We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Jolla Inn

1110 Prospect St, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Jolla Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
La Jolla Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    51
    40
    30
    33
    53
See reviews for
20
105
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (207)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My rating system gives one out of five points for each category that follows for service: Cleanliness of facilities. Price relative to surrounding area. Helpfulness and friendliness of staff. Location relative to area (if it is easy to access near points of interest.) Quality of primary service. Some of the linens were stained, clean but stained and so it does... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well this place is in a great location. Even though the sky deck has great views the condition and uncleanliness make this not so pleasant. The room looked like no one had vacuumed for weeks including a beer bottle top in the corner of the room. My towel even had a hole in it. Not so pleasant. The staff at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these La Jolla hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

Ok price and location is great for La jolla (a very pricey destination ). ..but, seriously the a/c unit is caked with dust and dirt and window sills are filthy....a little more effort on cleaning would have been nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

This small European style inn is in the heart of La Jolla and all it has to offer. We were located on the second floor overlooking Prospect and Girard Streets with a partial view of the ocean (see photos). Parking anywhere in La Jolla is a concern, however the Inn provides parking at $10.00 per day (with in and out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

I had reserved a room to stay Saturday to Sunday. I traveled from Central California to La Jolla Saturday morning and we were eating lunch before checking in. As I was checking my email to see check in time, I noticed I got an email from them at 10PM Friday night saying they gave my room away because my card... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
LaJollaInn, Owner at La Jolla Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to address your concerns in regards to your recent visit. I apologize first off that you were unable to stay at our Inn. In this situation, the Front Desk is trained to both call and e-mail the guest if there are any discrepancies with payment. If the call is not answered, or there is... More 

Sudbury
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We reserved a room with an ocean view. The view we got was over rooftops of other buildings.There was no microwave and the tiny fridge was on the floor in the cloths closet. The room was very small and the balcony extremely small had two dirty chairs. The rugs were old and spotted and so was the bed quilt. No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LaJollaInn, Owner at La Jolla Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to address your concerns about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that the stay was not to your satisfaction. We want to make sure that all guests feel happy when they depart our hotel so I will make a note of all of your concerns and discuss them with... More 

San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

We got a room at the La Jolla Inn for our niece and nephew attending the Marine Ball. They are a young couple with 4 children. Needless to say, their nights out are far and few between. The owner was so amazingly kind as we explained our situation. She allowed the children to see the room where their parents were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Anoka, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

We just finished a 10 day stay which we greatly enjoyed. The staff and housekeeping were extremely pleasant and helpful. The shower was nicely tiled and cozy warm water. We also like being right next to La Jolla Cove and all the shops of La Jolla. We watched some wonderful sunsets from our balcony and would recommend the Inn to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Terrible ! No elevator , no parking , nothing ! Do not expect to feel like a welcome guest here . The clerk literally handed me a key card for parking ( 3 blocks away ) and wouldn't even look me in the eye . I am completely shocked . I told her that I wanted a refund so I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LaJollaInn, Owner at La Jolla Inn, responded to this review

Hello Hotelgirl2222, Thank you for taking the time to give us your input regarding our hotel. I would like to apologize that you felt your stay with us was not what you anticipated. We do not have elevator service due to the quaint nature of our hotel. Because there are only two floors of guest rooms, we have learned that... More 

Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Mid-October 2014 stay. My wife and I were looking forward to a stay in La Jolla, near the beach. We booked the La Jolla Inn for three nights, but ended up fleeing the hotel, early in the morning, only hours after checking in. The clerk on duty at the time of check-in was unfriendly and unprofessional. The water did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LaJollaInn, Owner at La Jolla Inn, responded to this review

Hello, I would like to sincerely apologize for the unexpected experience you had during your stay with us. I can assure that this is not the standard to which we hold our hotel and we always strive to make our guests feel welcomed, as if they are in their own home. I am addressing all of your concerns with both... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.1 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#2 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grande Colonial La Jolla
0.3 mi away
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
Empress Hotel of La Jolla
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay
Back to top