We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 322 Los Angeles hotels

Shelter Hotels Los Angeles

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   457 S. Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Shelter Hotels Los Angeles to your Saves list
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
62%
Ranked #161 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014
Carly G Orlando, Florida
  • Reviews (220)
  • Photos (99)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    87
    54
    25
    14
See reviews for
10
98
22
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I don't know where to begin.. It was a bad smell throughout the whole hotel. The stairs smelled pee, the elevator had another bad smell. When entering the "lobby" we were met by a man sitting behind a small dirty desk (the man was nice and polite though). This was the whole lobby. It was also possible to take the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you just need a clean bed and care about nothing else, this place is fine. No safe. No closet. No place to hang or put clothes - literally, no furniture outside of a chair in the corner and a tiny desk which looked like it came from a flea market. WiFi has no security at all. Loud air conditioner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I'm not sure why everyone is not impressed with this hotel! It's exactly what it says it is - Shelter. My husband and I stayed here for two nights, it was wonderfully located to almost anything in LA. The beds are so comfortable and it's very clean, plus parking is included which seems to be a hot commodity for hotels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the enthusiastic review. We hope to see you again More

Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

The stay was fine until I realized I forgot my hair straightening iron, which I accidentally left cooling in the bathroom. I called to find out when I could go pick it up and the told me that the housekeeper did not report anything left in the room. So this leads me to believe that they have housekeeping employees that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

It's disappointing to hear that we were not able to retrieve your hair iron especially considering that the housekeeping staff has always turned in anything left behind including wedding rings and cash. With that please feel free to give us a call and we will be more than happy to discuss replacing the iron. More

Shell Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

What a depressing place! Rooms were barely furnished, nothing on the walls. One room had no place for me to hang my shirts, so I requested another, which reeked of chlorine, since it was right over the pool. But I was tired, got used to the smell. Bed was OK, bathroom had modern fixtures, TV and wifi worked OK. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

it's very disappointing to hear that we fell short of your expectations. Should you ever want to give us another chance to make it up to you, please don't hesitate to contact management. More

San Diego, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

My review will hit some of the points of previous reviewers: no closets or dressers for closes (couldn't they figure this out by now) no towel racks in bathroom The comfortable bed was the main feature in the room. OK, fine. 1 chair. 1 table. 1 bench. 1 mirror. No pictures or art on the wall. Recessed lighting started out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review. Thank you for letting us know where we came up short. We are working to fix the issues you mentioned. Please consider us in the future. More

Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed in the Standard room. We had found a pretty decent price on hotels.com. They gave us a room that was the back side of the hotel which was very close to an apartment building. That was a not a great view but still okay for the price. The room was not as much renovated and stylish as we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We hope to see you again More

Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This trendy hipster spot is populated by terribly rude employees. The underwhelming post modern decor intends on providing a unique, homely experience, but it ends up making the accommodations seem bare bones. No ice or mini-fridge so no place for leftovers or ice cubs for a drink/soda. The gent at the front desk was terribly mean and even at one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

It's very disappointing to hear that you were presented with such a bad attitude. We take pride in our customer service and the ability to give guests a great experience. Unfortunately, we failed you. I appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We will work as a team to improve attitudes. More

Martindale, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Independent hotel smartly outfitted with modern furniture and décor. Room could have been cleaner but the staff was accommodating and the hotel was quiet. Has parking but is only a short Uber ride to downtown.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to here you overall enjoyed your stay. Should you have any feedback you'd like to let us know directly, please don't hesitate to contact us. Hopefully, we will see you soon. More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Very cost effective, basic accommodations (no iron or hair dryer), but 2 blocks from LA Metro station on Wilshire Blvd. Saved $36 in parking by leaving my car in the below ground garage and taking Metro ($2 for the ride and $1 for the TAP card). Nothing fancy here - just a good night's sleep. Recently remodeled to "modern" look... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review and for promoting the metro system. We hope to see you soon More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Shelter Hotels Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter Hotels Los Angeles

Address: 457 S. Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shelter Hotels Los Angeles 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Shelter Hotels Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (97)
Viewed
Room/suite (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#161 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the heart of Los Angeles, two blocks from Wilshire Boulevard, Shelter Los Angeles is a 48-room boutique hotel filled with spacious, comfortable, and soothing rooms. Designed by Lisa Strong, the hotel features contemporary interiors, luxurious bedding, dark hardwood floors, and stylish bathrooms. AMENITIES Welcome Gifts/ Hardwood Floors/ 32” LCD Flat Screen Televisions/ Complimentary High Speed Internet/ Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels/ I-Home I-Pod Docking Stations ... more   less 
Number of rooms
47

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer