We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Jolla Inn

1110 Prospect St, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Jolla Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
La Jolla Inn
Review This Hotel

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    40
    28
    30
    52
See reviews for
19
101
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (201)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Sudbury
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We reserved a room with an ocean view. The view we got was over rooftops of other buildings.There was no microwave and the tiny fridge was on the floor in the cloths closet. The room was very small and the balcony extremely small had two dirty chairs. The rugs were old and spotted and so was the bed quilt. No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LaJollaInn, Owner at La Jolla Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to address your concerns about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that the stay was not to your satisfaction. We want to make sure that all guests feel happy when they depart our hotel so I will make a note of all of your concerns and discuss them with... More 

San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

We got a room at the La Jolla Inn for our niece and nephew attending the Marine Ball. They are a young couple with 4 children. Needless to say, their nights out are far and few between. The owner was so amazingly kind as we explained our situation. She allowed the children to see the room where their parents were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Anoka, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

We just finished a 10 day stay which we greatly enjoyed. The staff and housekeeping were extremely pleasant and helpful. The shower was nicely tiled and cozy warm water. We also like being right next to La Jolla Cove and all the shops of La Jolla. We watched some wonderful sunsets from our balcony and would recommend the Inn to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Terrible ! No elevator , no parking , nothing ! Do not expect to feel like a welcome guest here . The clerk literally handed me a key card for parking ( 3 blocks away ) and wouldn't even look me in the eye . I am completely shocked . I told her that I wanted a refund so I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LaJollaInn, Owner at La Jolla Inn, responded to this review

Hello Hotelgirl2222, Thank you for taking the time to give us your input regarding our hotel. I would like to apologize that you felt your stay with us was not what you anticipated. We do not have elevator service due to the quaint nature of our hotel. Because there are only two floors of guest rooms, we have learned that... More 

Bellevue, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Mid-October 2014 stay. My wife and I were looking forward to a stay in La Jolla, near the beach. We booked the La Jolla Inn for three nights, but ended up fleeing the hotel, early in the morning, only hours after checking in. The clerk on duty at the time of check-in was unfriendly and unprofessional. The water did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LaJollaInn, Owner at La Jolla Inn, responded to this review

Hello, I would like to sincerely apologize for the unexpected experience you had during your stay with us. I can assure that this is not the standard to which we hold our hotel and we always strive to make our guests feel welcomed, as if they are in their own home. I am addressing all of your concerns with both... More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Hotel is well located, where you can walk to La Jolla Cove beach and also to many good bars, restaurants and stores. There was one thing not good, about the bed. They use two single beds together instead of a double one (ok but not confortable).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

First it seems cute rather more of a bed and breakfast without the breakfast. The staff , if you can call an 18 year old left in charge, is not trained nor has any idea how to run a hotel. In check in, she left several people in the lobby to physically run and see if the rooms at 2:45... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LaJollaInn, Owner at La Jolla Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize that your stay was not as anticipated, but I can assure you that our goal is to maintain guest satisfaction. Due to our European style rooms, the space in the room is made to be quaint and small. We would have loved to give you a free... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel earlier this year and found out a week after checking out they charged us 175.06, so I called the hotel and they were very rude and told me that was a mistake with the room charges. I booked this room 3 months before arrival on the hotels web site . I called capitalone my credit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LaJollaInn, Owner at La Jolla Inn, responded to this review

Hello, I am sorry for all of the inconvenience and trouble you encountered due to a computer error. I can assure you that we would not try and charge any guest's credit card for even a dollar more, for no apparent reason. I apologize for the confusion and the run around that you had to deal with. I am happy... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

I travel for business regularly and have had my share of poor hotel stays, so I know how important it is to consider all your options when traveling; my experience at the La Jolla Inn was perfect. I stayed at the La Jolla Inn for 3 days and found the room to be clean and comfortable, plus my room had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Liverpool, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in a good location, bars and restaurants within seconds and the beach is 3 minutes walk. It was clean and tidy and well worth staying. Although I was facing the main road it was not too noisy. The only real downsides were the parking and the fire exit. If you're quick you can get a space outside but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question