We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bacara Resort & Spa

#2 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Special Offer
$100 Gift of Indulgence
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bacara Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bacara Resort & Spa
Add Photo Write a Review

1,735 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    996
    287
    188
    141
    123
See reviews for
360
710
37
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1735)
  • Mar-May only
    (397)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (588)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (429)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (321)
All months
There are newer reviews for Bacara Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband decided to spend more to stay at a Resort we thought would be an incredible experience. It turned out to be the worst experience on our California vacation. It took some time to get into our room and with 2 children in tow, that turned out to be a bad start. The room was dark and not that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a careful accounting of your recent stay. I am extremely grateful you have shared your concerns with us. I have sent you a private message in order to be in touch and try to right a wrong. I hope to speak with you soon. Most Sincerely, Kathleen Cochran General Manager More 

Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I just visited Bacara for my friend's 60th birthday. We had an amazing time. We played in the ocean, warmed up by the pool, had amazing spa treatments (best Pedicure ever by Fani and my friend had the Ayervedic Massage by Zoe and loved it!). The food was very good and the drinks at sunset over the ocean topped the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay for your friend’s special birthday. I was so glad to read that you had an overall amazing trip and we can’t wait to welcome you back! See you soon. Most Sincerely, Kathleen Cochran General Manager More 

Calgary
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Recently I stayed at Bacara for 5 nights. The room was outstanding! The housekeepers were #1. If you needed or wanted something, you just had to ask them. I found this was a Better way to get service. I thank you very much. The spa pool was very relaxing. No children were allowed...very peaceful! The kids had so much fun... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your recent stay. I loved reading that you enjoyed exceptional service from our housekeeping staff, and enjoyed our relaxing Spa pool and cuisine at The Bistro & Spa Café. As I have mentioned in other reviews our Resort fees and parking charges are an industry wide practice at many other destination resorts such as Bacara... More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights with my husband and two boys (7 and 5) and The Bacara is beautiful. The property and it's amenities are fantastic - beautifully maintained and co-ordinated. The food is excellent and whilst the property is exceptionally child friendly you don't get the negatives that often come with family accommodation. I would definitely stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your recent family vacation at Bacara. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds, amenities, and exceptional cuisine. I am sorry to read that you experienced inconsistent service from our reception and concierge staff. I am happy to read that despite this, you will return. I am confident yours was an... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I experienced a total escape from the usual stresses of daily life by staying at Bacara. Hospitality and customer service is everywhere in the culture of the resort. The views are stunning, the grounds are immaculate and opportunities for fun and relaxation are bountiful. The dining experiences at the Miro and the Bistro were fabulous.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your recent stay. I most enjoyed reading that you felt like your stay was a total escape from your daily life and we hope to welcome you back time and again to relax and disconnect. Kindly, Kathleen Cochran General Manager More 

boston, ma.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Although we only spent a night at this resort, we left feeling like we had spent a week. Everyone we came in contact with was friendly and helpful. After checking in, we took a long walk around the property which is so beautiful and well maintained. There was a Pelican (I think) in the pool area and my two teenagers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your recent experience. I loved reading that you felt like you had been away for a week while visiting and that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds, luxurious suite and service and cuisine at The Bistro. We can’t wait for you to return! See you soon. Kindly, Kathleen Cochran General Manager More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for almost 4 days. Even though we came during "June gloom" we still had perfect weather most of the trip. Views from the restaurant and hiking trail were breathtaking. Rooms were great and food was good but I expected better for the price. Overall worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your recent stay at Bacara. I am happy to read that the stay was worth it and we can’t wait to welcome you back. We hope to see you soon. Kindly, Kathleen Cochran General Manager More 

Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We decided to spend the weekend here with all my in laws for a 70th birthday celebration. The rooms are beautiful as well as the property itself. Staff were very friendly in all areas of the hotel. Unfortunately I think it's just too big to adequately manage in this location. It is far from the charming city of Santa Barbara... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your recent stay for your in-law’s 70th birthday. While I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our beautiful property, rooms and friendly staff, I was sorry to read that there were a few kinks in your stay. We hope that despite this you will return again to enjoy all that Bacara has to offer... More 

Orange, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We decided to treat ourselves to what we thought was a Oceanside 5 star Resort with Bacara and at $500 plus a night, expected a wonderful experience. That $500 plus rate turned into a unexpected $600 plus rate with a ridiculous parking charge, resort fee and taxes. The room was nothing special, with no privacy at all in the bathroom.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I am truly disappointed to read about your stay and I have contacted you privately to personally follow up with your concerns. I hope to connect with you soon. Kindly, Kathleen Cochran General Manager More 

Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a beautiful location. The room we ended up with was wonderful. The spa is spectacular! The negatives hold me back from giving it five-star reviews. I requested a quiet room...they put me in a suite where all I could hear when I opened the doors/windows was traffic noise from the trucks on the freeway close by! The bellboy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kathleen C, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our beautiful location, spectacular spa as well as your guest room near our pool. I am sorry to read that you were not pleased with your first room location as well as the service you received while dining at our restaurants. I hope that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

838 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (552)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (147)
Viewed
View from room (46)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (84)
Viewed
Room/suite (95)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (106)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (261)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Beach (5)
Viewed
Partial Ocean View Room (66)
Viewed
Pool (20)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
12.1 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
12.5 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 893 reviews
12.2 mi away
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara
13.0 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 956 reviews
15.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay