We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Pagoda Motel

995 N Broadway, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Hotel amenities
Royal Pagoda Motel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #138 of 337 Hotels in Los Angeles
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Vinicio A Natal, RN
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    33
    15
    7
    11
See reviews for
13
22
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Natal, RN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cozy room and great staff. Good for families or for romantic trips. Location is ok, calm and safe and the hotel has private parking. Walk distance to Union Station, from where you can go anywhere in LA. We had no problems at all duraing a 10 days stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dragongateinn, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

Hello Venicio: Thank you for your compliments. So very happy you had an enjoyable stay at our property. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Regards, Royal Pagoda Motel More 

Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was in the area and I found this place online located in Chinatown and I decided to stay because of all the great reviews on yelp. When I arrived at the hotel I was greeted by this sweet young man named Hoi. He is so cute and such a flirt. I bet if there were no cameras he would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dragongateinn, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

Hello Maria: Thank you for staying with us at the Royal Pagoda Motel. Our staff takes great pride in their superior customer service. We hope to see you again on your next trip out to Los Angeles. Regards, Royal Pagoda Motel More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

So I was looking for a place to stay for the 116th Annual Golden Dragon Parade and I found the Royal Pagoda. It seemed OK, so I booked the room for two nights. It was a pleasant stay, room was comfortable. It's just as advertised, a basic room, which is fine for me since I don't require much to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dragongateinn, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

Hello Mao: Thank you for choosing our property. Glad you enjoyed all we had to offer. We pride our selves in providing a clean, comfortable and secure room. I will share your compliments with our staff. Hope to see you soon. Regards, Royal Pagoda Motel More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

The place is clean, comfortable, cozy, and quiet. It is a family-owned business and the owner is very very friendly and accommodating-- even gave a discounted price for the bottled water that we bought. There may be complains about language barrier but if you will just listen carefully with what they are saying, you would surely understand. Let's not judge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dragongateinn, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Jill for your kind words and your support for our business. I will share your compliments to all our staff. They take pride in providing excellent customer service. Regards and safe travels, Royal Pagoda Motel More 

Vista, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We stayed at the Royal Pagoda on 1/17/15 - 1/19/15. The motel is in the heart of Chinatown. The exterior is deceiving...but it's quite nice. The rooms are small but very clean. The desk staff was pleasant and helpful. The location is awesome! You have your choice of restaurants and it's not too far from Olvera Street or Union Station.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dragongateinn, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

Hello Patricia: Thank you so much for giving us a chance to provide you with your lodging needs. We appreciate your understanding that we aren't even in the same level as the major branded properties. However, we strive to provide an excellent deal with a clean , comfortable rooms at a great price with excellent customer service in a great... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

I have stayed a few times at Royal Pagoda. I must say, it is clean and quiet. The Front Desk, Hoy is a very nice and friendly. Very Helpful. The girl at night, don't remember her name, is also nice and helpful. It is clean, and quiet and quite handy to the Metro Gold Line that leads quickly to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dragongateinn, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Royal Pagoda Motel. So glad that you were able to use the great local transportation that surrounds us. We agree with you on the smoking issue. We will continue to try to have the smokers smoke in a designated area. I will share your compliments with our staff. Regards and safe travels,... More 

Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Typical no frills motel but very clean,well kept, good beds, quiet, easy parking, free wifi and safe neighborhood. Perfect if you are just looking for a place to rest your head in central LA and don't want to spend a lot of money. Lots of restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dragongateinn, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Mike for your perfect description of our property. We strive to make the Royal Pagoda Motel a great alternative to the very high priced properties that surround us in Downtown Los Angeles. Regards and safe travels, Royal Pagoda Motel More 

woodside, United States
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

I somehow ended up in the downtown LA part of LA and I didn't know where to stay. All the other hotels were ridiculously expensive. Read the reviews here - they were mixed.. and I took my chances. Single female here - I felt safe. There were good restaurants close by, and transportation was easy as pie. The staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Dragongateinn, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

Hello Sophia: Thank you for choosing the Royal Pagoda Motel for your lodging needs. We are all glad that a single female traveler feels she feels safe to stay with us. As a matter of fact. Chinatown is the safest of ALL district in Downtown Los Angeles. We hope to continue to serve your lodging needs in the future. Regards... More 

bigwavejames
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I used to love this place: cheap, solid location, free parking. It is still a good location and has free parking, but is just plain dirty and not as cheap as it used to be. There were drink stains on the wall, for instance. Easily seen, easily wiped, but ignored by staff. The top of anything was covered in dust... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dragongateinn, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

Dear Big Wave James: I apologize for uncleaniness of your room.. This is totally unacceptable and I will be speaking with the housekeeping staff immediately to address your inspection of the room. As for the rates, sorry we had to raise the rates. All expenses in Los Angeles are increasing. However, we feel that we are still below what all... More 

Big Bear City
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Hotel offers free WiFi, parking, micro, frig. Easy walk to downtown, city center and Union Station (with numerous connections to any part of LA). Staff friendly and accommodating, easy access to 110 Freeway, supermarkets close by and numerous restaurants, bakeries, coffee outlets to satisfy all one's cravings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
baseboy, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our property. Royal Pagoda Motel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question