We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 324 Los Angeles hotels

Royal Pagoda Motel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   995 N Broadway, Los Angeles, CA 90012 (Downtown)
Hotel amenities
Royal Pagoda Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Royal Pagoda Motel to your Saves list
62%
Ranked #206 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
matthealien Squamish, Canada
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    25
    16
    7
    11
See reviews for
10
20
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (67)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Squamish, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here as i worked nearby. The daytime reception guy was nice and friendly The room was clean and free wi fi Location was good too being in chinatown I ate close by for breakfast at phillipe the original which was good For the price it was good Its pretty dead around there after 6pm The nighttime reception guy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bigwavejames
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I used to love this place: cheap, solid location, free parking. It is still a good location and has free parking, but is just plain dirty and not as cheap as it used to be. There were drink stains on the wall, for instance. Easily seen, easily wiped, but ignored by staff. The top of anything was covered in dust... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dragongateinn, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

Dear Big Wave James: I apologize for uncleaniness of your room.. This is totally unacceptable and I will be speaking with the housekeeping staff immediately to address your inspection of the room. As for the rates, sorry we had to raise the rates. All expenses in Los Angeles are increasing. However, we feel that we are still below what all... More

Big Bear City
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Hotel offers free WiFi, parking, micro, frig. Easy walk to downtown, city center and Union Station (with numerous connections to any part of LA). Staff friendly and accommodating, easy access to 110 Freeway, supermarkets close by and numerous restaurants, bakeries, coffee outlets to satisfy all one's cravings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
baseboy, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our property. Royal Pagoda Motel More

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed in this motel for one night. The reception was a Chinese guy who barely could speak english. The room and bathroom were so dull and dirty. I could hardly connect to wifi. The only positive point is the location of the motel, which is close to the main train station. I also had problem with getting taxi(again, reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
baseboy, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

I'm sorry with your experience at our property. We have started a new training program for the front desk clerk to help with their English skills. I hope you give us another chance to earn your business. Regards, Royal Pagoda Motel More

San Francisco, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

For people and families who want to stay and walk around and eat in Chinatown its OK but in this Motel I definetly WOULD NOT RECOMMEND to my friends because first of all the rooms are smelly after you spent overnight your entire body beging to itch. Do not go in person and make a reservation in the front desk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
baseboy, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

I'm sorry about your experience with our property. In the future, please ask the front desk to change rooms for you. They will gladly accomodate this service. Sometime, rates differ because of events in our area. The best way to reserve your room is through our web page. Regarsds, Royal Pagoda Motel. More

PHOENIX
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I found this hotel while searching for something near Downtown. It is in Chinatown and has Free Internet & Free Parking. The Room is Great! It is freshly Painted with a very comfortable bed and Fridge. For LA this Price & location can't be beat. It is near all the Major Freeways and very clean. The bathroom is small and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
baseboy, Manager at Royal Pagoda Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We will continue to work hard to earn your business. Regards, Royal Pagoda Motel More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

This motel was absolutely horrible. When we got there the staff was rude and hardly spoke English, we asked if we could have an iron and they said we had to make a down payment of 25$ on it. The room was horrendously tiny and reeked of smoke. The bathroom was filthy, I had to wear flip flops in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The room may be a bit small, but it is clean and inexpensive. The room has a mini fridge, closet, and desk. There are plenty of restaurants in the area and parking is free. Excellent value and I never felt unsafe in the neighborhood. p.s. the old Chinese guy was not rude, maybe a little hard of hearing but never... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SAN DIEGO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The rooms are small and dated. The customer service is non-existent. However, for the price, it was what I anticipated. I was curious because of the Chinatown location and the Royal Pagoda's history. The Pagoda's "golden era" has long passed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I discovered the Royal Pagota a few years ago, recommended by a friend..I have stayed there several times. As a former downtown resident, It is my only choice for affordable, clean accomodations...If you have experienced other los angeles motels in this price range, you are probably still recovering from the horror! The Royal Pagota is quiet, clean (always!), and offers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Pagoda Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pagoda Motel

Address: 995 N Broadway, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pagoda Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Pagoda Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pagoda Hotel Los Angeles
Royal Pagoda Los Angeles

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay