We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunes Inn - Sunset

5625 Sunset Blvd., Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    66
    106
    78
    25
    13
See reviews for
59
95
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (288)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for the first few nights of our honeymoon. While this is not a five star establishment, they offered a clean room close to all the Hollywood sites. The staff were super friendly & helpful. The Internet was free & fast (unlike some other more expensive places we have stayed). If you want to save a few dollars... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of our hotel and for the recommendation. We do pride ourselves on having extremely helpful and friendly staff and I appreciate you taking the time to mention it. I hope the rest of your honeymoon went well and you come and stay with us again soon. Peter R, More 

Skipton, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For your old style motel in Hollywood this is it. The room was nice, clean, plenty of space. It had a café adjoining to it the meals were perfect, The service at both were spot on. It was a 20min walk to Walk of Fame. The day we left they were actually doing a tv show at the café that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel. Being in Hollywood, the film Companies use the premises on a fairly regular basis and the guests DO enjoy it despite the chaos at times. Thank you also for recommending us and we would love to see you again. Peter R. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I loved it! The room is simple, but very clean. Staff are all nice and helpful! People say neighborhood is danger, but didn't see anything... The parking is free and very nice... I would totally come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review of our hotel. We are in a good location and I, too, don't think the area is that bad. I hope you will stay with us again if you return to Hollywood. Peter R. More 

Anaheim, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Peter on the front desk during day was extremely helpful, made several calls for us and put up with our million bags in his office for most of our last day, hotel is clean, and will try their best to accommodate whatever you need. Thanks for a great stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your excellent review of our hotel. It is always nice to be recognized by name and I remember your group for being a pleasure to have staying with us (and I certainly remember your million bags). It was less than a week since you were here so I thank you for writing so quickly. Take... More 

Uk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Good hotel in a good location at an affordable price! The rooms are clean and tidy, and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a good location, within walking distance to the chinese theatre, the walk of fame etc. There an underground metro station just round the corner to take you to union station, or to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your excellent review of our hotel. We are in a good location and it is that fact and reviews like yours that help us tremendously. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future. Peter R. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is very welcoming, we highly recommend it. We were a bit early and it was no problem to check in. The rooms are clean. We recommend the restaurant as Well, good food and you get a discount as a guest of the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review of our hotel.We always aim to please and I think you for taking the trouble to write. Peter R. More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

We like hotel. Very clean and everything ok. Everyday clean towels and sheets. Little far from walk of fame etc. If you walk but with car is easy to get everywhere. The area is restless, lot of homeless.. Some nights the noice from streets and another rooms was loud, but you hear that only if you wake 😄.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you found our rooms clean. I am sorry that you experienced some traffic noise and a few loud guests. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about that and I hope it didn't spoiler stay with us. Peter R. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Upon arriving to the Dunes I wasn't expecting much however I was pleasantly surprised by the convenience and the friendliness of the staff there, helping us with some luggage issues and also helping us with some tours and some places to check out whilst in Los Angeles. A very clean room and easy parking access for us. Try to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We pride ourselves in having a helpful and friendly staff and I appreciate you taking the trouble to mention it. I hope the traffic noise didn't spoil your stay with us and that you will do so again if you return to Hollywood. Peter R. More 

Redlands, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

Room was clean and relatively updated. I was a little disappointed that the bar was not open. The website show a bar on the property but every time we went it was closed. Oh well. Also, even though I pre-paid for the room I still had to put $150 on my credit card upon arrival for deposit. They refunded it... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your stay here! We're sorry about the deposit, but it is just a policy that we, along with many other hotels follow just as a precaution with all our guests. The money is immediately placed back into accounts after checkout, so it should never be a problem. We hope that next time you visit the city,... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 via mobile

Great place to stay! Good deals easy to get everywhere you want to go. Good diner with friendly staff even got a discount off the owner. Happy to stay here again if we are in Hollywood for another holiday

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel and restaurant. I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you here again someday. Peter R. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

296 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (134)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Double Full Room (23)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (22)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (28)
Viewed
Single Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (108)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Hollywood

Neighborhood Profile
Hollywood
Hollywood undoubtedly conjures up images of movie stars and high-end lifestyles, and to this day, tourists flock here from around the world to see the iconic Hollywood Walk of Fame, Chinese Theatre and to catch a glimpse of the famed Hollywood sign up close. Celebrity impersonators and crowds give these areas the feeling of an amusement park while many clubs and hotels fill up around the weekends for late-night partying - the Hollywood club scene is a haven for thumping music and table-side bottle service. But parties aren’t the only way to enjoy this area, many visitors come to the neighborhood to sit back with a picnic to watch a performance at the Hollywood Bowl and those looking to stay fit trek along nature trails in the Hollywood hills and in Griffith Park.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay