We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tides Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT & SAVE
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tides Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Tides Inn
The Tides Inn
The Tides Inn
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    93
    18
    8
    9
See reviews for
76
122
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (305)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (70)
All months
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Just north of main beach and across PCH this small hotel is very clean and very reasonably priced. The proprietors were very friendly and welcoming. Location is convenient to all of what LB has to offer and we will be back. They have a nice saltwater pool and outdoor fireplace.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Pet friendly but lock in rate before going as it varies. You can stay here for the year of your birth as the rate on actual birthday but must stay at least 2 nights. I was born in 1944 so $44 and one night regular rate plus pet fee. It's darling with a bit of street noise which wasn't enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay at the Tides. The rooms are nice and the staff is friendly. We were able to walk to the beach and to downtown Laguna Beach. There is street noise from the passing highway which I'm sure is true with other hotels in Laguna Beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shefield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 5 nights in. 2 double bed room with my daughter. Room had air con, flat screen TV, comfy beds and as a ground floor or one, small patio with chairs and table. Bath with overhead shower and soft, thick white towels. Toiletries provided and hairdryer. Pool towels also provided, for a very nice pool considering this is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of my dearest friends and I decided on a road trip. The Tides Inn provided VERY clean and comfortable accommodations. The office staff were very friendly and helpful. It's close (walking distance) to EVERYTHING Laguna Beach. We loved the Inn, the beach, the shopping, the art, and the area. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Spruce Grove, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Tides Inn was a lovely place for my husband and I to stay our one night in Laguna Beach. We stayed in Room #208 which seemed more like a couple of little rooms in a vintage house than a standard motel room - we liked it! Everything was cute and clean. There are no elevators so be prepared for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Monument, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

After reading the amazing reviews, my daughter and I decided to stay at this vintage hotel that is in a great location. It turned out to be a nightmare where we got no sleep and had to change our own sheets. Here are a few reasons that I gave this a terrible review. - The pillows are completely flat and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

As every business owner is well aware, every so often an "impossible to please" guest comes along. It was clear from the beginning that you were unhappy with our hotel. Sadly for all of us, no matter what we did to try to make your stay enjoyable, you continued to be unhappy here. In the end, we can see that... More 

San Diego, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

With parking at a premium in Laguna Beach it's great to have a hotel so well located - you can walk to just about everything. Parking is included in the room rate and they have a spot for each room so you can still find parking if you return late at night. Thanks to input from previous reviewers we requested... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

The Tides was directly across PCH from the beach and Heisler Park, which was great! Our room (#201), though small, was cute and cozy. However, it was noisy since it faces PCH (as do rooms 101 and 102). It's in a perfect location to walk to shops and restaurants. If you take a right out of the hotel, it's a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

My fiancé grew up in Laguna Niguel and I wanted to go back and have her show me where she grew up. We booked a room at The Tides based on the reviews here and we couldn't of been happier. Our room was clean, had a small kitchen with microwave, dishes and utensils, min fridge, and a coffee maker. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question