We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy The 4th Night Free!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    267
    112
    55
    28
See reviews for
207
366
42
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1004)
  • Mar-May only
    (228)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (314)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (265)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (197)
All months
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our 3rd stay here. The rates are an excellent value considering the location, quality of rooms and service. Our only disappointment was to learn that free self-parking had been replaced by mandatory $25/night valet. However, we accidentally left a shirt hanging in the closet when we checked out and after a couple of phone calls, the staff graciously... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oakdale, California, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

She was planning on it. We were all set. The dog was placed. The cats were set to be taken care of. And then the cat sitter called. Can't do if. One day from leaving. So no cat sitter, no go. I had to go alone. My conference was 5 days in length and it started on Monday. I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

It’s such a pleasure to read all about your recent business stay with us. It is so great that you enjoyed your dining experiences as well as the customer service you received. Thank you for sharing your stay with us! We can not wait to welcome you and your wife back. More 

Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a good place to stay in La Jolla/San Diego. It is next to the Salk Institute (next door to which is a scenic overlook I'd definitely recommend). It is not walking distance to La Jolla town but an easy drive. The rooms are tasteful, spacious and the service friendly -- they give you a free bottle of wine.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelations M, Director of Sales at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

It was such a pleasure welcoming you and your family to Estancia! It is wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your stay, and I want to thank you for taking the time to share with the Trip Advisor Audience. We certainly hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Warm wishes, Sheri Thomas Director of Sales... More 

Tucson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed at this hotell in March for a family wedding. I gave clearance for my children to check in , who were traveling separately, and upon my arrival, they still didn't have it straight who was in each room. The grounds were beautiful, but the service was very disappointing. Our room was lovely, but dark. We had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Your review is certainly concerning to read. Although we cannot tell from your review, we hope you had the opportunity to address your concerns directly with a member from our management team. If not, please accept our sincere apologies you left our resort unhappy. We generally receive beaming feedback with regards to our weddings; we are so sorry you did... More 

Yuma, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ingenious design evokes far, old Tuscany Hills. #1 for de-stressing!! Feels remote, but its not. Loved valet! No walking:) Sensed irritation in few newbie staff, but mostly they're AWESOME, even KIND.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

It’s so wonderful to read all about your recent stay with us! We are overjoyed to read of your experience and are so happy we were able to help you de-stress. It was such a pleasure having you with us, and we certainly hope we will be able to welcome you back soon! More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We both enjoyed the stay and the location and feel of the hotel. Most of all, very impressed with the staff and their customer service. Brett was very helpful and so was all if the staff we encountered during our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We are so happy to read of your recent 5 star experience with us. It’s so wonderful that you enjoyed the location, ambience, and most importably the customer service. Your kind words will certainly be shared with Brett as well as the rest of the team. Please come back and visit again soon! More 

Alberta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

No doubt a beautiful hotel but very pricey and need a car. The valet parking is an extra charge and a bit inconvenient. Good service and great pool area! The grounds were gorgeous and lots of walking paths! Our balcony was very small and only had one chair. Although we had a great week in San Diego if I went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. It was lovely having you stay with us for a week. We are so happy to read you so greatly enjoyed the grounds as well as the service you received. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future! More 

San Clemente, Ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel has an old Hollywood vacation feel to it. The location is serene with lush landscape. The rooms are clean but not extraordinary. Most of the staff was friendly and generally accommodating. I am giving it 3 stars because I am not sure the overall property was worth the price but also had a dissatisfactory experience. During a holiday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay with us on Trip Advisor. We are so happy you enjoyed the location and that for the majority of your time with us you experienced friendly customer service. I do want to apologize our Bellman made you feel that way and we want to assure you it... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was so excited to stay at this hotel. Based on reviews it's seemed awesome. The hotel it self is very nice very beautiful. However I had to ask 3 times for the bedding to be changed in my room since there was blood on it (not my blood) On the sheet and comforter and a yellow stain. Wasn't trying to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. It is certainly concerning to read about your experience with us and we want to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize. Your time with us certainly did not align with our service standards and I will be sure to speak with the team regarding your... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Exceptional service, well kept hotel and great amenities. The whole family had such a good time, my conference went smoothly.The concierge and security detail Alex Williams were invaluable in returning our forgotten items to us intact! Thanks for a great stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We are so happy to read you and your family had such a wonderful time with us! Your kind words will certainly be shared with Alex as well as the rest of the team. It was such a pleasure having you stay with us. Come back and visit again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

753 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (277)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (82)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (436)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (59)
Viewed
Estate Double Queen Room (62)
Viewed
Estate King Room (57)
Viewed
Pool (60)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (69)
Viewed
The Hotel (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question