We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 La Jolla hotels

La Jolla Inn

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1110 Prospect St, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added La Jolla Inn to your Saves list
La Jolla Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
49%
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in La Jolla
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Laurie B Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    39
    25
    28
    42
See reviews for
17
85
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed in room 3 downstairs. It wasn't as bad as all that I've read in these reviews. My boyfriend booked it and had I read these reviews prior to our trip I am sure I would have persuaded him to book our stay elsewhere. There are a few minor things I wish housekeeping would have taken care of before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yuma, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Took my husband for a get away - booked it for location - fresh blood on sheets - room not cleaned, made up to appear it had, no hot water entire stay - though told water would be fixed prior to second night stay - 2 nights and 3 days - owner refused phone calls about complaints and staff stated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LJI1110, Manager at La Jolla Inn, responded to this review

Dear HappyAZGirl : I am very sorry to read about your recent experience at our hotel. Clearly we did not fulfill our promise to you in providing first-class service. I am addressing your issues immediately to ensure they don't happen again in the future. We apologize that your stay with us did not go as you had planned, and we... More

Tucson, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed two nights in this hotel. The location is great. However it is very noisy at night on weekends, especially in the downstairs rooms. The upstairs rooms are small but OK. The street level rooms however are noisy, dark and musty. Definitely not worth the price. What made our experience particularly bad was that we had no hot water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LJI1110, Manager at La Jolla Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kate H.: I am disappointed to read the review about your recent visit to the La Jolla Inn. In response to your comments about our service, please know that our staff strives to ensure the complete satisfaction of our guests at all times. We have worked to ensure that such a situation does not occur in the future, and... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was staying in the area for a week for a job interview and to explore the local area. I am from the UK and this was my first trip to the USA. I arrived in the evening after travelling for approx 23 hours and needed to crash, but annoyingly the place across the street was having a live music... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pittsford, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was intimidated by a number of reviews I read online but the hotel is in the perfect location in the center of LaJolla so I risked it and was very pleasantly surprised. Price is low compared to others nearby. Rooms are small but nicely done and very clean. Staff is friendly. We have a balcony with chairs and can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I bought a 1 night stay though rocketmiles; we were looking for a short 1 hour getaway from home. I will say that the location of the hotel is great; close to LaJolla Cove, the Caves, lots of shops and restaurants. However, the hotel is average and as others have shared, it is in need of a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the La Jolla Inn for 3 nights and was very pleasantly surprised. It was a great value and the location was top notch. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was nicer than I expected based on some of the less favorable reviews I'd read. I did pay the extra for a room with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Like most other reviewers, I chose this hotel based on its location. That's the only good thing about it. It's noisy, smells bad, hasn't been renovated in decades, and the a/c in my room didn't work. After midnight, I called the front desk, to ask about changing rooms. However, the front desk is not staffed at night. This is probably... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LJI1110, Manager at La Jolla Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to read about your recent stay at the La Jolla Inn. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We will work diligently to ensure that these issues that you have addressed will be brought forth to management. I hope you will give us an opportunity to exceed your expectations during your next visit to La... More

Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

It was a small room, a no frills just a room to stay that had a great location. I didn't have issues with service and there was a made to order continental breakfast which was nice. It was perfect for us because we were barely in the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
El Cajon, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

First let me say I purchased a voucher for a two night stay through The Goods for $363. Here is what the offer said: "Get 67% off a 2 night stay in the luxury Junior Suite at the La Jolla Inn. Just steps from the ocean & downtown La Jolla. Receive flowers, chocolates & Champagne upon arrival. No black out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Been to La Jolla Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Inn

Also Known As:
La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hotel
Address: 1110 Prospect St, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Jolla Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Jolla Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.