We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel

GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
1859 Alamar Way, Fortuna, CA 95540 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Fortuna (Ferndale Area))
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    70
    83
    43
    18
    11
See reviews for
68
76
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (225)
  • Mar-May only
    (57)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Blandon, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I rented two rooms. Initially they were next to each other, but one of them had a leak in the ceiling. The staff was quick to remedy and give us another room. The facility is in need of updating their air-conditioning units. They were quite noisey. The building looks as thought it was built for a hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed one night with the family which included two small kids. Found the indoor pool nice- hot tub was not working. Check-in and check-out were good and desk staff was nice. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast in the morning was good and kids enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

What great news that you and your family had a comfortable and enjoyable stay! I appreciate your compliments on everything from our indoor pool to our breakfast in the morning. As an to for all reading this, we will be removing the spa. We're always here if you need a place to stay in the future! All my best, Jeff... More 

Eureka, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Reserved directly through hotel and pAid full price for an 'Executive King" room for $139 plus tax. The site said $15 pet fee for "special cleaning after pet leaves".. The info book in the room said $20, and the front desk charged us $25... When we saw the room, the carpet wS horribly stained( see pic), had old food, used... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Michael - We do charge a one time Pet Fee of $25 for all guests traveling with their pets. I apologize for any confusion and will update the front desk staff on the cleaning procedures. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and did not carry through on that promise. Because of your issues we have implemented a new system with... More 

Austin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here just for one night and booked the room because we thought from the website it was a premium spot. It was clean and updated, although about the same as the other mid price hotels. We would stay again when passing through.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

While it's wonderful that you had a comfortable stay I appreciate your compliments on the cleanliness. A return guest is always a good sign. I hope we can "wow" you during a stay in the future! All my best, Jeff Durham, Head Lumberjack More 

Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is much like many others, in how the rooms are. Entrance to the rooms from the outside, beds feel clean, microwave and fridge. Like many other hotels, the room smells a bit odd at first. But you soon get used to it. Something unique to this hotel are the murals that are painted in the pool room. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed the local touch of the murals. They reflect both the logging community and the Indian community. We do provide a complimentary breakfast and try to provide many options for all our guests. Thank you for your feedback, and we're always here if you need a place to stay in the future! All my best, Jeff Durham,... More 

1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Filthy rooms, hair on the pillows and sheets, cobwebs inside the windows, stained carpet, not at all like the pics on the website. Walked right out and cancelled. She must have expected it since she didn't even ask why. Went next door to Comfort Inn. Apparently this happens quite often.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Like I said on Yelp, it's concerning to read about your visit. I can assure you, cleanliness is our top priority, so I'm deeply sorry. The staff here at The Redwood is respectful of our guests; do not mistake her guest services as a lack of concern. Safe travels, Jeff Durham, Head Lumberjack More 

Escondido, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

pool was green and stunk, had been broken for awhile, the girl was a bit confused and nice, didn't charge me when we decided not to say. go to Comfort Inn next door-be warned-not at all like the photos, only got a poor because of nice girl clerk

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Mike, it's always disappointing when a guest doesn't enjoy their stay, so I'd like to personally apologize if your visit didn't meet your expectations. We do take great care of our grounds, so it's concerning to receive feedback like this. The pool had two pieces of equipment break and unfortunately given our location it takes time to get needed parts.... More 

Rennes, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

If you are expecting a luxury hotel or a hotel you are very much mistaken! Although the staff where friendly and it was clean and you could get a relatively good night sleep despite the humming of the refrigeration units and clattering of the trucks in the parking lot! The room was very basic. Only half an hour away from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Well, we certainly wish you'd enjoyed it all as much as the service. Our rooms were photographed recently, so it's disappointing to hear you felt let down after seeing the pictures online -- that was never our intention. Thank you for taking the time to highlight how we can improve so we can deliver a five-star experience in the future.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

Clean. Friendly. Nonsmoking. Pool. Quiet. Definitely will stay again. I was pleased that the beds were cozy. Bathtub was shiny. There was shampoo conditioner soap and lotion. Nice television. Lots of channels. Table and chairs. Fridge. Microwave. Coffee. Iron and board. Dresser. Awesome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Michelle, it really means a lot to me that you had such a comfortable stay! I'm so glad that you were able to enjoy all of our amenities, too. Our door's always open if you find yourself in the area again in the future! Until next time, Jeff Durham, Head Lumberjack More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015 via mobile

For the amount it cost to stay here it was not worth it. The rooms were extremely outdated, the beds were springy and the whole room just needed an update. The lobby was nice, the staff was very friendly, the breakfast was average even though they kept up on it very nicely to make sure it was well stocked. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

I have to admit, it's definitely disheartening to read that you felt your stay was lackluster. We've recently renovated the place, so it's a shame that you felt your room wasn't up to par. That said, I do appreciate your compliments on our staff and our location. Thank you for your feedback, and I hope you can give us another... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortuna
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Country Inn
13.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Fortuna
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
4.5 mi away
Bear River Casino Hotel
15.6 mi away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#7 of 21 in Eureka
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay