We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

University Square Hotel

Hotel website
4961 North Cedar Ave., Fresno, CA 93724 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
University Square Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
University Square Hotel
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    26
    21
    16
See reviews for
25
20
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
There are newer reviews for University Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed here for two nights for a work trip. The hotel was in a good location which was important for me. The hotel itself was more rundown than I had expected. Check in was easy. The staff was nice and gave me the option to choose which floor I was in. The room was clean, very spacious and quiet.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Toni, Thanks for staying with us and recommending our hotel to prospective guests. We appreciate your business. We are in the process of renovating the guestrooms. We plan to complete that effort in a few months. Yes, our rooms are very spacious (~450sqft) with higher ceiling making the room even larger. I like the breakfast myself. The chef has... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The rooms look like they have been halfway renovated. There is a new tv and semi-new carpeting. The beds were clean and comfortable...and that ends my positive experience. The walls are paper thin. We could hear our neighbor's television until midnight. We thought that at that point we could get some sleep, we were wrong! We could hear their entire... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Dear Renee: Thanks for your review. Yes, our beds are newer and clean. The hotel was build in 1984 with plaster drywall for better insulation and noise reduction. I will personally investigate the noise issue. We are in the process of renovating the guestrooms. The newly added security gates add extra security. Hope your next stay would be more comfortable.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Fresno hotels

Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

As others note, this hotel is a little bit run-down and shabby around the edges, but I found the staff to be friendly and helpful, the location just 10 minutes from the Fresno Airport to be handy, and the complementary breakfast to be not bad. Frankly I chose this hotel because on my past visit to Fresno, the hotel I'd... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear GonzoDon: Thanks for staying with us. Our hotel has a unique English Tudor architectural design which is not as boring as newer hotels in the area. Many guests have enjoyed a large courtyard with refreshing swimming pool. I am sorry that you found Fresno State University uninteresting. It's been there over a century with a newly elected president and... More 

San Jose, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This property is rundown and our room was worn, tired and dingy. The room furnishings were cheap and the lighting very dark. The bathroom light fixture looked like something from the 1960’s – fluorescent and ugly. The air quality overall was stale. On the first of our two night stay, the guests next to our room were blasting music and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Spiritofitalytours: Thanks for your review. I am so sorry for a neighboring guests that were out of control during your stay. Our employees tried the best the know how to quiet them down unsuccessfully. We never had to call a police before, but had no choice in this case for the benefit of other guests. We are striving to... More 

elk grove
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was our second stay at this homestyle hotel. We arrived there in the afternoon on Saturday for an overnight stay in one of their suites that is like having (2) master bedrooms with their very own refigerator,tv w/free wifi etc. Went to the Sizzler on Shaw Marvin's B-Day dinner. Came back to the hotel. Sunday we had a all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Pablo, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I would agree with most of the reviews in repect to comfort of my room, upgradedTV, great pool, the breakfast, and the the courtesy given to my family. The big Plus was when they shuttled us over to the event we were going to. I would stay there again. In reference to the smoke and age of the building, is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElkGrove
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

They get an A for trying but this is a rundown hotel. They have central heat and air that sends the cigarette smell from one room to the next regardless of what building. I am allergic to cigarettes and felt like I was going into anaphylaxis shock from the fumes. Thankfully, they refunded my money and I stayed at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brandi500, Manager at University Square Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I apologize for your experience with us regarding the smoke smell. Our hotel is 100% non smoking but we do allow guest to smoke in designated smoking area outside and in the courtyard. Guest who don't follow out nonsmoking policy are charged a fee if they smoke in the room. Once... More 

Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Close to clovis it worked great. Iys right next to some great places to eat and csu Fresno. The pool is a nice shape ans comp breakfast was decent. Ice machines are brolen.which.sucked because when i was there it was 113 degree s. stay here its nice for the price i

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have stay at this hotel before, but this time instead of tube TV we have new flat TV with a lot of channels to watch. My kids love to stay at this hotel since it has the pool and a waffle making machine. I would stay here again in my future visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Let me start out by saying that the number one rated hotel in Fresno has a 4-star rating. Three others have a 4.5-star rating so this is not a garden spot for hotels. Secondly, you can stand on the front lawn and if you have a good arm, get a small rock onto the Cal State Fresno Campus. Near college... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay