We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
8901 Gilman Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Special Offer
$100 VISA Gift Card
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

541 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    207
    207
    78
    30
    19
See reviews for
225
95
17
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (541)
  • Mar-May only
    (148)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (161)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (132)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (100)
All months
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I've lived in places smaller than this apartment. Our room had all the amenities of a house, let alone a hotel room. There were 2 well sized bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a fully stocked kitchen and a moderately sized living room. The place was clean (and well cleaned every day). The pool was well sized and the whirlpool spa was capable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
palm springs ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Reviewers who give this Residence Inn high marks for location and friendly helpful staff are correct. But this hotel is showing it's age. We stayed two nights and found the carpets dirty, stained and one of the chair's torn in our room. I have stayed in about 30 Residence Inns across the US in the last ten months and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia O, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review

Hello sgraham471, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at the Residence La Jolla. As you mentioned our staff focus is always on customer service and we are happy to share your comments with them. You also mentioned the room condition. Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations. We are very excited to share... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It's a little disappointing to be in beautiful San Diego, and in beautiful La Jolla, but be in a ground floor room that feels like a dark cave. Many of the units open onto walkways that are very close to the windows, so if you are on the ground floor, people are walking right by your room all the time.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pasadena, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had an excellent stay here.I had requested a room so that our dog could accompany us on this trip.I'm not sure if that is the reason the furniture was beat up.Chairs were torn and patched and sofa needs to be replaced. On a brighter note,the beds are still amazing.breakfast good but crowded on the weekends.Spacious family suite. Just needs some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diamond Bar, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to drive down from the Los Angeles area to celebrate our 48th wedding anniversary. I was able to use my annual free night that I receive from Marriott Rewards credit card. I had not stayed at a Residence Inn in years, preferring Marriott's other brands. This is not a prime location in La Jolla and the hotel was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia O, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review

Hello mike t Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Residence Inn La Jolla. We are happy that you chose us to to stay for your anniversary celebration. We certainly aren't located in downtown La Jolla but we are conveniently located to all attractions and the reason we are... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had family suite across from pool which worked perfectly for our family of six. Arrived to free cocktail hour with snacks. Breakfast was ample but pretty basic. Location was not scenic but provided easy access to La Jolla beaches within 10 minutes. Some restaurants were in walking distance. San Diego was 15-20 minute drive. Staff were friendly and arranged for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As I'm planning another getaway, I came across this Inn and I'm reminded of the thieves that work there. On our 1st night, we had to change rooms due to a broken pipe in the sink area. An inconvenience, but couldn't be helped. The new for keys to the new room could have been activated though, but they weren't and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Patricia O, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review

Good Morning LaliA, Please accept our apologies that your stay back in September of 2104 did not meet your expectations. I have shared your comments regarding the keys for your new room not being properly activated, which I understand was very frustrating, so we may find ways to continue improving our service.. I can assure you that our associates are... More 

On the road
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

As a business traveler I often have to book and cancel my travel over the phone. I did not write down my cancelation number and as a result I was charged for a night stay. After calling the hotel 6 times I finally made my way to the not so lovely Ricki Smith. What a horrible host. Ms. smith you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia O, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review

Hello jx102. We of course are sorry to hear that you will stay at Hilton from now on. You were charged because you failed to cancel your reservation in a timely manner. All Marriotts have a 24 hour cancellation policy. Thank you More 

Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

What has happened to this place! It's been a month and the quality of the staff has gone south. I've stayed here several times and this time I must say the night staff are more interested in chit chat then helping a customer. I require a feather free room. It's in my preferences. It certainly wasn't ready. I guess mobile... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patricia O, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review

Good Morning LorriePalmer, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at the Residence Inn La Jolla. One of our key priorities is to provide the highest level of friendly and courteous service. While it was a pleasure having you here as our guest, your feedback regarding the service our team provided caught my attention. While we have experienced... More 

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

very good hotel, with swimming pool and several SPAs and BBQ. good breakfast. little bit expensive. clean and quiet, close to supermarkets and 10 minutes from beach by car. a lot of young people/students very nice. we were two families with children and all of us enjoyed a lot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

159 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (87)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (72)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
2.6 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#18 of 25 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#15 of 25 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 stars 884 reviews
1.3 mi away
San Diego Marriott La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#2 of 25 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
2.8 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay