We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel

GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
1859 Alamar Way, Fortuna, CA 95540 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Fortuna (Ferndale Area))
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    71
    87
    43
    19
    13
See reviews for
73
79
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (233)
  • Mar-May only
    (57)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Alamo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Based on somewhat mixed reviews on Yelp and Trip Advisors, this was not our first choice for staying in Fortuna when visiting family. However, due to forest fires in the area there were very limited rooms available, fire personnel staying in most of the area motel rooms. We were very pleasantly surprised. They gave us a "handicapped" room which turned... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sacramento, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Came here for a wedding in fortuna. Stayed 2 nights. Booked on line...no problems. Check in was smooth, very pleasant front desk staff. Room was very clean and quiet. Next day went out for a while and came back to well cleaned room. So glad I stayed here. I would definately come back here. Good job redwood river walk hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eugene
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel was very nice, clean, friendly staff, great breakfast. I must have missed something because I never did see the river or the riverwalk. The Eel River Brewery just a short walk away was a great bonus.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Great breakfast?! Thanks! Friendly staff?! Perfect. Clean?! All right. The friendly staff is always happy to point you in the direction of the riverwalk... about 250 feet behind the hotel. Safe travels. More 

California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Could use an update in mattresses and decor. Rugs need shampooing. Location good for visiting Ferndale and Eureka. Staff, especially, Nick was very helpful and friendly. Easy on/off access from freeway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Nick is a great addition to our staff... we are very happy to have him working with us at The Redwood. We are in the process of upgrading our mattresses and the replacement will take place through the remainder of the 2015. We do currently have a cleaning schedule for the carpets and we will ensure that we stay on... More 

Eureka, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

They lie! They cancelled my reservation after I had made it two months in advance. I confirmed my arrival two days prior to my arrival! They called the day before Nd cancelled my reservation saying there was water damage Nd a wall was missing! I arrived in town after having no luck finding another room and went to their establishment.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

I do apologize for the confusion. I thank you for contacting me on the phone so that we can speak about this situation. It is unfortunate that the hotel staff and guests in the lobby had to experience your yelling and screaming as a means for you to feel you could rectify this situation. I am sorry that you felt... More 

Rancho Santa fe
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I apparently made an error in booking, but they were quick to give us the room we needed. The hotel was full of Northern California fire evacuees, but all ran smoothely. Hot breakfast was great, I don't know why folks complained about no gluten free options...did they ask? Especially appreciated the laundromat for guests. The name makes the place sound... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you ver much for your comments concerning breakfast. We try and I am glad you noticed. We are actually full with fireman and happy we can accommodate them. Safe travels. More 

Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This formerly chain hotel has been completely made over by the new owners, and it's like being in a much higher-priced hotel. The staff was very friendly upon arrival, and even offered up apples and/or fresh brownies (a nod to the 'other' local industry LOL) at the front desk. The hotel was completely booked (many rooms were taken by firefighters... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great words about The Redwood! Clean and comfortable is what we always like to hear. We have recently upgraded all our sheets and towels as well as pool equipment. We will be focusing on the rooms moving forward. Safe travels. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the minute we checked in we had nothing but problems. The front desk clerk was not friendly and made a comment about being inconvenienced with our room type being downstairs. Upon entering the room and settling in we noticed that the comforter was dirty and that there was blood on the walls and ceiling. We called the front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Blandon, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

My family and I rented two rooms. Initially they were next to each other, but one of them had a leak in the ceiling. The staff was quick to remedy and give us another room. The facility is in need of updating their air-conditioning units. They were quite noisey. The building looks as thought it was built for a hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at The Redwood. The leak has been fixed and we are working on updating the remainder of the heating/cooling units in the room... over half the hotel has been updated. Glad you enjoyed breakfast and we do pride ourselves on the quality of housekeeping. FYI - we were a Holiday inn Express and went independent exactly... More 

Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Stayed one night with the family which included two small kids. Found the indoor pool nice- hot tub was not working. Check-in and check-out were good and desk staff was nice. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast in the morning was good and kids enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

What great news that you and your family had a comfortable and enjoyable stay! I appreciate your compliments on everything from our indoor pool to our breakfast in the morning. As an to for all reading this, we will be removing the spa. We're always here if you need a place to stay in the future! All my best, Jeff... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fortuna
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Country Inn
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Fortuna
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
13.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
4.5 mi away
Bear River Casino Hotel
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Fortuna
Super 8 Fortuna
#2 of 6 in Fortuna
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay