We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Felton hotels

Fern River Resort Motel

Save
You added Fern River Resort Motel to your Saves list
5250 Highway 9, Felton, CA 95018
Hotel amenities
Fern River Resort Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Felton
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Felton
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    31
    5
    9
    12
See reviews for
26
29
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Atascadero, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I just stayed in Cabin #4 for the long President's Day weekend. We usually stay in #3, which is very private, since it is tucked into a corner with redwoods all around. But, this time we wanted a fireplace since it was February. Both are one bedroom units, but I think there are also some two bedroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Northern California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

This little resort has a number of cabins on the river. I stayed in #8 after I was upgraded (originally booked #2). It was pretty nice, with a nice view of the river. It was clean and comfortable but plan on bringing everything - there were no extras (paper towels, etc). Also, everything - including most of the furniture is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boulevard, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Check in was not as warm as I'd have liked, but cottage was great. They had a guest that stayed longer that was in the cottage I had reserved, so was upgraded at no extra charge. Cottage was clean, charming and comfortable. Surroundings were great, would have loved to spent more time. May go back and stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bemidji, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Everything was great, peaceful setting and great service! My daughter got married in Ben Lomand, this resort was nearby and the perfect choice. With double rooms, my mother and brother were also able to stay with us. It was a great experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

we actually love staying here - it's in a great location and is in a beautiful setting. Unfortunately, some of the things that people say on here are correct- the owners are absolutely the most inhospitable people one could ever encounter. The upside to this is that their daughter now seems to be taking care of a lot of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Yosemite National Park, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Fern River Resort was just what we needed for a coastal getaway. We were there in May during the week, and it was very quiet and peaceful. Our cabin was very clean and comfortable. The owners and staff were very nice and accommodating. We'll stay there again if we go back to the area, and we would recommend it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had a very difficult time finding lodging in the Santa Cruz area when we went to meet our new grandchild shortly after his birth. We were able to get 7 of the 11 nights of our stay at Fern River Resort, approximately 8 miles from our son's home. It was a lovely, if somewhat challenging, drive up Hwy 9,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Felton, California
Top Contributor
487 reviews 487 reviews
52 hotel reviews
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I called at 2 o'clock on day of arrival and cancelled. They would not cancel and charged my card anyway. No where on website does it state any cancellation or non-cancellation policy. The person on the phone not only could speak clear English, she was extremely rude. I would not recommend doing business with these people. There are much better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Nicole M, Manager at Fern River Resort Motel, responded to this review

I apologize for the confusion however, When making a reservation as credit card information is collected all guests are informed of the cancellation policy. The clerk making your reservation is required to check a box that they told you the cancellation policy as well as initial that they did. Additionally it is clear on our website under our policies seen... More 

Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were able to relax with ease and enjoy the woods. Peaceful, clean, and friendly. This place is good for when you need to kick back. I wouldn't recommend it if you are trying to see the area, although the drive down to Santa Cruz isn't terribly far and there's a fabulous Bigfoot Museum nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have stayed in these little cabins before that are surrounded by redwoods and enjoyed the rustic feel, the sound of the river and train blowing in the distant but this time they totally messed up our reservation and we had to seek another place for one of the nights, however they looked into the mistake and graciously remedied it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Fern River Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern River Resort Motel

Address: 5250 Highway 9, Felton, CA 95018
Location: United States > California > Felton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Fern River Hotel Felton
Fern River Motel

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay