We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 328 Los Angeles hotels

Royal Pagoda Motel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   995 N Broadway, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Hotel amenities
Royal Pagoda Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Pagoda Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #151 of 328 Hotels in Los Angeles
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
MaoKpopSaranghae
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    15
    7
    11
See reviews for
11
22
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars NEW via mobile

So I was looking for a place to stay for the 116th Annual Golden Dragon Parade and I found the Royal Pagoda. It seemed OK, so I booked the room for two nights. It was a pleasant stay, room was comfortable. It's just as advertised, a basic room, which is fine for me since I don't require much to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The place is clean, comfortable, cozy, and quiet. It is a family-owned business and the owner is very very friendly and accommodating-- even gave a discounted price for the bottled water that we bought. There may be complains about language barrier but if you will just listen carefully with what they are saying, you would surely understand. Let's not judge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dragongateinn, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Jill for your kind words and your support for our business. I will share your compliments to all our staff. They take pride in providing excellent customer service. Regards and safe travels, Royal Pagoda Motel More 

Vista, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We stayed at the Royal Pagoda on 1/17/15 - 1/19/15. The motel is in the heart of Chinatown. The exterior is deceiving...but it's quite nice. The rooms are small but very clean. The desk staff was pleasant and helpful. The location is awesome! You have your choice of restaurants and it's not too far from Olvera Street or Union Station.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dragongateinn, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

Hello Patricia: Thank you so much for giving us a chance to provide you with your lodging needs. We appreciate your understanding that we aren't even in the same level as the major branded properties. However, we strive to provide an excellent deal with a clean , comfortable rooms at a great price with excellent customer service in a great... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

I have stayed a few times at Royal Pagoda. I must say, it is clean and quiet. The Front Desk, Hoy is a very nice and friendly. Very Helpful. The girl at night, don't remember her name, is also nice and helpful. It is clean, and quiet and quite handy to the Metro Gold Line that leads quickly to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dragongateinn, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Royal Pagoda Motel. So glad that you were able to use the great local transportation that surrounds us. We agree with you on the smoking issue. We will continue to try to have the smokers smoke in a designated area. I will share your compliments with our staff. Regards and safe travels,... More 

Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Typical no frills motel but very clean,well kept, good beds, quiet, easy parking, free wifi and safe neighborhood. Perfect if you are just looking for a place to rest your head in central LA and don't want to spend a lot of money. Lots of restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dragongateinn, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Mike for your perfect description of our property. We strive to make the Royal Pagoda Motel a great alternative to the very high priced properties that surround us in Downtown Los Angeles. Regards and safe travels, Royal Pagoda Motel More 

woodside, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

I somehow ended up in the downtown LA part of LA and I didn't know where to stay. All the other hotels were ridiculously expensive. Read the reviews here - they were mixed.. and I took my chances. Single female here - I felt safe. There were good restaurants close by, and transportation was easy as pie. The staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dragongateinn, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

Hello Sophia: Thank you for choosing the Royal Pagoda Motel for your lodging needs. We are all glad that a single female traveler feels she feels safe to stay with us. As a matter of fact. Chinatown is the safest of ALL district in Downtown Los Angeles. We hope to continue to serve your lodging needs in the future. Regards... More 

bigwavejames
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I used to love this place: cheap, solid location, free parking. It is still a good location and has free parking, but is just plain dirty and not as cheap as it used to be. There were drink stains on the wall, for instance. Easily seen, easily wiped, but ignored by staff. The top of anything was covered in dust... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dragongateinn, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

Dear Big Wave James: I apologize for uncleaniness of your room.. This is totally unacceptable and I will be speaking with the housekeeping staff immediately to address your inspection of the room. As for the rates, sorry we had to raise the rates. All expenses in Los Angeles are increasing. However, we feel that we are still below what all... More 

Big Bear City
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Hotel offers free WiFi, parking, micro, frig. Easy walk to downtown, city center and Union Station (with numerous connections to any part of LA). Staff friendly and accommodating, easy access to 110 Freeway, supermarkets close by and numerous restaurants, bakeries, coffee outlets to satisfy all one's cravings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
baseboy, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our property. Royal Pagoda Motel More 

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed in this motel for one night. The reception was a Chinese guy who barely could speak english. The room and bathroom were so dull and dirty. I could hardly connect to wifi. The only positive point is the location of the motel, which is close to the main train station. I also had problem with getting taxi(again, reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
baseboy, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

I'm sorry with your experience at our property. We have started a new training program for the front desk clerk to help with their English skills. I hope you give us another chance to earn your business. Regards, Royal Pagoda Motel More 

San Francisco, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

For people and families who want to stay and walk around and eat in Chinatown its OK but in this Motel I definetly WOULD NOT RECOMMEND to my friends because first of all the rooms are smelly after you spent overnight your entire body beging to itch. Do not go in person and make a reservation in the front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
baseboy, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

I'm sorry about your experience with our property. In the future, please ask the front desk to change rooms for you. They will gladly accomodate this service. Sometime, rates differ because of events in our area. The best way to reserve your room is through our web page. Regarsds, Royal Pagoda Motel. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Pagoda Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pagoda Motel

Address: 995 N Broadway, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pagoda Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Pagoda Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pagoda Hotel Los Angeles
Royal Pagoda Los Angeles
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay