We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Benbow Historic Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
445 Lake Benbow Dr., Garberville, CA 95442
Special Offer
Bottle of Benbow Wine
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Benbow Historic Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

507 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    288
    123
    51
    28
    17
See reviews for
88
316
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (507)
  • Mar-May only
    (95)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (196)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (137)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (79)
All months
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were with the family down at the ole' swimming hole during the day and then retired for the night at the Benbow Inn about 30min north of the camp ground. Real beds, bath/shower, fancy-smancy restaurant with stuff I couldn't pronounce and live music as the sun goes down. Claudette had always wanted to stay there because her mom used... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You know when you are so tired from your week and ready to collapse and have someone else worry about everything . . . except bring you everything you want when you want it? That's how staying at the Benbow is. Plus, you feel like you've been transported back to a slower, saner time as soon as you walk in.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I brought my tour group here and thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful architecture and location of this building. The tudor style chateau is tucked away in the redwoods and perfect for a romantic getaway in Nor Cal. Terraced rooms look great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are a family of 4 and stayed at its Premium King room, which includes a kind size bed and a bunk bed, so everyone could stretch out comfortably after a long drive. Our room is spacious but granted it's a bit dated (well expected). The major downside is that it has NO ELEVATOR, so we had to carry our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Middletown, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At this time there are very few rooms for those with limited mobility. The terrace rooms are the easiest to access for those with some mobility. The stair ways are very steep, the hallways are narrow and the rooms in the historical hotel are small. Wheelchair access is not available, but they are planning to have an elevator built. However,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Found this place on trip advisor thought we would give it a try.... Wow! Stayed in a room with our own personal deck. The motif Dof the place makes you feel as though you have stepped back in time to the 1920's.. Just fabulous. You even need to dress for dinner! The food was amazing.. Truly exceptional meal. Staff was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stairs, stairs, stairs everywhere! No elevators.....Historic, yes! A trip back in time! Our room was large and very pleasant, overlooking the garden and bridge, which is lit at night, a nice touch! The property is located very close to the freeway so expect some road noise! Benbow, like many national parks, during the summer months, some of the wait staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found this shinning light at the end of a very long drive and after leaving it too late for other accommodation from Florence. The property is beautiful, the staff are absolutely wonderful. The estate has a rich history and a really good vibe about it. There is no breakfast included though you can purchase it separately. Nice compfy beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wicklow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived around 6pm after a long drive, at check in we were very happy and well treated but unfortunately nobody mentioned the restaurant was fully booked. We had a quick wash up and arrived downstairs for dinner to discover we couldn't eat in the hotel because they had a private party so we asked about other places to go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aimee B, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review

Dear Itchyfeet04, Thank you for your thorough review, and please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced during your time with us. We do appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention so that we can find solutions and avoid these things from happening. We did have a large wedding reception here during the night of your... More 

Tyler, TX
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Travelled North to Humboldt SP with my daughter and spent one overnight here. Truly a charming Inn. Check in was easy. Front office staff and bell staff were great. We were upgraded to a very nice suite for free without asking. It is truly a beautiful old historic inn. So given this why would I give anything less than a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

307 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (251)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (97)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garberville
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn
2.0 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
3.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay