We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Foster City hotels

Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 Chess Drive, Foster City, CA 94404
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
60%
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Foster City
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Mary H San Francisco, California
  • Overview
  • Reviews (242)
  • Photos (101)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (63)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    76
    55
    29
    21
See reviews for
30
34
24
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maynard, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I hate posting a negative review for any hotel but there were some issues with our stay here that I feel should be mentioned. We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Foster City CA for 3 nights attending a family event in San Francisco in late June (2014). The room rate they gave us was a group rate, so we DID... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review

Dear Dianna M., Thank you for leaving your detailed review, we truly appreciate it! I would like to start by apologizing for your recent stay and give you a brief update on our renovations. The scaffolding you have photographed has all been removed and the lobby and front desk has been improving daily. We do expect lobby renovations to be... More

Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I am staying here for a couple of nights. Found a bunch of Ants in the room. Called the front desk they said the maintenance is closed and can't help. They want to move me to another room. So I have to pack all my stuff at 1 am in the morning and move to another room! Not pleased at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review

Dear Omprakash M., Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please be assured management is aware of the situation and have contacted our pest control company to rectify any ongoing issues. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. Sincerely, Crowne Plaza Foster City... More

Travelers are raving about these Foster City hotels

San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am still here at a conference and thought that I would give my opinion on the different aspects of the running of this hotel. The construction is only taking place in the central area as you enter the lobby. This area, in no way, is affecting my stay. The staff everywhere are extremely polite and apologetic about the works... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Diego
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Reservations neglected to mention that this hotel is under construction! We were a group of 6 rooms and none of us were told. Bad business to charge full price for a hotel when half of it is not usable. Many guests were shocked to find out when they checked in. Bad business. I thought it was an accident that we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review

Dear iqsfh, Thank you for your review and for choosing the Crowne Plaza-Foster City! We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences renovations has caused during your recent stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies. We are doing the best we can to alleviate the impact of renovations to all our guests and warning all reservations that come through that we are going... More

Sosua, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My office is in Foster CIty and when I am there on business I usually stay there. I love the rooms and the comfy beds. The Sushi restaurant is wonderful and a great place to grab a beer and unwind. The access to local businesses is excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review

Dear ClaytonGush, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are happy to hear you continue to choose us for your business travel accommodations - we really appreciate it! We also apologize for the renovations process, but certainly excited for our loyal business travelers, like yourself, to see the final product! Sincerely, Crowne Plaza Foster City Management More

Sacramento, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night after a long flight into SFO. The hotel is currently undergoing a major rehabilitation that went right up to my room door. Although I'm sure this will be a nice place once the work is complete, I would avoid it at least until 2015 unless you are comfortable sleeping in a construction site and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review

Dear Tom K., Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Crowne Plaza Foster City. We are sorry that your experience was not pleasant due to hotel renovations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. We understand that renovations can be an inconvenience and doing the best we can to make all our guests' stay... More

Näsbypark, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Checked in for a 2 day business trips where I was going to meet candidates. The whole reception is upside down due to renovation. I am sure it will be nice when it is done, however this is Hotel is currently not good enough for a business trip if you plan to have meetings at the hotel...

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review

Dear Johan S., Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Crowne Plaza Foster City. We are sorry that our renovations were an inconvenience during your recent stay, please accept our apologies. Please do visit us again once renovations are completed, we are very excited about the final product! Thank you for staying with us and... More

Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've stayed here a couple of times as it is really near a company where I do some teaching each year. They have a reduced rate for their guests, and that was a reasonable rate of $189. I was hoping to extend my stay for an additional 2 nights, but the rate went up to over $300 and that was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review

Dear Marcia H., Thank you so much for your detailed review. All your comments are very valuable to us as we strive to improve on all our services. We will certainly notify our Maintenance Department regarding the bathroom stains on the walls and the speed of the room service menu on the TV and do all we can to fix... More

Sanger, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Was looking forward to a nice quiet stay. For what I paid for the room, I expected a higher end hotel especially for the area. First impression....A total construction zone. Room should've included a hard hat! Requested a quiet room and was told our room would be very quiet! We must have been directly above the night club....Load music until... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review

Dear Lisa W., Thank you for leaving your review for the Crowne Plaza Foster City. We regret to hear your stay was unsatisfactory, please allow me to express our sincerest apologies. We understand that hotel renovations can be an inconvenience and we are doing our utmost to minimize the impact of the quality of our guest's experience. Once again, please... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

My regular hotel (Marriott San Mateo) was booked so I had to schlep over to the Holiday Inn "Crowne Plaza" for a few days on business. The lobby looks like a war zone and a pricey one at that. I was shocked they had the audacity to charge ~$300/night for admission to a working construction site. I did stay in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review

Dear TravelJDH, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Crowne Plaza. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. While we are in major renovations, we understand that this is an inconveience for all our guests. We also understand there are many hotels to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo

Address: 1221 Chess Drive, Foster City, CA 94404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Foster City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo Hotel Foster City
Crowne Plaza San Francisco
Peninsula Foster City
Foster City Peninsula

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (60)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our beautiful Crowne Plaza Hotel in Foster City is centrally located on the San Francisco Peninsula between Downtown San Francisco, San Jose, and the East Bay. Our property is just 7 miles from San Francisco International Airport and 22 miles from downtown San Francisco. Our unique building design has a beautiful atrium lobby filled with koi ponds, waterfalls, and palm trees that will provide a relaxing setting on your next visit. Some of our features include:* Complimentary Internet access in all guest rooms, lobby, all restaurants, and pool area* Three different varieties of restaurants, room service, and a sports bar* Complimentary SFO airport shuttle* Complimentary parking* Complimentary shuttle leaving at 10:30am daily to The Hillsdale Shopping Mall* Conveniently located next to The BridgePointe Shopping center* 24 hour business center with complimentary use of three computers and a printer* Relax in our indoor heated pool jacuzzi* Use of Fitness center* Executive Club Level rooms include Dell XP desktop computers with DVD drive, flat screen monitors and Continental Breakfast, Monday-Friday.* 16,000 Square feet of flexible meeting space ... more   less 
Number of rooms
350

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer