We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

University Square Hotel

2.5 of 5 4961 North Cedar Ave., Fresno, CA 93724 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
University Square Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
University Square Hotel
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    18
    20
    15
See reviews for
23
17
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (79)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
There are newer reviews for University Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Atascadero, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times. I called to confirm my reservation with a special request. Brandi answered the phone and was so accommodating! I can't believe how she made us feel welcomed on the phone. I can't wait to meet Brandi tomorrow after we check in. The hotel has always been so accommodating during all my stays.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
slo life
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have stayed here before. The area (1 star) surrounding the hotel is a little "shady." There is a 7-11(2 star) located next door, so one gets all types here @ this "watering hole." The hotel staff (3.5 stars) are very helpful, very friendly, very courteous. The room is large, outdated tube tv , bed was comfortable, great a/c unit,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eagle, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on Apr. 6 and 7th. Hotel had a group using the hotel for a retreat or some sort of religious event over the weekend. The noise was horrible. On Saturday night we asked for a different room to get away from it. The staff at the front desk didn't even answer the first time we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leslie4961, Director of Sales at University Square Hotel, responded to this review

First of all I deeply apologize for the interruption to you during your stay with us. When I heard about what happened I went straight to the director of Catering to discuss this group and she was completely upset that they were so inconsiderate to the request of our staff to stop the music and noise, so as of now... More 

Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My family and I stay at the University Square Hotel over the Easter weekend. We liked it very much. The breakfast was great; however, I wished they had cut up fresh fruit. The room is big and clean. My daughters loved it so much, she felt like at home. The service was awesome, I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leslie4961, Director of Sales at University Square Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review, I love the rooms to because of their size, so glad it made you feel like home. I went ahead and gave your idea of cutting up the fruit for the morning. We look forward to seeing you again! Thank you! More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Service and staff was an absolute joke. Called front desk for an extra pillow, arrived sometime after 4 calls and 90 minutes. Staff seemed more willing to accommodate outside party that was using banquet facilities. Luckily, I pricelined room for alot less than advertised price. Still felt like I was ripped off. If possible, avoid this dump.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leslie4961, Director of Sales at University Square Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the problem that you encountered, and I am truly sorry that we did not respond in a timely matter to your request. I spoke with the front desk staff about this issue, even though we were very busy there was no excuse to not to be able to take... More 

San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Knew this hotel when it was the Piccadilly and quite awhile ago stayed at this hotel. For in the late 80s early 90s this hotel would be a gem. In 2013, this place needs a major renovation. Saw on Facebook that they have new owners with plans on renovation which is exciting. The hotel has a lot of potential if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leslie4961, Director of Sales at University Square Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay and your valuable input. Yes we just got NEW Owners as of Dec 21st, 2013 as you know they inherited a lot of work that needs to be done to this great hotel, they had to first replace the 2 NEW water heaters, a NEW van, a server for our system and bedding, which... More 

Glen Alice
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while we were in town for the George Strait concert. Our room was huge with a really comfy bed and pillows. The shower was fantastic. Found the staff to be lovely and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fresno
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I found the hotel staff friendly; great amenities and breakfast. I especially liked the lounge and books and free daily newspaper. the room was large, clean and comfortable. There is a small exercise room. The only downside to the entire stay was a noisy refrigerator and TV remote that didn't work well.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Great shower. Staff very accommodating. The free breakfast was better than most places we have stayed. We had four rooms and everyone agreed that beds were extremely comfortable. Central location is convenient for our weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palmdale, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were in town on one of the busiest weekends. There was a huge cross country race and a Justin Bieber concert on the same day. Check in took a while with so many people but the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. There was a Marie Calendars next door so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to University Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Square Hotel

Address: 4961 North Cedar Ave., Fresno, CA 93724 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Square Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your University Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Hotel University
Piccadilly Hotel Fresno

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay