We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel

GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
1859 Alamar Way, Fortuna, CA 95540 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Fortuna (Ferndale Area))
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    70
    82
    42
    18
    10
See reviews for
66
75
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (222)
  • Mar-May only
    (57)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Austin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here just for one night and booked the room because we thought from the website it was a premium spot. It was clean and updated, although about the same as the other mid price hotels. We would stay again when passing through.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is much like many others, in how the rooms are. Entrance to the rooms from the outside, beds feel clean, microwave and fridge. Like many other hotels, the room smells a bit odd at first. But you soon get used to it. Something unique to this hotel are the murals that are painted in the pool room. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Filthy rooms, hair on the pillows and sheets, cobwebs inside the windows, stained carpet, not at all like the pics on the website. Walked right out and cancelled. She must have expected it since she didn't even ask why. Went next door to Comfort Inn. Apparently this happens quite often.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Like I said on Yelp, it's concerning to read about your visit. I can assure you, cleanliness is our top priority, so I'm deeply sorry. The staff here at The Redwood is respectful of our guests; do not mistake her guest services as a lack of concern. Safe travels, Jeff Durham, Head Lumberjack More 

Escondido, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

pool was green and stunk, had been broken for awhile, the girl was a bit confused and nice, didn't charge me when we decided not to say. go to Comfort Inn next door-be warned-not at all like the photos, only got a poor because of nice girl clerk

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Mike, it's always disappointing when a guest doesn't enjoy their stay, so I'd like to personally apologize if your visit didn't meet your expectations. We do take great care of our grounds, so it's concerning to receive feedback like this. The pool had two pieces of equipment break and unfortunately given our location it takes time to get needed parts.... More 

Rennes, France
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are expecting a luxury hotel or a hotel you are very much mistaken! Although the staff where friendly and it was clean and you could get a relatively good night sleep despite the humming of the refrigeration units and clattering of the trucks in the parking lot! The room was very basic. Only half an hour away from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Well, we certainly wish you'd enjoyed it all as much as the service. Our rooms were photographed recently, so it's disappointing to hear you felt let down after seeing the pictures online -- that was never our intention. Thank you for taking the time to highlight how we can improve so we can deliver a five-star experience in the future.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

Clean. Friendly. Nonsmoking. Pool. Quiet. Definitely will stay again. I was pleased that the beds were cozy. Bathtub was shiny. There was shampoo conditioner soap and lotion. Nice television. Lots of channels. Table and chairs. Fridge. Microwave. Coffee. Iron and board. Dresser. Awesome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Michelle, it really means a lot to me that you had such a comfortable stay! I'm so glad that you were able to enjoy all of our amenities, too. Our door's always open if you find yourself in the area again in the future! Until next time, Jeff Durham, Head Lumberjack More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015 via mobile

For the amount it cost to stay here it was not worth it. The rooms were extremely outdated, the beds were springy and the whole room just needed an update. The lobby was nice, the staff was very friendly, the breakfast was average even though they kept up on it very nicely to make sure it was well stocked. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeff D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

I have to admit, it's definitely disheartening to read that you felt your stay was lackluster. We've recently renovated the place, so it's a shame that you felt your room wasn't up to par. That said, I do appreciate your compliments on our staff and our location. Thank you for your feedback, and I hope you can give us another... More 

Astoria, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

So I got stuck at this hotel after my original reservations at another facility fell through. At first glance this hotel is a bit run down, the walls are thin, decor is dated. However, the staff makes up for this. They are friendly, attentive, and professional. This is a great hotel if you need something that isn't too expensive and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeff D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Rebecca, while it's definitely a shame that your reservation fell through at another hotel, we were so happy to have you as a guest! I really appreciate your compliments on our staff, so I'll definitely share this with my team. Our door's always open if you find yourself in the area again in the future! Best, Jeff Durham, Head Lumberjack More 

Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

My friends were in this area for the Avenue of the Giants marathon. We stayed in two different rooms. The rooms were pretty standard. We had two double beds, a flat screen TV and a table with chairs. The sink and closet were separate from the shower and toilet area (which was a little small, but functional). The hotel had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jeff D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

The Avenue of the Giants marathon was such an exciting weekend for us here in Fortuna, so I'm ecstatic that you were able to stay with us at the time of the race. Thanks for all the great feedback... I always say we have have an amazing staff and given your very close inspection of the rooms it is always... More 

Delhi, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

Really nice, comfortable place for a very reasonable price. The staff person was super friendly and helpful, the room had all of the basic amenities including a mini-fridge and table to eat at. Beds are comfortable and the breakfast was much better than the standard fare. Hot foods plus the usual cereal and pastries. Definitely recommend and would stay there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jeff D, Owner at The Redwood Fortuna Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

I'm glowing as I read about how comfortable you were during your stay! I appreciate your compliments on everything from our staff to the breakfast, so I'll definitely share this with my team. Our door's always open if you find yourself in the Redwoods again in the future! Until next time, Jeff Durham, Head Lumberjack More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay