We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

University Square Hotel

2.5 of 5 4961 North Cedar Ave., Fresno, CA 93724 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
University Square Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
University Square Hotel
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    18
    16
    15
See reviews for
23
14
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Newcastle upon Tyne UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Walking through the lobby we could see that this has once been a nice hotel but it has suffered many years of neglect. Our room was huge but that just emphasised the filthy carpet and the bleak decor. There was virtually no Internet access either. Breakfast was the worst we have had in any hotel. Cheap bread products, still in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the pit stop between Sequoia and Yosemite. Hotel was across from University of Fresno. Very dated hotel that needs renovation. It had so many locks on the courtyard areas that it managed to simultaneously make me feel safe and unsafe (why so many locks/?). It also made trips back to the car and loading/unloading a royal pain. No... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

A lot of the reviews here sum up this hotel: it's old, the breakfast is tasteless, and only half the staff is kind. I've stayed in a few hotels in Fresno, but this may have been the worst. I can't complain about the price - I got a great deal - but the fact it was allegedly more is laughable.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fresno
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The wife and I are visiting family in San Francisco and she and I took a road trip to Yosemite. Got out of the park late and it was already dark so we drove to Fresno to find a hotel. Looked on Kayak and found this one - picture with the nice lighting looked nice, it was a 3-Star, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoang T, Owner at University Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kiffer: Thank you for providing us your inputs. All comments are valuable and give us opportunities to improve our facility and services. Our hotel was designed as an Old English Tudor structure using lots of old bricks and Oak wood on a 4-Acre parcel. We have recently purchased the hotel from receivership and have tried to renovate as much... More

Vacaville, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

double charged are credit card after checkout and refused refund saying they decided we checked out late and wanted to charge us more. also horrible breakfast and worse manager Minh was very rude and obnoxious .would never stay again or recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoang T, Owner at University Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roger: An investigation was conducted with the manager and learned that the group you were in should be charged 2 nights by the contract, but we only charged one night. We cleaned the rooms then by 3:11pm your group came and took shower messing up the rooms and bathrooms again. Group never informed the management or front desk of... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel is close to Fresno State. That's really about all anyone will likely care about. I spent only a single night there. It hasn't been updated in many many years. The upside of this is that at least my room was large - I think most of them are. It seemed clean and the bed was comfortable. Beyond that,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oakland, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I recently stayed in this hotel and experienced bedbugs. I woke up in the middle of the night to an itching sensation, and then found several bug bites on my arm and leg. I told the front desk and they moved us to another room, however we looked under the mattress and found a bug. This all happened at 12am.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hoang T, Owner at University Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Krbest: I am very sorry for the disappointed experience you had with us. We take bedbug issue seriously at our hotel. When we get a complain, We treat the room immediately and take it out of service for a long extended period of time. Once in a while guests bring bedbug to our hotel and we isolate the room... More

Fresno
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here and in the morning i stepped out and the cleaning people came in and when i got back my sleeping pills were taken as well as my ciggarettes when i told the manager he said there is nothing he could do about it and that he didnt think they took them. Dont stay here there theiving liars!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoang T, Owner at University Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sean: I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay at our hotel. I personally interviewed the housekeeping person for your room. She said she did not remove your sleeping pills or your cigarettes since she does not smoke. However, I would like to invite you to stay with us again next time you have a chance... More

Modesto, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My parents had stayed at this hotel for my graduation at Fresno State and experienced some problems. They immediately rated this hotel as "bad" due to low customer service and all but, they did not take into consideration that it was GRADUATION WEEKEND! Of coarse every hotel near a big event will be busy and all. Well I just stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hoang T, Owner at University Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gonzolo, Thank you for leaving us a nice review. This give us a great feeling serving you and other guests better for many years to come. Best wishes on your Nursing program! Sincerely, More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to University Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Square Hotel

Address: 4961 North Cedar Ave., Fresno, CA 93724 (Formerly Piccadilly Inn University)
Location: United States > California > Fresno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Square Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your University Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Hotel University
Piccadilly Hotel Fresno

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay