We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunes Inn - Sunset

5625 Sunset Blvd., Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Add Photo Write a Review

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    63
    103
    77
    25
    13
See reviews for
57
92
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (281)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Anaheim, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Peter on the front desk during day was extremely helpful, made several calls for us and put up with our million bags in his office for most of our last day, hotel is clean, and will try their best to accommodate whatever you need. Thanks for a great stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your excellent review of our hotel. It is always nice to be recognized by name and I remember your group for being a pleasure to have staying with us (and I certainly remember your million bags). It was less than a week since you were here so I thank you for writing so quickly. Take... More 

Uk
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good hotel in a good location at an affordable price! The rooms are clean and tidy, and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a good location, within walking distance to the chinese theatre, the walk of fame etc. There an underground metro station just round the corner to take you to union station, or to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your excellent review of our hotel. We are in a good location and it is that fact and reviews like yours that help us tremendously. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future. Peter R. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is very welcoming, we highly recommend it. We were a bit early and it was no problem to check in. The rooms are clean. We recommend the restaurant as Well, good food and you get a discount as a guest of the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review of our hotel.We always aim to please and I think you for taking the trouble to write. Peter R. More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We like hotel. Very clean and everything ok. Everyday clean towels and sheets. Little far from walk of fame etc. If you walk but with car is easy to get everywhere. The area is restless, lot of homeless.. Some nights the noice from streets and another rooms was loud, but you hear that only if you wake 😄.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you found our rooms clean. I am sorry that you experienced some traffic noise and a few loud guests. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about that and I hope it didn't spoiler stay with us. Peter R. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Upon arriving to the Dunes I wasn't expecting much however I was pleasantly surprised by the convenience and the friendliness of the staff there, helping us with some luggage issues and also helping us with some tours and some places to check out whilst in Los Angeles. A very clean room and easy parking access for us. Try to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We pride ourselves in having a helpful and friendly staff and I appreciate you taking the trouble to mention it. I hope the traffic noise didn't spoil your stay with us and that you will do so again if you return to Hollywood. Peter R. More 

Redlands, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

Room was clean and relatively updated. I was a little disappointed that the bar was not open. The website show a bar on the property but every time we went it was closed. Oh well. Also, even though I pre-paid for the room I still had to put $150 on my credit card upon arrival for deposit. They refunded it... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your stay here! We're sorry about the deposit, but it is just a policy that we, along with many other hotels follow just as a precaution with all our guests. The money is immediately placed back into accounts after checkout, so it should never be a problem. We hope that next time you visit the city,... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 via mobile

Great place to stay! Good deals easy to get everywhere you want to go. Good diner with friendly staff even got a discount off the owner. Happy to stay here again if we are in Hollywood for another holiday

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel and restaurant. I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you here again someday. Peter R. More 

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

The room was clean and looked as thought it had recently been redecorated, but the furniture was a little shabby. Good location for the freeway and the walk of fame, but no good restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel from which I was sorry to learn that you felt you would not want to stay with us for more than one night. Fortunately, your opinion is in the minority as almost all of the reviews we receive are extremely positive. Nevertheless, I value all opinions and take the comments into consideration.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We stayed here for 1 night in late March, and we would definitely stay again. Excellent location only a 5 minute walk from the metro rail link. The hotel itself was extremely clean, with spacious rooms and comfy beds. The bathroom was small but clean, with a good shower. The TV had cable with a wide selection of channels. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel. Yes, we are in a good location which has always been a great selling point. Thank you, too, for your comments about our clean rooms and friendly staff. Peter R. More 

Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

I enjoyed my stay at the Dunes Inn. The room was lovely, clean and spacious. It was great to have free Wi-Fi. The only downside I found was the location. It's not in a great neighbourhood and I didn't feel safe walking from here to any of the major sites in Hollywood. It's close to many fast food outlets but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for you kind review of our hotel. We are in great location close to the major tourist attractions and we very get few complaints about the area not being safe. I am pleased that your opinion in that regard will not deter you from staying with us again. Thank you again for taking the trouble to write. Peter... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

269 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (134)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Double Full Room (23)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (22)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (28)
Viewed
Single Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Hollywood

Neighborhood Profile
Hollywood
Hollywood undoubtedly conjures up images of movie stars and high-end lifestyles, and to this day, tourists flock here from around the world to see the iconic Hollywood Walk of Fame, Chinese Theatre and to catch a glimpse of the famed Hollywood sign up close. Celebrity impersonators and crowds give these areas the feeling of an amusement park while many clubs and hotels fill up around the weekends for late-night partying - the Hollywood club scene is a haven for thumping music and table-side bottle service. But parties aren’t the only way to enjoy this area, many visitors come to the neighborhood to sit back with a picnic to watch a performance at the Hollywood Bowl and those looking to stay fit trek along nature trails in the Hollywood hills and in Griffith Park.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay