that opening the window a bit and turning on the fan did not cure. The breakfast was basic and economical. It was kept fresh and attractively arranged. A solid value for the price and a... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bega, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stay somewhere else. The rooms are stuffy. The breakfast menu says scrambled eggs, but they are not there and you have to ask for them and then you get about 2 tablespoons on a small paper plate. The staff were friendly but this is probably the only plus for this hotel. It was very disappointing as this was part of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in Mid April 2015. Room was quite Big and comfortable. BUT Their service was really bad. The Ambiance of the place is quite not up to a Plus! Even their breakfast was nothing good... simply average. Their staff is very unfriendly and act as if they've paid us to stay, really unprofessional. I won't write down examples bcuz I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed for two nights at this hotel in late-May 2015. Using the Best Western website, I was easily able to make my reservation and to request the type of guest room I wanted. Check-in and check-out were accomplished quickly. While I have encountered more outwardly charming front desk staff before, I really cannot complain. The basics were all handled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dragongateinn, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. This is a very detailed review and I'm glad we met your expectations. Again, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Great location if you're a walker: walked from LA Union Station to hotel (15-20 mins) and walked to/from Dodgers game. That's a long walk uphill (down hill coming home) so not for little kids or seniors. Probably not too safe after dark, either. Room was clean, quiet, very nice size. Front desk staff very helpful. Surprised to find two complimentary... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dragongateinn, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review

Hello Jenne C; Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn for your Dodger vacation. The staff takes great pride in providing excellent customer service and cleanliness for our guests. We hope to serve you in the future. Regards, Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Absolutely nice. I loved how spacious the rooms were and how the front desk was so friendly. I was greeted nicely. Then everything in the room was great. I have no complaints and am planning future stays there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dragongateinn, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review

Hello Mamie: Thank you for staying with us. Glad you enjoyed everything we had to offer. We look forward to serving you in the future. Regards, Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

Clean yet not cosy... Staff is rigid and not too welcoming. You are charged for anything...parking...laundry and a bad breakfast. The coffee is horrible and the food looks for yesterday. All in all if you have to stay there book no food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dragongateinn, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review

Hello Nassim: I'm sorry you didn't like your stay. In the future, if there is something else you would rather have for breakfast, please just ask our breakfast attendants. We can make specialty vegan items or if there is something else we don't carry they might be able to get it for you. As for the charges for laundry, I'm... More 

California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

I enjoyed my experience at this hotel. The room was spacious and the location was very convenient. The hotel staff, from the front desk to the breakfast staff, were VERY gracious and helpful. I inquired about places to eat within walking distance and the front desk provided me with a map and detailed information about local eateries. (There are several... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dragongateinn, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review

Hello Rachael: Thank you for your kind words. Our entire staff takes great pride in providing excellent customer service. Glad you were able to enjoy are the nearby attractions. Regards and safe travels, Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn More 

United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

i enjoyed my visit here. i've stayed prior to this visit but didnt have a chance to write a review on TA. i use it frequently for going to dodger night games. viva los doyers! i love the mini breakfast sandwiches and quench my thirst with the OJ

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dragongateinn, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Kirby for always choosing to stay with us. There are many choices you can stay with and we are grateful that you continue to choose to stay with us for the Dodger Games. I hope you were able to take advantage of the free shuttle that leaves Union Station. If not, the shuttle runs 90 minutes before game... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay