We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 La Jolla hotels

La Jolla Inn

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1110 Prospect St, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added La Jolla Inn to your Saves list
La Jolla Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
48%
Ranked #20 of 24 hotels in La Jolla
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014
Laurie B Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
  • Overview
  • Reviews (179)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (47)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (34)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    39
    25
    29
    44
See reviews for
17
87
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The wors hotel ever for $236 (tax included)+$8 parking.No elevator,parking two blocks away, when public parking on side street or closer for $7 . Should have been informed about these option.The odor in the room is terrible. Charge for water-$3.95,tooth brash-$5.50,rasor-$10,very small tothpaste-$5.50,cotton swabs-$4,corkscrew-$5,Perrier(330ml)-$3.50 and so on.All decor ,bed,bathroom, chairs,table are very old and terrible.Very noisy around hotel. No swimming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Halifax, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had to cancel my first night; gave 24 hours notice, but owner charged me full rate for the room anyway despite selling it to someone else. Nice profit there Mr. Owner - I gave you the courtesy of officially canceling, and you took advantage to make double profit. How do you live with yourself?

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oakland, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

What's the point of a hotel if you can't sleep? Currently listening to a drunk down the hall yell at his wife through their door; people in room upstairs having sex; and music blaring from the bar across the street. When I called to complain I was told that there were no other rooms available and that the bar usually... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Pros: Very nice location Cons: Old, cramped rooms- like Motel 6 but a lot smaller. Frayed carpets and battered furniture. Parking is a very long walk from the hotel in a dangerous underground garage with no security and it costs extra.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LJI1110, Manager at La Jolla Inn, responded to this review

Dear John A: I am very sorry to hear that you did not have an exceptional stay at the La Jolla Inn. As a European style inn, we focus on more intimate rooms with a cozy and warm feel. Our dedicated housekeeping staff strives to maintain the cleanliness and presentability of the room, and I am sorry that you experienced... More

Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed in room 3 downstairs. It wasn't as bad as all that I've read in these reviews. My boyfriend booked it and had I read these reviews prior to our trip I am sure I would have persuaded him to book our stay elsewhere. There are a few minor things I wish housekeeping would have taken care of before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yuma, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Took my husband for a get away - booked it for location - fresh blood on sheets - room not cleaned, made up to appear it had, no hot water entire stay - though told water would be fixed prior to second night stay - 2 nights and 3 days - owner refused phone calls about complaints and staff stated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
LJI1110, Manager at La Jolla Inn, responded to this review

Dear HappyAZGirl : I am very sorry to read about your recent experience at our hotel. Clearly we did not fulfill our promise to you in providing first-class service. I am addressing your issues immediately to ensure they don't happen again in the future. We apologize that your stay with us did not go as you had planned, and we... More

Tucson, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed two nights in this hotel. The location is great. However it is very noisy at night on weekends, especially in the downstairs rooms. The upstairs rooms are small but OK. The street level rooms however are noisy, dark and musty. Definitely not worth the price. What made our experience particularly bad was that we had no hot water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
LJI1110, Manager at La Jolla Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kate H.: I am disappointed to read the review about your recent visit to the La Jolla Inn. In response to your comments about our service, please know that our staff strives to ensure the complete satisfaction of our guests at all times. We have worked to ensure that such a situation does not occur in the future, and... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I was staying in the area for a week for a job interview and to explore the local area. I am from the UK and this was my first trip to the USA. I arrived in the evening after travelling for approx 23 hours and needed to crash, but annoyingly the place across the street was having a live music... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pittsford, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I was intimidated by a number of reviews I read online but the hotel is in the perfect location in the center of LaJolla so I risked it and was very pleasantly surprised. Price is low compared to others nearby. Rooms are small but nicely done and very clean. Staff is friendly. We have a balcony with chairs and can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband and I bought a 1 night stay though rocketmiles; we were looking for a short 1 hour getaway from home. I will say that the location of the hotel is great; close to LaJolla Cove, the Caves, lots of shops and restaurants. However, the hotel is average and as others have shared, it is in need of a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage La Jolla Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Inn

Address: 1110 Prospect St, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Jolla Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Jolla Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Hotel La Jolla

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
23

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer