We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 65 Fresno hotels

University Square Hotel

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4961 North Cedar Ave., Fresno, CA 93724 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added University Square Hotel to your Saves list
University Square Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
37%
Ranked #42 of 65 hotels in Fresno
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
artlush
  • Overview
  • Reviews (72)
  • Photos (8)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    18
    13
    14
See reviews for
22
12
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A lot of the reviews here sum up this hotel: it's old, the breakfast is tasteless, and only half the staff is kind. I've stayed in a few hotels in Fresno, but this may have been the worst. I can't complain about the price - I got a great deal - but the fact it was allegedly more is laughable.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fresno
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The wife and I are visiting family in San Francisco and she and I took a road trip to Yosemite. Got out of the park late and it was already dark so we drove to Fresno to find a hotel. Looked on Kayak and found this one - picture with the nice lighting looked nice, it was a 3-Star, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoang T, Owner at University Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kiffer: Thank you for providing us your inputs. All comments are valuable and give us opportunities to improve our facility and services. Our hotel was designed as an Old English Tudor structure using lots of old bricks and Oak wood on a 4-Acre parcel. We have recently purchased the hotel from receivership and have tried to renovate as much... More

Vacaville, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

double charged are credit card after checkout and refused refund saying they decided we checked out late and wanted to charge us more. also horrible breakfast and worse manager Minh was very rude and obnoxious .would never stay again or recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoang T, Owner at University Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roger: An investigation was conducted with the manager and learned that the group you were in should be charged 2 nights by the contract, but we only charged one night. We cleaned the rooms then by 3:11pm your group came and took shower messing up the rooms and bathrooms again. Group never informed the management or front desk of... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel is close to Fresno State. That's really about all anyone will likely care about. I spent only a single night there. It hasn't been updated in many many years. The upside of this is that at least my room was large - I think most of them are. It seemed clean and the bed was comfortable. Beyond that,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oakland, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I recently stayed in this hotel and experienced bedbugs. I woke up in the middle of the night to an itching sensation, and then found several bug bites on my arm and leg. I told the front desk and they moved us to another room, however we looked under the mattress and found a bug. This all happened at 12am.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hoang T, Owner at University Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Krbest: I am very sorry for the disappointed experience you had with us. We take bedbug issue seriously at our hotel. When we get a complain, We treat the room immediately and take it out of service for a long extended period of time. Once in a while guests bring bedbug to our hotel and we isolate the room... More

Fresno
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here and in the morning i stepped out and the cleaning people came in and when i got back my sleeping pills were taken as well as my ciggarettes when i told the manager he said there is nothing he could do about it and that he didnt think they took them. Dont stay here there theiving liars!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoang T, Owner at University Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sean: I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay at our hotel. I personally interviewed the housekeeping person for your room. She said she did not remove your sleeping pills or your cigarettes since she does not smoke. However, I would like to invite you to stay with us again next time you have a chance... More

Modesto, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My parents had stayed at this hotel for my graduation at Fresno State and experienced some problems. They immediately rated this hotel as "bad" due to low customer service and all but, they did not take into consideration that it was GRADUATION WEEKEND! Of coarse every hotel near a big event will be busy and all. Well I just stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hoang T, Owner at University Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gonzolo, Thank you for leaving us a nice review. This give us a great feeling serving you and other guests better for many years to come. Best wishes on your Nursing program! Sincerely, More

Monterey, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've been at this Hotel many times. My wife and I just needed some down time while traveling and wound up here for memorial Day weekend. Check-in was fast and easy and the girl at the counter was very polite and good. the room appeared to be degraded form the last time I was there, but livable. There were only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoang T, Owner at University Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joseph, Thanks for providing us your comments during your last stay with us. We are very sorry that it was disappointing to you. We just took over the hotel from a receivership and are trying to do everything we can to make your stay better next time. We have renovated over 130 bath rooms, upgraded old tube TVs to... More

Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel was recommended to me by the university as a convenient place to stay prior to my interview. I was able to get a great price on Travelocity. The hotel is definitely old, but the lobby has a certain charm. The room was enormous by modern hotel standards. The room was clean although there was evidence it could use... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoang T, Owner at University Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Spazgirl: Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. Yes, our hotel was designed as an old English Tudor with room size about 1.5 times the newer hotel rooms. Our hotel uses lots of woods and used bricks. Many guests expressed their appreciation of the architectural style over the modern hotels and choose to stay with us... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage University Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to University Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Square Hotel

Address: 4961 North Cedar Ave., Fresno, CA 93724 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Square Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your University Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Hotel University
Piccadilly Hotel Fresno

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Fresno with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The University Square Hotel! We are located just minutes from Downtown Fresno, The Fresno Convention Center, Save Mart Center Fresno and adjacent to California State University Fresno. University Square Hotel is the perfect choice for both the business or leisure traveler. The hotel is close to a variety of shopping or dining options like Fashion Fair Mall, Fig Garden Village or River Park. Looking for some more fun? University Square Hotel is near a multitude of activities like the Chaffee Zoo, Fresno Museum of Art, Fresno State Bulldog sports or the Fresno Grizzlies. If you want to relax, simply stay put and enjoy our amenities including a refreshing swimming pool, garden courtyard, heated spa and a comprehensive gym for an invigorating work out. Relax in our spacious guest rooms complete with plush, upgraded bedding. Each room comes equipped with the amenities needed for a great stay. All rooms come with a refrigerator and microwaves upon request. We offer our guests a deluxe hotel with a continental breakfast and complimentary high speed internet access along with a business center for free! Planning a meeting or special event? The University Square Hotel has a superior level of guest service and exceptional meeting, wedding, and banquet facilities. Our elegant ballroom can accommodate up to 400 people banquet style. The University Square Hotel has a full service catering team to meet your needs. We're ready to plan your next event. We welcome your visit to the Fresno area! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
190

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from University Square Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer