We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
8901 Gilman Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
Add Photo Write a Review

522 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    203
    201
    72
    29
    17
See reviews for
216
91
17
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (522)
  • Mar-May only
    (148)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (142)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (132)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (100)
All months
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very spacious and clean rooms. Easy access from the highway. Many eateries and attractions nearby. Gym was nice and 24 hours. Many of seating options to relax in the evenings. Only downside, is the the walkways are very loud at all hours of the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were spending a while in the Residence Inn and I was struck by the friendly and quick customer service. The room has a small kitchen and the stove had a faulty burner. Quickly the on site service tech, I think his name was Ricardo, checked it out then decided I needed another stove which he quickly found. So, Instead... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yakima, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice place. Very friendly and helpful staff. Front desk staff went above and beyond for me. Good location. Handy location to stay away from the crowds, yet close to San Diego and surrounding area. Only trouble was with the free wifi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Culver City, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have to say how happy I was to have stayed here. I brought my parents and my uncle and his wife.. They were not only pleased with the service but also our rooms. I had previously booked a penthouse but they had overbooked so I was asked if I wouldn't mind having two rooms instead and of course I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

i've been staying with this place multiple times, all with families. had great experiences. staff is very nice, and price is competitive. the 2 bedroom setting worked out for me with little baby and grandparents. would stay next time visiting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very competitive and reasonable pricing, especially for AARP members. Excellent staff, and best guest services directory ever. Our personal requests for room location were met perfectly. Room smells slightly from new furniture and carpeting, so we are not upset. Best units are away from the main road at the back of the property, UPSTAIRS. Breakfast is as impressive as others... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit. 1 bed upstairs in an OPEN loft, 2 queen beds downstairs in a bedroom completely open to the living room. There was a couch that converted into a bed as well. The unit was very clean, well setup with pots and pans and dishes and such. 3 nice sized flat screen TV's. 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southern California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a great experience visiting the area and staying at this hotel. The staff is very nice, and the hotel is what you would expect from the Marriott chain. We had a good time, but used the hotel as a place to sleep, not so much as part of our experience. The room was very spacious and made our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fresno,CA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

e high opinions for residence inns and this is note one of them. The service and staff is great. The breakfast is more than worth it and the wine receptions are great. The facility is dated though. We have requested to move twice since the previous rooms have musty smell. Once again the staff is very helpful. The location is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patricia O, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review

Good Morning bzeebee, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Residence Inn La Jolla. We are very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations or our own. Please accept our apologies that you had to move rooms. We are excited to share that we will be getting a much needed facelift a little later this year... More 

Utah
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really want to like this place because the staff was so great...but the Inn itself needs improving and the taxes and fees are exorbitant. Plan to pay 22% more for your room than is stated as your room fee. Please read this unless you own a money tree. Pros: Decently sized penthouse rooms; kitchen, full-size refrigerator; two full size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patricia O, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, responded to this review

Hello Keesym, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Residence Inn La Jolla. We are very happy to hear that you were impressed with our customer service and do apologize about the taxes. As you know we don't have any control over that. We do charge a $15 parking fee as do all... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay