We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 323 Los Angeles hotels

Dunes Inn - Sunset

2.5 of 5 Motel   |   5625 Sunset Blvd., Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Save Saved
You added Dunes Inn - Sunset to your Saves list
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
60%
Ranked #111 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
DW1208 Adelaide
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    75
    55
    21
    11
See reviews for
41
68
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

Positiv: location Negative : wifi is simply not usable, have to get out of the room to have something. Air conditioner is like sleeping next to an Boeing engine, don't forget your earplug, fun facts: it doesn't blow fresh air... My advise for the price, go somewhere else. This is way overpriced, should be 1 star only.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is essentially a motel in a very sketchy area that has good access to some popular areas of LA as long as you have a car. Got this hotel on hotwire.com and almost made me never use hotwire again. It was listed as a 3-star hotel, which really surprised my wife and I because there is no doubt that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

I have, today, received your review of our Establishment and was surprised to see that it was over nine months since you were here which makes me wonder why you are writing now! I also think that much of what you said was inappropriate and inaccurate. You will hear sirens of emergency vehicles going by at all hours because Sunset... More

Adelaide
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was very clean and tidy, great location, short walk to the tourist attractions. Staff were very attentive and would go above and beyond to help with any question we had and if they were unsure they spent time researching it for us. we even had trouble renting a car and they called for over 30 mins until we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of our Establishment. We pride ourselves on our friendly and helpful front office staff and it is nice guests go to the trouble to actually comment on it. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again. Peter R. More

Vancouver Coast and Mountains, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When I travel I like to stay close to the places I want to see or experience and I tend to want to spend more money getting there than spending on places to stay. This was a bit different as LA is fairly expensive. We chose the Dunes Inn based on location, cost and Trip Advisor reviews. We were not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of our Establishment. Yes, we are in a great location and that has always been a good selling point. We pride ourselves on all our staff being helpful and friendly and I am pleased that you you experienced that first hand. We look forward to you staying with us again, should your return to... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights. Nice remodeled rooms (clean and modern interior). Friendly and professional personnel. The staff gave us all kinds of tips about the area. Great place to stay if you're city hopping and it's nearby most of the "must see" places.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of our Establishment. The front office staff greatly appreciated your kind comments. I hope you will stay with us again. Peter R. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was ok. Rooms are very outdated, but clean. The TL lights, old TV and curtains didn't support a comfortable atmosphere and setting. The most important thing is that our room was clean, but we will not book this hotel again, because it didn't feel good and cosy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Establishment. First of all, may I say that I was pleased that you found our rooms to be very clean. I am, however, wondering whether you are reviewing the right hotel as you refer to the "old curtains". We have not had curtains in the rooms since we remodeled two years ago! We... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Simple and clean motel, very friendly staff. They told us the places we should go to and gave us information so that was great. There are also nice restaurants nearby. Good location in Hollywood! I recommend this place and we had a great time there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of our Establishment. Yes, we do pride ourselves on having friendly and helpful staff and I am glad you took the time to point it out. You are right about our great location. Many people comment on it. I hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Hollywood. Peter R. More

Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Really good location, about a 20 minute walk from the Walk of Fame, and half a block from the subway station. The room itself was quite small and dated, with an old tv and tacky bed covers. The hairdryer was so-so, but the shower was awful. The drain was blocked, and the bathtub filled up with water as we showered.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Establishment. I am pleased that you thought our location was excellent and worth mentioning. The improvements to our rooms are a work in progress. New Flat screen TV's are being installed as we speak. In addition, new bedspreads have been ordered and should be on the beds within the week. I apologize for... More

Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed here from 14 - 18 July 2014. It was a good hotel. If all you need is a bed to crash into after a long day out. I was greeted by friendly staff on arrival and the different people on shifts were fantastic, especially a gentlemen named John...who went out of his way to assist with flights and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Establishment from which I was pleased to note that you thought our front desk staff were friendly and helpful. They do appreciate people taking the time to point that out. Yes, the rooms are a little on the small side, but, as you say, most people use it just to sleep after a... More

Bydgoszcz, Kujawsko-Pomorskie, Poland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Me and my husband stayed at Dunes for one night while on our trip to universal Studios. Hotel has a great location- in Hollywood, with a good access to nice little shops and bars around. Rooms are small, all have air con and a hairdryer. Parking is free for guests. Nearby you can find Starbucks and Subway for food, or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Establishment. Yes, the rooms are a little on the small side, but they are comfortable and clean. As you say, we are in a great location for most things and we have very few complaints. Thank you again for your recommendation. Peter R. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Dunes Inn - Sunset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Dunes Inn - Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Inn - Sunset

Address: 5625 Sunset Blvd., Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunes Inn - Sunset 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, T4B, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Dunes Inn - Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Inn - Sunset Hotel Los Angeles

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Los Angeles with
any amenities