We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunes Inn - Sunset

2.5 of 5 5625 Sunset Blvd., Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    76
    59
    21
    12
See reviews for
42
72
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (219)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
West Hollywood, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you're looking for a comfortable motel that isn't to expensive but is still close to the hustle and bustle of Hollywood than this is a very good choice. There is a small reception area with very friendly and helpfull staff. The rooms are clean, not very big. A decent size bed with a good hard matras, the pillows are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Establishment. The front office staff greatly appreciated your kind comments. I don't, of course, know the days you stayed but our restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner Monday - Friday but closed on weekends and I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. If guests require any additional amenities... More

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Dunes Inn is in a good location for the Hollywood Walk of Fame, which is walking distance away. Staff were very helpful, and organised our Hollywood Tour to pick us up from the hotel. Rooms were clean but quite small, and the TVs definitely need to be updated. Great location for Universal studios, which was 15 minutes drive away. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for you great review of our Establishment from which I was pleased to note that you thought my Front Office staff were friendly and helpful - we aim to please. we are in a good location and that is a great asset. I apologize for the early morning phone call. I can only think it was a guest... More

Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014 via mobile

Positiv: location Negative : wifi is simply not usable, have to get out of the room to have something. Air conditioner is like sleeping next to an Boeing engine, don't forget your earplug, fun facts: it doesn't blow fresh air... My advise for the price, go somewhere else. This is way overpriced, should be 1 star only.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

I am pleased you liked our location, at least. Fortunately your other, negative comments, are in the minority and are somewhat exaggerated. Your Boeing engine comment, for example. THere is no such thing as a completely silent A/C but they are not THAT bad otherwise all the guests would be complaining. With regard to the "unusable" wi-fi, I admit there... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

This is essentially a motel in a very sketchy area that has good access to some popular areas of LA as long as you have a car. Got this hotel on hotwire.com and almost made me never use hotwire again. It was listed as a 3-star hotel, which really surprised my wife and I because there is no doubt that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

I have, today, received your review of our Establishment and was surprised to see that it was over nine months since you were here which makes me wonder why you are writing now! I also think that much of what you said was inappropriate and inaccurate. You will hear sirens of emergency vehicles going by at all hours because Sunset... More

Adelaide
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Our room was very clean and tidy, great location, short walk to the tourist attractions. Staff were very attentive and would go above and beyond to help with any question we had and if they were unsure they spent time researching it for us. we even had trouble renting a car and they called for over 30 mins until we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of our Establishment. We pride ourselves on our friendly and helpful front office staff and it is nice guests go to the trouble to actually comment on it. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again. Peter R. More

Vancouver Coast and Mountains, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

When I travel I like to stay close to the places I want to see or experience and I tend to want to spend more money getting there than spending on places to stay. This was a bit different as LA is fairly expensive. We chose the Dunes Inn based on location, cost and Trip Advisor reviews. We were not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of our Establishment. Yes, we are in a great location and that has always been a good selling point. We pride ourselves on all our staff being helpful and friendly and I am pleased that you you experienced that first hand. We look forward to you staying with us again, should your return to... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Nice remodeled rooms (clean and modern interior). Friendly and professional personnel. The staff gave us all kinds of tips about the area. Great place to stay if you're city hopping and it's nearby most of the "must see" places.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of our Establishment. The front office staff greatly appreciated your kind comments. I hope you will stay with us again. Peter R. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

It was ok. Rooms are very outdated, but clean. The TL lights, old TV and curtains didn't support a comfortable atmosphere and setting. The most important thing is that our room was clean, but we will not book this hotel again, because it didn't feel good and cosy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Establishment. First of all, may I say that I was pleased that you found our rooms to be very clean. I am, however, wondering whether you are reviewing the right hotel as you refer to the "old curtains". We have not had curtains in the rooms since we remodeled two years ago! We... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Simple and clean motel, very friendly staff. They told us the places we should go to and gave us information so that was great. There are also nice restaurants nearby. Good location in Hollywood! I recommend this place and we had a great time there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of our Establishment. Yes, we do pride ourselves on having friendly and helpful staff and I am glad you took the time to point it out. You are right about our great location. Many people comment on it. I hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Hollywood. Peter R. More

Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Really good location, about a 20 minute walk from the Walk of Fame, and half a block from the subway station. The room itself was quite small and dated, with an old tv and tacky bed covers. The hairdryer was so-so, but the shower was awful. The drain was blocked, and the bathtub filled up with water as we showered.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Establishment. I am pleased that you thought our location was excellent and worth mentioning. The improvements to our rooms are a work in progress. New Flat screen TV's are being installed as we speak. In addition, new bedspreads have been ordered and should be on the beds within the week. I apologize for... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Dunes Inn - Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Inn - Sunset

Address: 5625 Sunset Blvd., Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunes Inn - Sunset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dunes Inn - Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Inn - Sunset Hotel Los Angeles

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay