We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Queen Mary

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel packages
1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802
Special Deal
July 4 tickets on sale
The Queen Mary
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014
Maurice C Hastings, New Zealand
Write a Review

3,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    1,282
    518
    235
    175
See reviews for
759
1,452
142
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (3374)
  • Mar-May only
    (867)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (796)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (833)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (878)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Queen Mary
See the most recent reviews
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The objective was to re-create an original 'Q.M. Experience' aboard ship, and also to see as much of the original workings of the ship as possible. The Hotel experience was great, with a good level of service including in-room dining, and the originality of the state room and main first class passenger public rooms was much appreciated (not withstanding the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review

Maurice C - Thanks for the feedback and so glad you had a wonderful visit. We work hard to make sure each of our guests have a memorable experience. We cannot wait to host you again soon! Please do tell your friends. -The Queen Mary Commodore More 

Romford
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
74 hotel reviews
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed on the ship for 2 nights whilst touring California. During our journey we stayed in over 7 hotels/motels/Inns but this was by far the worst. From the very start we were not impressed. Queues to check in, surly staff who think they are more important than the guests etc etc. Our room was right at the rear of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review

Rojo447 - Thanks for the feedback and we apologize about the wait on check in...and noisy neighbors - we do have some events aboard the ship from time to time. Keep in mind the ship is 80 years old - our staff works around the clock to keep the ship in ship shape and provide excellent customer service to our... More 

THOMASVILLE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Nice to have stayed on an "ocean liner", but very disappointing that most of the ship was off-limits; such as, main dining room, pool, etc. Expect to see the bridge, engine room, shops, and dining areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review

Larry - Brilliant idea visiting a historic cruiseliner before going on your cruise...just brilliant. We share a parking lot with the Carnival Cruise Terminal - we offer a great package for those guests who want to extend their stay by a day or two and then get a nice discount on parking. We do apologize about some of the areas... More 

Aztec, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

we had a great time and everyone was very nice and accommodating. The Sir Winston was incredible. Next time I want to stay in a suite and go on the Ghost tour. We did the Paranormal but I want to do the Ghost tour next.

Was this review helpful? Yes
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review

Hey Jo - Thanks for the feedback and we are so thrilled you had such an enjoyable visit to the World Famous Queen Mary. Glad you did the Paranormal Tour - did you have an experience???? Oooh and dinner at Sir Winston's...sounds like a really, really nice visit. We cannot wait to host you again soon! -The Queen Mary Commodore More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Fantastic hotel, lots of history great to walk around. Takes you back to the era of the boat. Rooms are big and luxurious with the comfiest beds. Highly recommend staying aboard. Third time of staying and love it every time. Check their website for prices as sometimes they have a flash sale for their rooms,

Was this review helpful? Yes
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review

Rebecca D - Thanks for the feedback and we are so glad you had such a wonderful experience aboard the World Famous Queen Mary! Please do tell your friends. Word of mouth means a lot to us. We cannot wait to host you again soon! -The Queen Mary Commodore More 

Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I booked 5 nights on the Queen Mary in a Deluxe Stateroom with 1 King Bed. The room had original wood paneling, a seating area with two port holes, and plenty of room to spread out. It clean and well kept for a ship of her age. The first 3 nights were great as there was limited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review

Sillychell - Thanks for the feedback...sounds like you had a really nice stay...we do apologize about the pool - ours is closed because IT IS HAUNTED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Holy cow. Wouldn't want to swim in that thing. We cannot wait to host you again soon! -The Queen Mary Commodore More 

Tucson
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I had booked a family room but decided to upgrade to a suite upon arrival as our room would have had a view of the parking lot. I am so glad I did! The cabin was very spacious with 2 bathrooms, one king bed, living room and a small bedroom with a twin bed that we named the "Bates" room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review

Dawn P - Thanks for the feedback - we are big time Downton Abbey fans - in fact we hosted the premier party aboard this very ship for this season! It was an awesome event...speaking of awesome - so glad you had a great experience aboard this here vessel. We are so glad you had a nice stay and cannot... More 

Duarte, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have been the Queen Mary twice just recently & once for a prom. The 2 events that I attended here were the Scotfest & The St. Patrick Day event. Both events were pretty awesome and also my first time attending both. The Scotfest had the majority of the festival in the village but also featured a special concert inside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review

meowmix318 - Unless you attended Prom in your 30s or 40s (which would be weird), you can't be that old having attended a Prom aboard the Queen Mary...if you were a senior, I have 18 plus 10 at 28, but I am not math major, I work on a boat. So glad you enjoyed your prom, we host hundreds a... More 

Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Great pre-cruise hotel next to the embarkation pier. Loaded with history the Queen Mary will give you a taste of yesteryear cruise. Very well preserve, great staff and food. You cross the parking lot, two minutes, and are ready to leave on your cruise. You will not regret it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review

cire57kys - Thanks for the feedback and so glad you had a wonderful stay. It is a brilliant idea to stay aboard the Queen Mary before or after a cruise. We share a parking lot with the Carnival Cruise terminal...we also offer a package where you get discounted parking here at the ship if you stay the night before or... More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

That Queen Mary is old we all know, but it sure could be a little bit more conserved. The experience is very nice, it is fact like traveling in time. I thought it was very interesting. The restaurant Sir Winston's (the best one there) was worth it! I do recommend. Good food and great service. Not like the other parts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review

NandaG01 - Thanks for the feedback and we are so glad you enjoyed such a wonderful stay aboard the World Famous Queen Mary. The ship is turning 80 years old this year and you know what - she looks pretty good for 80! Our staff works around the clock to keep the ship - well in ship shape! Glad you... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Port hole(10)
  • Ghost tour(10)
  • Art deco(9)
  • First class(8)
  • Observation bar(7)
  • Free shuttle(6)
  • Promenade cafe(6)
  • Old ship(5)
  • Very nice(3)
  • Free shuttle bus(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,500 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1448)
Viewed
Bathroom (76)
Viewed
Room/suite (347)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (344)
Viewed
View from room (90)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (23)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (503)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question