We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Benbow Historic Inn

4.0 of 5 445 Lake Benbow Dr., Garberville, CA 95442
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Benbow Historic Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Benbow Historic Inn
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    96
    46
    24
    17
See reviews for
74
273
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (429)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (154)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (137)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
The Sea Ranch, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you happen to find yourself travelling in this part of Nor Cal, treat yourself to a stay at the Benbow. It had been on my wife's bucket list for awhile now and we were not disappointed! The room was period fashion history although the baths are certainly modern. We had dinner in the courtyard that night and everything form... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DOSMManager, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review

Dear shakey26, Thank you for your wonderful review. We take great pride in sharing our guest comments with our staff at our weekly meetings. We see from your comments that you stayed with us during the summer. Many of our guests find the winter and spring months to be equally enjoyable. We appreciate your business and hope you will visit... More 

San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This historic property is along the stunning Redwood Highway. If you are looking for a good clean quality property to stay in, this is a good choice. The Benbow is situated in a picturesque easy to access setting and maintains its rich historic heritage. The price is about average for the area and is a relatively good value. This is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOSMManager, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lonnie L., Thank you for your concise review. From time to time we fall short of the level of service that our guests have come to expect at our Historic Inn. We were pleased to read that your overall experience was positive and that you considered our property to be the best in the area. We will continue to... More 

Grants Pass, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our recent stay at the Benbow. We reserved a room with a fireplace in the newer building. The decor was very nice...antique furniture, but modern amenities. Terrific view from our room (with private balcony) of the stone bridge through the trees. We also enjoyed the roaring fireplace in the lobby, where we drank our coffee in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DOSMManager, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review

Dear jkp99b, Thank you for your review and comments. We've discussed your comments with our front desk and waitstaff. We're sorry about the glitches, though we feel confident that that future service issues will be avoided. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future. N. Leddy More 

Blaine, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed there Oct. 27 & 28. A wonderful place from a different more graceful time in the past. The food was outstanding for every meal and was worth every penny. The dining room looks beautiful. The chef is a natural talent and equal to the finest we have experienced. The service was excellent. We ate all the meals at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DOSMManager, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review

Dear 254Fred, Thank you for your review and comments. We reviewed your concerns with our front desk management, staff and the front desk agent who assisted you. Although we initially fell short or your expectations, it appears from your comments that we were able to successfully resolve your situation. We will continue to provide training to our new front desk... More 

Southern Oregon Coast
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've been to Benbow before and got a good last minute deal ($145). It's a beautiful setting with a comfortable room and friendly service. Not a bed and breakfast because breakfast is not included in the rate. There are no other restaurants close by so expect to pay quite a bit for dinner and breakfast. It was worth it because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOSMManager, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review

Dear Bolinas, Thank you for your review. As we enter the winter months in Benbow, our repeat guests are always delighted to learn that we offer reduced rates for mid-week arrivals and non-holiday period weekends. Winter is a beautiful time in the redwoods. We always welcome the opportunity to provide our guests with solitude and an intuitive level of service... More 

Bartlett, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location outside the Avenue of the Giants. Full restaurant and bar, even had a happy hour which was a nice discount. Full dinner/breakfast available, so no need to go out again. Nice people. Excellent choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DOSMManager, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rhoda V, We appreciate that you took the time to review the Inn. It's wonderful that you discovered us on your recent travels from Illinois. Please consider returning to Southern Humboldt and Benbow on your next adventure to the redwoods. More 

Santa Rosa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This brings you back to a time when life was simple and elegant. Simply put, GREAT food, GREAT service, GREAT location. It is relaxing from the moment you walk in the front door. The staff was more than willing to accommodate us with everything we needed. After a long drive, we were greeted with tea and scones upon check in.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOSMManager, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review

Dear Fishseeker707, Thank you for your review of our property. We appreciate the kind words and we look forward to your return. More 

Thomaston, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

WOW! WOW! WOW! What a lucky find this was. Stumbled on to the place on Hotel's dot com and it was beyond the great review. I guess this is how a hotel survives for so many years. First the location is perfect if you are traveling through the redwoods. Just a few minute from the Avenue of the Giants. Starting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOSMManager, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dave H, Thank you for your recent visit and review. We're delighted that we were able to host you on your 20th anniversary. We appreciate your kind comments and we hope you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to the redwoods and the lost coast. More 

Windsor, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Benbow Inn is a quaint hotel. It was built around the 1920's. We stayed in the older part of the hotel to get the "feel" of the old hotel. There is no elevator for the older part of the hotel but there is an elevator for the newly remodeled section. I reserved the premium King room because it had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOSMManager, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review

Dear Nozzydiva, Thank you for your review of our Historic Inn. We need to point out to future guests that there is no elevator either in the Terrace Rooms or in the Historic Rooms. As a golfer, I can also agree that the course can be challenging at times. The golf course designer had to work with the natural mountain... More 

Eureka, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

My husband and I just got home from The Benbow Inn and I couldn't wait to share the awesome experience we had. The Inn itself is amazing but we knew that due to the fact that we live an hour away. We wanted a special occasion getaway to celebrate and chose the perfect place. The room was beautiful with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DOSMManager, Director of Sales at Benbow Historic Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tracy F, We are always very pleased to receive TripAdvisor reviews from our guests and neighbors in Eureka. We want to thank you for your thoughtful observations. While we are only an hour's drive away, many of our Humboldt County guests to the north tell us that our Inn feels like it's a world away. We appreciate your comments... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Benbow Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benbow Historic Inn

Address: 445 Lake Benbow Dr., Garberville, CA 95442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Garberville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benbow Historic Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Benbow Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benbow Inn

215 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (184)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (77)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay