We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Felton hotels

Fern River Resort Motel

Save Saved
You added Fern River Resort Motel to your Saves list
Fern River Resort Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Felton
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Felton
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    29
    5
    9
    12
See reviews for
26
29
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Bemidji, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything was great, peaceful setting and great service! My daughter got married in Ben Lomand, this resort was nearby and the perfect choice. With double rooms, my mother and brother were also able to stay with us. It was a great experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

we actually love staying here - it's in a great location and is in a beautiful setting. Unfortunately, some of the things that people say on here are correct- the owners are absolutely the most inhospitable people one could ever encounter. The upside to this is that their daughter now seems to be taking care of a lot of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yosemite National Park, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Fern River Resort was just what we needed for a coastal getaway. We were there in May during the week, and it was very quiet and peaceful. Our cabin was very clean and comfortable. The owners and staff were very nice and accommodating. We'll stay there again if we go back to the area, and we would recommend it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had a very difficult time finding lodging in the Santa Cruz area when we went to meet our new grandchild shortly after his birth. We were able to get 7 of the 11 nights of our stay at Fern River Resort, approximately 8 miles from our son's home. It was a lovely, if somewhat challenging, drive up Hwy 9,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madera, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Highly recommend this gem to those who want a very relaxing experience on their getaway. The cabins are very cute and cozy and have the basic amenities to keep you comfortable and enjoy your stay. We stayed in the Cabin 7 "Huckleberry" which is right next to the San Lorenzo river. Very peaceful. The staff were very friendly and helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Felton, California
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
32 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I called at 2 o'clock on day of arrival and cancelled. They would not cancel and charged my card anyway. No where on website does it state any cancellation or non-cancellation policy. The person on the phone not only could speak clear English, she was extremely rude. I would not recommend doing business with these people. There are much better... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Nicole M, Manager at Fern River Resort Motel, responded to this review

I apologize for the confusion however, When making a reservation as credit card information is collected all guests are informed of the cancellation policy. The clerk making your reservation is required to check a box that they told you the cancellation policy as well as initial that they did. Additionally it is clear on our website under our policies seen... More

Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were able to relax with ease and enjoy the woods. Peaceful, clean, and friendly. This place is good for when you need to kick back. I wouldn't recommend it if you are trying to see the area, although the drive down to Santa Cruz isn't terribly far and there's a fabulous Bigfoot Museum nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have stayed in these little cabins before that are surrounded by redwoods and enjoyed the rustic feel, the sound of the river and train blowing in the distant but this time they totally messed up our reservation and we had to seek another place for one of the nights, however they looked into the mistake and graciously remedied it.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Fern River Resort offers you very clean, very comfortable cabins on the San Lorenzo River and very, very close to the Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park and the Roaring Camp Railway Station (more on that in a bit). Though the cabins look well-kept-but-rustic on the outside, on the inside they look more like a condo--finished walls, wood floors, small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

For the most part the cabin we stayed in was nice. I was on a trip with my elderly parents and they had stayed there before as it was close to my mom's sisters house who we were visiting. So for convenience it was great and the river behind the cabin was also. The train horn and the "2nd loft... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Do you own or manage Fern River Resort Motel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Fern River Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern River Resort Motel

Address: 5250 Highway 9, Felton, CA 95018
Location: United States > California > Felton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Fern River Hotel Felton
Fern River Motel

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Fern River Resort Motel