We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fort Ross Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
20705 Highway 1, Jenner, CA 95450
Special Offer
Complimentary Champagne
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Fort Ross Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    83
    68
    15
    19
    7
See reviews for
26
120
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (192)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Only disappointing lodging on this trip. You cannot access the beach and it is treacherous trying to walk out on the bluff to see the ocean as the ground is full of gopher holes and you are warned. Room was dark and dowdy and smelled stale. No counter space in bathroom. No breakfast. Sunroom not opened up and full of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry you were disappointed during your visit to our lodge. We are on a rigid part of the rocky Sonoma Coast, and we do not claim to have beach access. We do warn our guests of the trail to the cliff, only because there are gophers/holes and it is State Park Property that we cannot maintain. Not sure what room... More 

Coarsegold, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

We found the Fort Ross Lodge on here and the prior reviewers made our decision for us. This place is great! Right on the ocean in Sonoma County. All of the rooms have patio charcoal grills with grilling utensils and wood burning fireplaces in the room. The lodge provides the charcoal and also wood and a fire starter for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We have been trying new in room coffee packets, and will keep looking. Glad you enjoyed the coffee in the lobby. The Wifi is being improved upon, but it is a struggle to reach the lower building. Our sunroom by the central spa area is a great place to use your devices... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

My husband and I come here often. It's always been a wonderful place to go, reasonable prices, rooms are ALWAYS spotless. All the amenities unlike the so called 4 star hotel a couple miles away that's twice the price. David & Prudence are absolutely wonderful. Always inviting & friendly. Since they came aboard it made it all that much better

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of our lodge. We love having you as a guest. Hope to see you soon. More 

Hayward, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

I booked two double beds and received a confirmation email stating that along with welcoming statements. Check in needed to be before 8pm. We were traveling from San Francisco in the fog, and so I called to let front desk know we would be checking in late. That's when I was told we would not be receiving the room I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge. I am very sorry with the error on your reservation with the room type. I have spoken with our staff and we have gone over procedure to make sure this does not happen again. Please accept my apologies, and we hope to have you as our guest in the near... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Fort Ross is right on the rugged Northern California Coast. Each room at the Fort Ross Lodge is like your own mini-cottage with a patio that faces the Pacific Ocean. This is a rustic get-away. No fancy stuff. No cell service. No room service. Limited WiFi which is all you need to quickly check email. Sometimes the power goes out.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review. It is always a pleasure to have great guests like you. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Sturgis, South Dakota
Level Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

We did not stay here, or eat here. We stopped on a foggy morning for a cup of coffee. 45 minutes later we had a mediocre cup of coffee, then had to wait to pay. Were they busy? NOPE. They are just operate poorly. As we were waiting for coffee, a long line was waiting to check out. The entire... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

I think this review is meant to be for the Fort Ross Store, and not the Lodge. Sorry that you had a bad cup of coffee and didn't get good service. More 

Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

Room was clean, no problems with check in or staff. View was nice and hot tub was well maintained. The property offered adequate privacy with was appreciated and the landscape was beautiful and well maintained. We had to walk around with caution due to the natural vegetation on the hillsides, but it was worth it. We saw lots of birds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our lodge. We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future. More 

San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

We spent two nights at Fort Ross Lodge. we were taking my wife's elderly father for a short road trip. Fort Ross Lodge is quiet and in a good location to explore the surrounding coastline. Sea Ranch is 20 minutes away as well as Gualala and beyond. There are enough good restaurants to satisfy most tastes for a couple of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Was excited to stay along California coast line so chose historic Fort Ross for lodging. Room was OK--was a warm afternoon upon arrival and room was hot and stuffy... no AC and sun was harsh coming through windows on the roofline--had to open patio door to get ventilation, so it cooled off nicely once sun went down. Tried to walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Nice, quiet room with a fireplace and a great view of the ocean. We opted for a King unit with a outdoor Jacuzzi and it was well worth it. it was beautiful to sit outside in the tub and watch the stars. Although the room was a little dated, having a kitchenette was a bonus. The downside is that there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a nice review for our lodge. We are trying to improve the wifi, but it isn't happening as fast as I would like. We hope to have you stay with us on your next trip to California. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

127 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (105)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenner
19.1 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 853 reviews
13.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
18.1 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
14.5 mi away
Monte Rio Vacation Cottages
0.9 mi away
Timber Cove Inn
Timber Cove Inn
#1 of 2 in Jenner
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay